We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, tired hotel, lovely view”
Review of Scandic Laholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Laholmen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stromstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Location in the middle of town, everything easily accessible, lovely view from rooms and restaurant. But the rooms badly need upgrading, especially sound proofing which is virtually non-existing. You need ear-plugs at the w/ends!
We celebrated an anniversary and everything around this was excellent. Food, service, flowers etc was superb.
Total cost was more than acceptable, we had the feeling that we had enjoyed a bargain!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed there for a weekend in January.
The room was to small for a couple. I could hear what the neighbours were talking about, so it needs sound isolation. Not fun when they party to early morning in the room.
The room was clean and we had a nice wiew over Strømstad.
The breakfast was quite good.
The worst was the stairs down to the disco from the lobby. It was so steap.
I told my friends that there will be an accident here, and it did.
A man fell down from the middle of the stairs and hit his face right into the stairs, god damn I was lucky I didnt se it. He passed out big time.The ambulance came and brught him to the hospital He was offcourse drunk, but beware..
The location is nice, but to expensive..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jericho J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst I was attending a local conference. The location of the hotel is superb with some lovely views but the hotel badly needs some TLC ! The rooms were adequate but pretty basic and more suited a a one or two night stopover than a base for a week or so. The restaurant had a limited range of options, is very expensive (£30 for a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc - twice the price of a UK restaurant!). Breakfast was pretty basic and very DIY although the staff were very helpful. Free Wi-Fi is good but, whilst most Swedes speak English, very few of the local shops and restaurants display information in English and Euros are not acceptable by many of them !

Room Tip: Top floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matkincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We just ate lunch here and cannot say anything about the rooms. Laholmen have a perfect location in Stromstad and the view from the restaurant terrace is fantastic, however the "tapas" was terrible. Bad schrimps, tasteless potatoes, boring cheeses and bad aioli.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I enjoyed my visit to Strømstad and to this hotel. We stayed for two nights. The one night we had a delcious cod dinner at the restaurant's hotel. A wonderful breakfast buffet is included in the price - breakfast is included in the price at most Scandinavian hotels. That is a real money and time saver. We had a nice, quiet room. (However if your room is above the restaurant on the weekends, there will be music from a band.) The hotel can be used for wedding parties.

This part of Sweden is very popular with Norwegians because of the lower prices for food, tobacco products and alcohol. Make sure you book rooms in advance, especially in the summer because this place is full of bargain hunters.

The village of Stømstad is a transportation hub with ferries to Norway and several island communities. What might be strange to those who come from outside of Scandinavia are the very long lines at the governmental liquor stores - and everyone in line is Norwegian!

It is pleasant to walk around the small town. There seem to be tourist attractions within driving distance. There are nice views from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms over the restaurant if there is going to be a band and dancing in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyNorwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I took the 2.5 hour ferry from Sandefjord, Norway. First, we could not believe how inexpensive the fare was for the two of us and a car. We learned why when we were on board and went to the tax-free deck. People were buying discounted alcohol so fast that the store workers had trouble keeping the shelves stocked.

Second, this hotel is part of the Norwegian Rica Hotel chain, so it was clean, and the staff were very friendly and professional.

Third, we were in Sweden, so the coffee at the hotel was very good. (My nickname for Norway, where a cup costs $6 almost everywhere across the country, is The Land of Bad Coffee.)

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Excellent situated close to Strömstad Center, but very nice View over Marina and Sea. Good size room and Bathroom. Good Breakfast vith excellent Seaview.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromstad
0.5 mi away
Stromstad Spa & Resort
Stromstad Spa & Resort
#2 of 4 in Stromstad
1,193 reviews
16 mi away
Tanums Gestgifveri
Tanums Gestgifveri
#1 of 1 in Tanumshede
112 reviews
18.7 mi away
TanumStrand
TanumStrand
#1 of 1 in Grebbestad
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
#1 of 1 in Fjallbacka
131 reviews
14.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Halden
59 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rasta Nordby
Rasta Nordby
#4 of 4 in Stromstad
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Laholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Laholmen

Address: Laholmen 1 | Strömstad, Stromstad 452 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Stromstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stromstad
Price Range: £138 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Laholmen 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a landmark waterfront building with panoramic harbor views. Laholmen is a year-round hub of activity in the city of Stromstad. With its unbeatable waterfront location, this classic Hotel is a renowned meeting place with magnificent views of the harbor and Koster fjord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Laholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing