We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of hotel bridge view

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
hotel bridge view
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batticaloa
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed 2 nights (5&6th March) with 2 colleagues of mine. On the first night, a young waiter took our order and he wrote down everything on his palm. When asked how long would it take to serve food, he said 45 minutes. His English wasn't very good and we weren't sure sure he understood what we ordered. We ordered dinner around 8, but the food was served at 9.30. Alas! my vegetarian friend who order vegetable fried rice got chicken fried rice!

The next day, we came back to the hotel around 6.30pm and my friend ordered tea with milk and I ordered pineapple juice. The waiter assured that it will take only 20 minutes to serve. We waited and waited for almost one hour and then when inquired, we told that they have run out of powdered milk and pineapple and someone went to the Batticaloa town buy them! Not a good place...really disappointing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lalith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
6
11
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

When two of my friends and I came in here to eat, we waited at least 5 minutes for someone to come to or table. They brought the wrong beer and then the beer glasses smelled rotten, like wet dog. We ordered a few dishes and they were expensive and very small. One of the dishes was practically raw. Who is cooking this stuff?
When we brought this to the managers attention they gave us a hard time. When they brought out the bill, they added a service charge. Service charge???? For what???
They eventually took off the service charge and then we talked to the owner. The owner of the hotel/restaurant totally blew us off and threw our money back at us. He said @we don't want your money!' I guess they have so much business that they don't need mine or anyone I know. Does he know that I have a travel blog with thousands of readers? Then another manager came in and said we were making a big deal because I was a foreigner.
It was the most unprofessional experience I have ever been through. I actually can't believe that this place was THAT BAD. Oh my gosh. Definitely never come to the hotel or restaurant if you like to be treated with respect!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batticaloa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genoa, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A very disappointed place, moreover recommended by lonely planet guide. We stayed there one night, unfortunately..the morning during breakfast I told to the owner that the omelettes were too spicy (hot) for us (plenty of strong hot pepper) and he answered: "remove it and eat it"!! Even if I'm an open person and I could think to make it, It was simply impossible..the hot pepper was everywere!! So we didn't eat anything at all but the owner' s sons the night before told us the breakfast was included in the room rate, so we thought never mind. But when we went to pay the room the owner said the breakfast was not included in a room rate and we need to paid it!!..unbelieveble!!..I travelled a lot all around the world and never found this kind of treatment..Moreover the blanket were so dirty and so on..so definetely I don't recommend this place..AVOID IT!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabs1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The name of the hotel totally misleads the guest. I visited this place with the Director general og NGO affairs of Bangladesh in June 2007. The place was too far from the road. The food was cooked by amateur cooks & was too oily. The DG /NGO of Bangladesh was on an official visit & was very unhappy as the basics were not up to standard. Instead of reporting the matter, He advised them all how to be more polite, precise & honest. He shifted to another hotel which was by the bridge but not listed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A disappointing place, grounds needed a lot of attention. No matter we stood there was no view,of any bridge. Meals were average, rooms were tiny and in need of a good spruce up, and bathroom needed a thorough clean. We only stayed there one night so we didn't see anything in the area, A/C didn't work, how ever the fan did the staff were all good but difficulty with English language . Don't recommend this place

Room Tip: We we're on the 3rd floor, don't know if the the others were any better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbridgeview65, Manager at hotel bridge view, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review, the management appreciate the feedback & regret that your stay was not a happy one. The staff are a little shy with their English but it is an area that the management are focusing on and for them practice makes perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Hotel Bridge View has a surprising amount of amenities for being in a small provincial town of Sri Lanka. The rooms were air-conditioned and clean and comfortable. All the staff went out of their way to ensure that guests' needs were well-served. They were quick to respond to any requests. The food was tasty and very cheap.

The hotel is in a residential area a bit out of town. It will require a short taxi ride to go into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherMane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eghezee, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The new building looks quite nice with 2 terraces but the rooms are quite miserable. A member of the staff switched on the A/C upon arrival but the air coming out was hotter than the outside temperature. I didn't sleep a wink!
We were on half board. Dinner: only one dish (no starter, no dessert). For breakfast, although I had asked for strong coffee, I got some brownish coloured water and the staff couldn't provide me with 1-2 packets of Nescafe to give it a decent taste. So, no breakfast, not even coffee, one dish for dinner and a sleepless night because of the failing A/C.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batticaloa
0.0 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#8 of 13 in Kalkudah
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amaya Beach
Amaya Beach
#7 of 13 in Kalkudah
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel East Lagoon
Hotel East Lagoon
#1 of 23 in Batticaloa
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Resort
Riviera Resort
#1 of 11 in Batticaloa
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel bridge view? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel bridge view

Property: hotel bridge view
Address: 63/24, New Dutch Bar road | Kallady uppodai, Batticaloa 94, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Batticaloa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batticaloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free WiFi throughout the property, Hotel Bridge View offers accommodation in Batticaloa. The hotel has a barbecue, children's playground and sun terrace, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free private parking is available on site. Every room at this hotel is air conditioned and features a TV. A terrace or balcony are featured in certain rooms. Rooms include a private bathroom. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. The area is popular for cycling and fishing. The hotel also offers free use of bicycles, bike hire, and car hire. Number of rooms 18 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your hotel bridge view reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bridge View Hotel Batticaloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing