We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to acknowledge improvements!”

Hotel Kong Valdemar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kong Valdemar
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vordingborg
Assen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Time to acknowledge improvements!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel has had some deservedly bad press but I stayed there for the past few nights and found it to be basic, comfortable and welcoming. It has new ownership and the staff are definitely dedicated to making the necessary improvements. They don't profess to offer anyting above basic hospitality, but hospitality there is, so let's be realistic and getbehind these people who want to make travellers' experiences better. Thanks, guys, see you again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritTravellerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
9
14
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ekenas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was the worse hotel I ever visited. Under the bed some nuts and a plastic bag. The radiators full of dust ect. Bathroom from the 1995 ! Very ugly ! Water coming anyway. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and clean.
Fine that me and my daughter only stayed one night.
I am sure I will never return and never suggest this to anybody.
PS I was on a bustrip arranged to Keukenhof and I could not do anything about the arrangements

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacEkenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vordingborg hotels

thingwall wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

stayed here to visit family . room was full of cobwebbs and spiders had to ask for brush to clean, bathroom needs up dating very grubby.the breakfast was good and staff friendly comunal areas clean and comfortable lovely garden area but expensive for what you get cost me £110 for a double room per night but it is only hotel in village.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eviethingwallwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

All in all a perfect stay. For a start a little worried about the rooms which ended extremely fine with the food, the servise and the nice town

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel as we were attended a family christening in near by Stensby and there is little choice of accommodation. The rooms are small, the beds sag with stained covers, the TV is 11", the bathroom is awful - a wet room with a nozzle sticking out fo the wall and a stained toilet. You would not want to walk into the bathroom with bare feet. Even as a poor backpacker many years ago I never stayed in a place this poor.

The hotel has a lovely website but be warned - non of the photos on their website are of the hotel, except the outside. It is barely 1 star, I was nearly in tears and could not believe how they mis represent it online.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSweetkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed here driving from Amsterdam to Copenhagen and needing room to crash in along the way. Despite it being 9pm at night the place being literally empty (there was no names on the checkin book) they wouldn't budge from the price of 799K (£96) with breakfast. Paid it and ended up with a room that look decorated from the 70's, with tiny tv. Breakfast was fairly average, some bread, cheeses, cold meats, cereal and coffee. They then added 5% extra for using a foreign credit card, so ended up being 838K (£100). Avoid if possible, go find a pension or other town to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

Hotel Kong Valdemar is very average hotel in a small town of Vordingborg. We went to the isle of Møn for a weekend but couldn't get any hotel from the island. Vordingborg is relative close to the island (~30 min. drive) and it a cosy and quiet little town. Kong Valdemar hotel was almost empty by the time we were there. Perhaps that's why the breakfast was very poor with cold omelette and sausages.

The room was very basic but clean. The hotel is very nicely located at the town centre and it very quiet. I think the hotel was a bit overpriced. Perhaps a better idea would have been too look for B&B or pension from the island. There were really lots of nice B&B places -- to be booked at the tourism information.

Kong Valdemar is an ok place to stay for 1 night if you are just passing by the southern Denmark and would like to experience the atmosphere of a small Danish town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overpriced
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank soppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vordingborg
15.5 mi away
Stege Nor
Stege Nor
#3 of 5 in Stege
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Frederiksminde
Hotel Frederiksminde
#1 of 1 in Praestoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Vinhuset
Hotel Vinhuset
#2 of 3 in Naestved
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hotel Residens Moeen
Hotel Residens Moeen
#2 of 5 in Stege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Praestekilde
Hotel Praestekilde
#1 of 5 in Stege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
24.2 mi away
Liselund Ny Slot
Liselund Ny Slot
#1 of 2 in Borre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Valdemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Valdemar

Property: Hotel Kong Valdemar
Address: Algade 101, Vordingborg 4760, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > South Zealand > Vordingborg Municipality > Vordingborg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vordingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kong Valdemar 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kong Valdemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing