We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Acropol HOtel”
Review of New Acropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Acropol Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed there twice and have found the food terrific, the rooms clean and water hot, the value excellent, the welcome great and the old-Africa ambiance exceptional. The place to stay in Morogoro.

Room Tip: reserve early, they only have a few rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for New Acropol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the New Acropol on our way to Selous. The place and the owner were friendly and most welcoming. Indeed we had the most convivial evening with excellent food and entertaining company. Michelle was a genial host and we would thoroughly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madaboutafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A group of us stayed elsewhere in Morogoro, but discovered the New Acropol quite early on, and then kept going back, for drinks and food.
We celebrated a friends birthday with them, and they made it a really special occasion...providing a delicious cake too.
It was also great to be able to use their WiFi, as was the only place we found with it.
Had a massage from Agnes whilst there, it was exceptionally reasonably priced, and really great.
The Staff and owners were really friendly too. We shall certainly be back next year.

Room Tip: We didn't stay over, so can't comment on the rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were staying elsewhere in Morogoro but during our week away, visited the New Acropol several times for drinks and food. The service was fantastic. We booked a birthday meal and were given a delicious cake and a meal on the house! The atmosphere is relaxing and Michelle and Gavin make the place even better - they were genuinely interested in our reasons for visiting Morogoro and were always chatty and friendly to all their customers. The choice of food was great and salad was washed in filtered water, which was a plus point. I couldn't think of a better place to sit and chill out in the evening sun whilst in Morogoro.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We always keep coming back to this fascinating hotel with its fantastic proprietor, huge rooms and great food.Have been visiting for years and are so grateful we chanced by it. Being dog lovers we enjoy making a fuss of the little white pooches whilst sitting on the front verandah for sundowners. We're always made to feel so very welcome and always look forward to our next visits. Do yourself a favour and check out this establishment when you're next in Morogoro.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Went there late last, year was hoping to get a room but didn't manage to get one for some reason,I managed to stay for drinks with few local friends,it was cool. matter fact This place need changing big time,need to get rid off all them scattered animal stattue because its just junk, and rubbish reduce the number of picture and portraits off the wall, its just too much,restaurant need natural light its pretty dark,pets come on men,pets ooh dear stinks of dogs and cat fouls,no need for them especially when running around everywhere here and there in the hotel,nice bar fully loaded with alcoholic and none alcohol,food are ok not to a wow standard but edible.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kwe2africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Travelling by car from Europe down to Southafrica the food in the new Acropol Hotel was so good that we stayed for a week (in the suite at the frontportch)! From a friend of the lovely lady that runs the place I heared right before we left that she is a chef and studied in France - that's why!
The ambience is extraordinary and the precious things all around well worth a sight. So if you are in Morogoro check this place out and enjoy the marvellous food and yes the homemade cakes are delicious as well as the fresh brewed coffee! Oh, and if your dog is well behaving then he is welcome too :-)!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morogoro
0.0 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#3 of 6 in Morogoro
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#1 of 6 in Morogoro
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 6 in Morogoro
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arc Hotel
Arc Hotel
#4 of 6 in Morogoro
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mama Pierina Restaurant and Annex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Acropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Acropol Hotel

Address: Plot 178 Old Dar Road | P.O. Box 78, Morogoro, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Price Range: £40 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This building is one of the oldest in Morogoro and is filled with antiques and original furniture from the 1940s and 50s. It is on the Old Dar road, once the main road through Tanzania from the border to Dar es salaam. It has a fascinating pub with maps and curios from all over Zanzibar and mainland Tanzania. The food served features vegetables and other produce from various Morogoro organic cooperatives. North American style cuisine using beef filet and pork tenderloin. Specialty coffees and a fully stocked bar with cocktails. Free internet is available throughout the property and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Acropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing