We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a "Proper boutique Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
Horebeke
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was a "Proper boutique Hotel"”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for two night in this boutique hotel, it was cosy, clean, and great value from the money for the rest of Copenhagen.I was also surprise with the breakfast it was so good.
A part from that i can just relax in their backyard patio. The wifi and the t.v set conferrable to pc is cool.
Is a bit far from the main city center but is not a problem metro is not so far. The reception is friendly enough. over-all keep it up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    471
    135
    39
    21
See reviews for
230
459
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and found it an excellent base for our stay in this lovely city.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms very pleasant and clean.

The choice for breakfast was excellent, the buffet kept well stocked .

It is a short walk from the Metro(Forum) so very easy to find from Airport. And only a pleasant 15_20 min walk into town.

There are restaurants and bars near by but the hotel bar area is a nice place to sit, and also has an outside garden area.

I could definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetbubbleperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Well done for winning a well deserved certificate of excellence 2013.
The staff are friendly & very helpful. Beds are comfortable.
Breakfast excellent, lovely outdoor space for relaxing after sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. It is a nice hotel in a reasonable location to walk to the centre and was good value for money. The buffet breakfast was nice and all the staff were really friendly. Only small issue was there was no tea or coffee making facilities on the room but I would recommend it for a short stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ras78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My first trip to Copenhagen and we decided this hotel for the good comments. We loved breakfast as it was a fantastic international combination of varieties of breads, boiled eggs, cheeses, teas, jams, and so on! Nice impacting lobby with elegant furnitures. I was disappointed by the room. Small, with soiled carpets, really small and poor chippy bathroom! No airco. Good position if you like walking as me! 15m from the City center!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear position bedroom, parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellAround8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of Copenahagen. The check-in was trouble free but the portier forgot to inform about the free wifi. The room would definitely need air conditioning during summer but was fairly large and roomy. The entertaiment system (tv) was quite disapoining but we were not there to watch tv.

Freandly and pleasant staff!!!

Breakfast was good but the layout was disorganized. Guests were running allower the room to find the food they wanted. Quite good choices of food but they messed up the labeling of tea so English Breakfast and Earl Grey was interplaced.

They need to be quicker to refill the samovar with hor water!!!!!!

The have a small outside area where you can take your breakfast if you prefer to eat outside.

The minibar was very tiny but free of charge...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We spent four nights at the Avenue and couldn't fault either it or its location. We didn't know what to expect given the reasonable room rate (by Danish standards - the rider which has to be added to all pricing comments in Copenhagen) and comments by some reviewers over the neighbourhood and the distance from the city. Firstly the hotel is a delight. All the public rooms combine a high level of comfort with designer decor and the staff were all very friendly, chatty and helpful. As well as an extremely welcoming lounge there is a fabulous outside seating area in which to chill out on the big sofas with a book or one of the many games available. Our room was clean, smartly decorated and comfortable with a fridge and the big bonus of having a large internet TV! We had a room at the back of the hotel, which overlooks the back yards of flats and appartments - uninspiring but with the plus of making it quiet enough to leave our window open in June. We're not sure how noisy it would be at the front, overlooking what is a busy road. As others have commented, breakfast is a speciality - a fabulous choice with the mainly healthy options backed up by more fattening treats such as fresh pancakes! As you can go up as often as you like the only danger is over-indulging, especially as they keep replenishing it. As for the location, we had no problems walking into the city - we only used the Metro to get to the airport and back. Forum Metro station, which is on the direct M2 line, 20 minutes or so from the airport, is just round the corner. The road the hotel stands on is a direct route to the Town Hall square, so no problems about losing your way and as it's a well-used main thoroughfare there are no worries about walking it at night. It took us 10-15 minutes to reach the city centre. Aboulevard is a border between the Frederiskberg area and Norrebro, which some seemed to suggest is unsavoury. It isn't. Though it does have an edgy reputation we loved it: it's multi-cultural with lots of moderately priced, lively cafes, street art (stunning grafitti everywhere) and a really friendly, Bohemian feel as you wander around. It's an experience in itself and made us feel we were getting a taste of the real Copenhagen rather than the tourist version you'll get in the city centre. The only possible knit-pick we could find regarding the Avenue, and it is a tiny one, is that they don't specifically do evening meals (though even there they do have arrangements to order food in from the nearby Pizzeria, at a sizeable mark up).

Room Tip: A back room would probably be best for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norfolknobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksberg
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
229 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#15 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,719 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
989 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Aaboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1960, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue is an up-to-the-minute, welcoming boutique hotel situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modernity of the interior decoration and furnishings combined with the very special personal touch make you feel comfortable and at home. Enjoy the cozy lounge or charming patio or take a ride on one of the popular Avenue bikes. Our friendly team is always there to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen Frederiksberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing