We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I won a trip to Copenhagen but the hotel where we had a free stay was mostly booked by the time my girlfriend and I decided on dates. So we needed another hotel for a couple of nights and during research the Avenue kept popping up with different sweet reviews, so I booked it.

We arrived early on a Saturday morning, intending only to ask to stow our luggage and freshen up in a bathroom if possible, but the warm and friendly front desk staffer said our room was ready (6 hours ahead of check-in!) so we were ecstatic to get it after not sleeping on our overnight flight due to rowdy children all around.

The bed was perfect: firm but not hard, and not one of those atrocious mattresses that folds up around you as you sink into it. The bathroom was clean, well-lit, and the water was hot. The room was not large, but it was all we sought: a clean and comfortable place to sleep.

Things to know that I hadn't seen in reviews that may be useful:

1) The room was a touch warm for sleeping--no AC was not a problem as fresh air is preferred, but we couldn't fully open the window for airflow AND have the blackout curtain down, so a fan would have helped.

2) I had read in reviews to request a room towards the back of the hotel to get away from the street noise (and was happy to have the request granted) BUT ;) early Monday morning trash dumpster pickup was not mentioned--and that was a LOUD wakeup! (Plus very early Sunday someone left the parking lot with a ridiculously loud and clattering engine revving sequence.)

We didn't spend time in the spacious lounge, but wandered through and the sofas and chairs looked very cozy. If it's cold outside I suspect it's a great place to curl up with a book for an hour or two, perhaps with a hot toddy.

Ending on the strongest positive I can muster: GO FOR THE BREAKFAST!!! The most beautiful array of delicious breakfast food I have ever seen in a hotel and it goes on for hours, so whether you sleep in or are an early-bird you have time to dig in. Crepes, homemade bread, croissants, cheese, meat, vegetables, fresh fruit, different yoghurts, granola/muesli, soft boiled brown eggs, endless coffee pots for your table, brew your own personal tea-pots, fruit juices--a stunning and wholesome breakfast. The dining room feels comfortable, as befits a smart boutique hotel, and the rear courtyard patio is a great overflow area on a crisp summer morning.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are said to be quieter, but those above the parking lot may get loud sounds at odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    459
    133
    36
    19
See reviews for
222
451
67
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Generally we like booking boutique hotels but this one was a disappointment.

The hotel lobby and patio are nice and modern, breakfast is ok although there is not a wide selection. The staff at the reception is very helpful. The location although not very central there is an easy access by bus.

However the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom are not up to standard. The bathroom is quite dirty and there is no room to keep your toiletries. As we are a family of four, we needed the space. If cleanliness is important to you then this is not the hotel for you.

I believe that it is overpriced for what it offers. I wouldn't return to this hotel and would look for other options. I still wonder how it was voted best small hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

This is a fine average hotel. The lobby and patio are cosy looking. Breakfast is nice and staff in the hotel is friendly.

The rooms are okay, carpet a bit dirty looking but the bathrooms are really not of this age and certainly not suitable for a hotel which claims to be a boutique hotel.

We came there because they claim to be a child friendly hotel. They were certainly not child unfriendly but nothing special, apart from some child games, in that area. There was not even a suitable bike for rent for our daughter.

It's not a bad hotel at all but not exactly what we expected it to be, with some slight improvements, it could become much better. There is absolutely potential in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurCoolFamilyofSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great quality considering hotels in Copenhagen are very expensive. The rooms are small but comfortable and cozy. The lobby is modern and has a trendy feel. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Metro or you can rent a bike from the hotel which is what I did. The breakfast was a Traditional delicious Danish breakfast. Oh also the terrace is delightful. I will definitely stay there again. If anything is lacking...I would say it would be cleanliness of the rooms. Not bad just could be cleaner floors.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant but it shows up for me to rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly shea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend because it seemed to have good reviews. Our room was incredible - modern canopy four poster with a turret in the corner which had a sofa built into it, and little tealights we could light for a romantic experience. Only two rooms have turrets so I think we got v. lucky, but still, highly recommend it! Very comfortable bed with the standard two duvets.

Breakfast is fantastic - plenty of food, regularly stocked, and something for everyone - fresh crepes! Bonus that it (and the contents of the minibar) are included in the cost of the room. V. close to metro station with a direct line to the airport which made arrival really nice and straightforward.

The staff were all incredibly helpful - suggesting itineraries, recommending and booking restaurants etc.

Locationwise it's possible to be more central, but we hired bikes + helmets from reception (it's a bit more expensive than elsewhere but much more convenient and you don't have to pay a deposit or deal with returning them) which is a really good way of travelling around Copenhagen because it's very well set up for cycling.

The downsides? The rooms aren't air conditioned and if you're on the road side it can be noisy (even with windows closed) - if you're a light sleeper then request a room at the back. We coped by leaving the windows open during the day and closing them at night. Bathrooms aren't particularly exciting but they're clean and a nice powerful shower. No full length mirrors either.

Room Tip: Try and get a turret room if you can afford it! Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammytoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horebeke
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for two night in this boutique hotel, it was cosy, clean, and great value from the money for the rest of Copenhagen.I was also surprise with the breakfast it was so good.
A part from that i can just relax in their backyard patio. The wifi and the t.v set conferrable to pc is cool.
Is a bit far from the main city center but is not a problem metro is not so far. The reception is friendly enough. over-all keep it up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and found it an excellent base for our stay in this lovely city.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms very pleasant and clean.

The choice for breakfast was excellent, the buffet kept well stocked .

It is a short walk from the Metro(Forum) so very easy to find from Airport. And only a pleasant 15_20 min walk into town.

There are restaurants and bars near by but the hotel bar area is a nice place to sit, and also has an outside garden area.

I could definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetbubbleperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksberg
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Aaboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1960, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue is an up-to-the-minute, welcoming boutique hotel situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modernity of the interior decoration and furnishings combined with the very special personal touch make you feel comfortable and at home. Enjoy the cozy lounge or charming patio or take a ride on one of the popular Avenue bikes. Our friendly team is always there to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen Frederiksberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing