We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel With Charming Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel With Charming Staff”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Okay I booked this hotel almost a year ago so it was with great anticipation and expectation that was awaiting my visit to this hotel for my 5 night stay. On the whole it matched my expectations.

Location wise it is a 2 minute walk from Forum metro station which in itself is a 15 minute journey from the airport so connection it is great. Some may not like the fact that it is not in the central city but it's only a 15 minute walk or 2 stops on the metro to Kongens Nytorv and CPH isn't that big anyway.

I arrived at the hotel early but my room was ready so the receptionist (Simone I believe was her name) was able to check me in with little fuss.

The room was a superior double and was a nice and spacious and light with a desk, sofa, chair, refrigerator and "double bed"!! Now this was the downside to the hotel as the double bed was actually 2 single mattresses but even worse 2 single duvets!! I can normally sleep on anything but found it hard to get a decent nights sleep on a couple of nights during my stay.

I also made a mistake in asking for a room overlooking the courtyard. My thinking was that this would be more quiet than overlooking the road. BIG MISTAKE as a Londoner I should have opted for the traffic noise because at least that is a constant rumble of noise compared to the laughing, shouting, clapping , etc.

I never use hotel bars, breakfast rooms etc so I can't comment on these but going by all the positive feedback on these from others you have a great time using them here,

The hotel provides bike hire and for DKK125 you can cycle around the lovely pan flat city all day at a nice leisurely pace :) Hiring the bike was very quick and once you get used to the dutch (pedal backwards) brake you'll be eating up the KM's.

The staff were all friendly, welcoming and efficient and to be honest it is rare to find a hotel where all the staff are happy and friendly. Simone's smile could brighten up anyones most darkest day :)

Anyway i would heartily recommend this hotel with just the couple of warnings about the noise and the beds and if these don't bother you then you'll have a great stay.

I'd give a 5 star if they had proper double beds so hopefully they'll look into this and maybe change the beds.

I look forward to revisiting the hotel and Kobenhavn in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: If you are used to living in a city then choose a room facing the road because even the courtyard ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    465
    134
    38
    21
See reviews for
227
455
67
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What I liked about the avenue that you feel it is not a anonymous chain hotel and people care about you as a guest and staff make sure you are comfortable.

At check in they couldn't find my reservation and I was offered an upgraded later. The room was ok and lovely decorated but far from a boutique hotel.

Staff gave really good dinner recommendations and reserved a table. Common areas are really nice and have a great Danish touch.

Resume

Great staff, good rooms, locations is ok,

don't expect too much and allow yourself to be soaked by the atmosphere than you will enjoy your stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubeerrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights and had a single room facing the street "Åboulevard". There is traffic around the clock and if one is not used to sleeping in noisy environments (like my humble self), this is a bit too noisy. Otherwise the hotel is clean, quiet, and well run. Without the noise I would give a higher rating.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I chose this hotel specifically based on others' reviews/recommendations on Trip Advisor. After a four night stay I have mixed feelings....hence the rating. Overall I can only give this hotel a 6/10 but it could have been so much more.

The negatives:
Without doubt it was the softest, most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in any hotel - ever! Admittedly I like a firm bed but it was like sleeping in a soft sponge. And the pillows are truly pathetic - small (half a standard pillow size) and without any substance or shape. I slept on my sofa for 2 nights!! More comfortable by far than the double bed. I had a superior double room but in fact there are twin beds together, with twin duvets (duvets are way too warm for this time of year) - romantic couples be warned!!

It is a 30 minute walk from the centre of Copenhagen and not in an area where you will easily find great bars, cafes and restaurants, or shops for that matter. It sits firmly between the attractive middle class suburb of Frederiksberg and the multi-racial (but up and coming) more grungy area of Norrebro.
The hotel is on a busy main street and if you have a room overlooking the street then you will be faced with traffic noise, including buses, all day and night. However the rooms which face the courtyard, which mine did, can also be noisy if people are downstairs drinking, talking into the late hours.

I also need to comment that there are some REALLY noisy small children who live in an apartment block right at the back of the block and on two of the days I stayed they screamed and shouted for 3-4 hours unchecked, in the afternoon/early evening, whilst playing outside.

A huge problem to me, given the weather was around 25-27 degrees, is that the whole hotel has no air conditioning. Whilst this may have not been necessary in the past, global climate change means that this is no longer the case even in northern European countries.

The bathroom was basic (apart from the lovely Orla Kiely products - nice touch), no storage room for cosmetics, toiletries etc and the shower leaked onto the floor every time.

You are not offered help in taking luggage to your room, but there is a (small) lift and reception can assist if asked.

There were complimentary soft drinks, water and local beer in the mini bar but no sign to tell you they were free - same as I discovered, when packing to leave, that there were actually bath robes, stored high in the wardrobe, wrapped in plastic. I thought they were extra towels! Signage would be useful.

Due to the fact that the northern nights are long (it didn't get dark until after 10 pm and light around 4 am) they really need better black out blinds or at least external shutters. If you are a light sleeper then pack an eye mask.

Positives:
Charming, helpful English speaking reception staff who will provide you with restaurant suggestions (see my review on Host restaurant, recommended by this hotel) and call you a taxi if required.

My room - a superior double - was large with lots of natural light with a TV in both the bedroom and the lounge. There is a desk and a sofa so plenty of room to spread out and relax. But it was an expensive room - US$300 per night (free breakfast)!!!

It really is easily accessible by metro then a 7 minute walk - catch a taxi only if you have heavy bags.

The hotel lounge area is chock a block full of large, comfy armchairs and couches - very inviting on a cold winter's night. Equally the external courtyard is extremely attractive with comfy large lounges. I am sure the staff would have no objection to you bringing your own wine and food to eat here al fresco.

The breakfast is great - fabulous home made bread and jams, fresh cheeses which you cut by the slice - however no hot food except for boiled eggs. Extra touches like loose leaf teas, choices of yoghurt and fresh cut daily fruit were really appreciated. Whilst there is a good blend of both sweet and savoury choices those who are big eaters of a hot breakfast may leave hungry - and only filter (American) coffee is on offer.

Buses to the town centre leave right outside the hotel.

Plenty of take away fast food places close by if you are too tired to walk into the city in the evening.

Free wifi throughout the hotel (inside and out) - worked really well!

Overall for the price paid there were many things that could be improved in this hotel. It's comfortable but needs improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Signoramarg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Avenue for 3 nights in May. First impressions were great - we had a drink at the cosy bar and staff were helpful and pleasant. Our room was reasonably spacious, but on the first night there was considerable noise from what we thought was a bar downstairs. I think this may have been a house party nearby, because there was no noise on the second or third nights that we stayed there. The rooms were clean and I guess our only criticism is that there's no air conditioning. The temperature in Copenhagen that weekend was unseasonably warm, so the room was a bit stuffy. I guess that's not a problem in winter months. Breakfast was healthy and wholesome - delicious cheeses, meats, cereals and boiled eggs. The dining room is really pleasant. We loved the pretty outdoor terrace with its decking and potted hydrangeas. It's a great place for an evening drink in the summer months. Don't be put off that the hotel is about 10 mins' walk from the main toursit sites and streets of Copenhagen. We had a great time exploring the 'real' Copenhagen in the neighbouring streets of Norrebro. We'd recommend Avenue to friends who are staying in Copenhagen. It's great value for money, stylish and the staff were always pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel called me on the check-in day to explain they were actually overbooked and offer alternative hotel (with bigger room...).
Being flexible, I asked to be sent an email with link to alternative hotel and its location.
No email was ever received - no follow-up call from the hotel either. Just a "no show" bill for not coming after I made alternative arrangements.
Probably an OK hotel, but keep the risk of overbooking in mind...

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ND_Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice hotel with great service, good food and big hotelroom.
Nice conference room with smoothies, coffie etc.
I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.
The bathroom could need some renovation, but it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnepaareisefot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksberg
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,815 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#15 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,669 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
956 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Aaboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1960, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue is an up-to-the-minute, welcoming boutique hotel situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modernity of the interior decoration and furnishings combined with the very special personal touch make you feel comfortable and at home. Enjoy the cozy lounge or charming patio or take a ride on one of the popular Avenue bikes. Our friendly team is always there to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen Frederiksberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing