We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Morogoro”
Review of Arc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Morogoro”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

It is a great hotel in a good location by Tanzanian standard. It is well run and I would stay there again for business purposes. The owner is very welcoming and did greet me when I arrived when I stayed last year. I have stayed there twice now and both occasions was the same standard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinksy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for these comments. Our aim is to provide quality hospitality services and the comments provided by ‘Spinksy’ are indeed an encouragement for our staff to maintain and where possible to improve that quality for our guests. Dear ‘Spinksy’, we look forward to welcoming you back during 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    38
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
13
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

I've been here a few times. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. The food is fantastic with a mix of local foods, Indian food, great pizzas, and the usual hotel menu. They have a nice outdoor patio for dining with a nice mix of music. They show soccer games outside on a large 'screen' as well. The front desk staff are always very friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the edge of town which keeps it quiet at night.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thanks William S; we surely appreciate your brief and courteous report on your stay last summer.
Our new year’s resolutions aim to keep the service at top level and to continue expanding our services and hopefully build new facilities for our guests during 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Once again I found myself at the homely Arc Hotel; been some good things happening since my last visit; waiters all spruced up, breakfast has improved with muesli, butter and cheese now on the breakfast table ... so I imagined more waiters meant better service. Sadly, this was not the case. My first encounter with a clueless waiter was excused, but when three waiters on a separate occasion admitted that they had no idea what the ingredients of a meal on the menu was, and called in the chef to explain, I got irritated! The management should take note as it is inexcusable for a hotel that attracts a fairly 'travelled' clientele that expects better serivice than just a 'samahani' meaning excuse me for I do not know. Knowledge is a basic and training is vital. If these waiters are incapable then I suggest adding the ingredients and cooking method for the dishes on the menu. For instance 'roast' in Tanzania means 'stewed'. I want to return to Arc Hotel but not to another 'samahani'.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view never fail to please
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
It was a somewhat unpleasant surprise to read this review. Our management is taking it most seriously.
Three of our waiters have no clue as to what they serve our guests. We had to enquire. The situation reminds me of a restaurant visit to one of the elegant restaurants on the Belgian coast a few years ago. I asked the waiter who had served the meal a question about the meal, which he could not answer. He then calls his immediate superior who also could not answer my question. The immediate superior (dressed in dinner jacket with black tie) calls his boss, who comes to my table (his uniform being white tie and tails). I certainly understood that my concern was being properly addressed. So maybe this is the way forward for our relatively more modest place in Morogoro: ensure that our waiters go to their immediate superior when one of our guests has questions that he or she may not be able to answer. But of course, we must ensure that all our waiters are properly informed about the various delicacies on our menu.
In any case, it is a pleasure hearing from our guests both when we receive good reviews (I especially appreciate the reference to our improved breakfast buffet) but also when we receive critical comments, because this is input which we must use to improve our services to our guests. The constructive proposal to explain ‘stewed’ and ‘roasted’ on the menu will certainly be taken into account by our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Enjoyable one night stay out of the noise of Morogoro. Bedrooms excellent and host Swen pleasant company. Wasn't that enamoured of the menu wth the emphasis on chicken in all its forms but enjoyed the meal and the wine nontheless. Company helped and service good. Recommended and will stay here again next time through. Pool would be a great addition after the long trip from out west.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buccaneer-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
We did not know that the buccaneer was staying with us; had we known we surely would have made a special effort to offer a special meal with emphasis on anything but chicken. Our most recent addition to the menu is lasagna, prepared the way the Italians do it (we hope!?). We therefore also hope that ‘next time’ our buccaneer comes will be soon in order that our chef’s efforts to make our menu more attractive can be evaluated. And we will be glad to offer a good bottle of red wine on the house when he comes.
Regarding the wish for a swimming pool: am in full agreement that such an addition would be great; and we are working on it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is my fourth visit & I can positively recommend this hotel to everybody visiting Morogoro, I have previously stayed in most of the hotels here & this one stands out with excellent views, very good food, polite staff. They keep on improving services, this time round the breakfast has a wider choice with pure butter, cheese & cappuccino added, the food menu has more variety & pizzas are now extremely good. The thing I enjoy the most is waking up in the morning & sitting outside the balcony sipping hot coffee (facility provided in the room) enjoying the tranquil mountain view. I also enjoy sitting in the garden area having drinks along with my family & friends in the evening, prices are more than reasonable & atmosphere is perfect compared to any other hotel can provide. I would recommend the management to consider training the staff to better understand English language & also consider putting up a swimming pool.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ahan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
It always is encouraging to receive a good review, especially from a seasoned traveler as Mr ‘Ahan’ who appears to be Kenyan. In fact hotels in Kenya continue to inspire us to do a better job. I cannot but agree that the view from the Arc towards the Uluguru Mountains is just stunning; it is also most appreciated that our loyal staff is rated ‘polite’. This appreciation will certainly be communicated to all staff tomorrow evening when we will have our bi-monthly staff party.
But it is also correct that we should train our staff to better understand English. In fact we are planning to do this in the context of establishing a new progressive human resource policy (we employ about 40 persons, most of them below the age of 25). This should clearly include language training, but it will also have other elements, such as to encourage staff to follow courses at the Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) in order to develop their personal skills to progress to a higher educational level. SUA is located only some four km away from the Arc.
Finally the remark about our missing swimming pool: we are considering to put up a proper swimming pool (min. 18x8 meters), where hotel guests, our staff and the local population would be able to swim or learn to swim. This would no doubt be of special interest for local schools to ensure that students learn to swim at a young age.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Suite for a week and it was very nice and comfortable. The water was out one morning but was fixed by the time we returned from working that evening. The bed was comfortable but a little to hard from my liking. The restruant was amazing, always a good selection and fresh. The road getting there is in need of repair but for Africa its not to bad. Very good price for everything you get.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
We are well aware of the problem with the water pressure; especially during these days before the wet season starts, do we have these problems all over Morogoro.
The bed mattresses: some like them soft other prefer them hard; but this comment also gives food for thought: when our mattresses need to be renewed, maybe we should offer rooms with hard, medium or soft mattresses?! Anyway, the most positive remark about our restaurant is certainly welcome; and our guest is most welcome back, although we cannot guarantee that the about 400 meter road for getting to us from the highway will have been improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Turned up, they were not aware i had been booked in, but all well, had my room in seconds. Clean comfortable and a lovely garden. restaurant and bar outside is really nice. Staff very friendly. all in all very pleasantly surprised.

and at 60k shilling would reccommend it for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
We always hope to be a pleasant surprise to our guests; indeed on 26 September it was a pleasant surprise also for us to host Mr 'Wildpix'. After our front office staff first thought that they had made a mistike, it turned out that the reservation was made under a different name.
In any case we are happy that our guest did not rate us lower than '4 stars' and we look forward to welcoming him back, hoping that he will then rate us a bit higher ... .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
3.4 mi away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#3 of 6 in Morogoro
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#2 of 6 in Morogoro
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Acropol Hotel
New Acropol Hotel
#1 of 6 in Morogoro
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 6 in Morogoro
11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 7 in Morogoro
38 reviews
4.1 mi away
Simbamwenni Tented Lodge
Simbamwenni Tented Lodge
#2 of 16 in Morogoro
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Hotel

Property: Arc Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 3112 | Old Dar es Salaam Road, Morogoro, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arc Hotel opened in August 2009. It is a modern international level hotel. It is located at the outskirts of the city of Morogoro, approximately 2 km from the city centre, close to the main road to Dar es Salaam, Dodoma or Zambia. Arc Hotel offers comfortable double or single rooms/suites to meet the needs of both professionals and vacationers. All rooms on the upper floor have access to a private balcony looking out on the Eastern Arc (Uluguru) Mountains. The Arc Hotel 'Mikumi' restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes and indoor as well as open air services for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu includes local, as well as Indian, Chinese and international specialties. The open air service area also comprises the bar. Families with children are always welcome. An outdoor playground is available. Our staff will be happy to connect you with local tour operators for transport to the local attractions. The hotel is conveniently located close to Mikumi National Park, Udzungwa Mountains National Park, Uluguru Mountains and Selous Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing