We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value...”
Review of Arc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morogoro
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What makes this place set apart from the rest is that it actually looks and feels like a hotel. We went to 4 other hotels in Morogoro that night and could not bring ourselves to stay in them. Finding Arc was a light in our dark tunnel.

Clean rooms, good showers - the basics are met. What impressed me is that the rooms were clean even when not expecting guests, no musty smells or such.

Quick check in. We were going to stay just the one night and leave early so it'd have helped if they had just a Bed rate and not a BnB rate...which is what we paid thought we didn't have any meal there. Rate includes wifi though so that was a plus.

Easy to find with GPS. Secure parking. Simple and good value. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njorogekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing us. Your comments are most appreciated.
Regarding your proposal to offer a room rate without breakfast: this would be difficult.
We do offer our breakfast buffet to guests who do not stay overnight, but it costs 15000TZs (about US$ 10) cf the comprehensive menu posted on our web site.
Since most guests who stay overnight, do take the breakfast, it includes dishes that meet our guests' wishes as far as possible, whether they are Tanzanians or Non-residents.
But if you leave earlier than about 6h30, when our restaurant opens for breakfast, then we will always be able to offer you a box breakfast to bring along, if you order it the evening before.
In any case, we hope to see you with us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arch Hotel is an impressing and unforgettable place for its good environment and hospitality offered by the workers.Stayed and participated in a meeting for three days but felt much home.The facility and foods meet all standards.

I call upon all business peoples,families and academicians to utilize the home at the foot of Mount Uluguru.
Adam Ole Mwarabu

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam Ole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for this review. It is highly appreciated. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed there one night in May. It is a simple hotel, but clean and good value considering the price. Great view if the weather is clear.
Staff was helpful and pleasant.
Air conditioning, mosquito nets and comfortable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Beth604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for this review. It is brief and to the point. Yes, the hotel is simple - for example, we do not (at least so far), offer a swimming pool. But we do offer a secure place to stay. We do our best to offer free internet access - this is a must, because the large majority of our guests are business people. But we welcome all type of guests (including tourists ... ). We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff, and that you found your room comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent two nights at the hotel in May, after I was forced off Mbuyuni Lodge by the excessive rains. At TSh 700,000 per night, this is excellent value for money. The beds have mosquito nets and are comfortable, the shower is good, the view from the balcony breathtaking and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We appreciate your review. Our staff deserves your compliment and we will let them know about it.
Permit me one comment: you included an extra zero in the price for a single room per night.
Our current rate for a single room, including breakfast, is 70.000 TZs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at Arc for two nights on a working trip. The room was very spacious, clean with air-conditioning. My balcony view of the Uluguru Mountains was spectacular. The staff were friendly. The front office manager Zawadi Yesaya went the extra mile to arrange for a taxi pick-up from the Morogoro airstrip. The food was also fresh. The only downer for me was the lack of internet access/Wi-fi within the rooms. Wi-fi was only available at the hotel lobby. I recommend the place and look forward staying at Arc in the near future

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best view of the Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David_Onyango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Your review is most appreciated. We are especially happy about the mentioning of your using the newly opened domestic airline connection between Dar es Salaam and Morogoro. In this context it is a matter of course that we ensure pick up of our guests at the Morogoro airport.
About the negative issue you mention: We agree with you that the lack of internet access in all rooms is a problem. However, as an intermediate solution, it is possible to extend the wi-fi access to other areas than the hotel lobby. We regret that this is not explained to our guests when they check in. We will correct this immediately.
But the best solution to the problem of internet access is in the process of being implemented: Tanzania Telecommunications Company Limited (TTCL) is in the process of completing an optical fiber cable whereby the Arc Hotel will become connected to the East African Submarine Backbone network. This will replace the current mobile based internet connection, and we will then be able to offer full internet access coverage in all rooms and public areas. TTCL promises that this work will be completed during the first week of June of this year. Therefore, when you come back to stay with us in the near future, we expect to be able to offer fast internet access in all rooms and public areas of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for two weeks - a fantastic hotel with a great team. Food delicious and freshly prepared, accommodation spacious - every request is taken seriously and acted upon promptly - and the view from room and balcony absolutely spectacular! We will return - hopefully soon :)

Room Tip: First floor rooms, towards the end of each wing, have the best views of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear guest, thank you for this review. The photos you submitted are really superb - could not have been done better by any professional! Your comments about our staff make us feel proud. They all do their best to ensure that our guests are comfortable and feel at home at the Arc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

September / October 2013 was our 3rd and then 4th stay at the Arc hotel. This time we had rooms on the second floor with a lovely little balcony and views of the mountains. The room was very quiet and extremely clean with an air conditioner that worked well, but with the ceiling fans we really didn't need it. We have always found the service at the front desk to be professional and friendly. We also have always liked the food choices in the restaurant. The service in the restaurant has improved a lot from the first time we stayed in 2011 and we have no complaints. Breakfast has also improved. We love this little hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room on away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilopascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Kilopascal,
This is one of the best reviews, if not the best review, we have received via TripAdvisor.
It is indeed an encouragement for our staff to learn that both our restaurant service and our breakfast have improved. We in the management know that our staff is doing their best to serve our guests, and we intend to continue along that path. We know that the English language can often be a problem for our Swahili speaking staff. We therefore intend to introduce English language training for our staff. We also maintain a non-discriminatory policy between Tanzanians and foreigners regarding room rates. We believe that this policy is to the advantage of all of us.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
0.0 mi away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#2 of 7 in Morogoro
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#1 of 7 in Morogoro
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 7 in Morogoro
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Acropol Hotel
New Acropol Hotel
#3 of 7 in Morogoro
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 10 in Morogoro
39 reviews
4.1 mi away
Simbamwenni Tented Lodge
Simbamwenni Tented Lodge
#1 of 16 in Morogoro
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 3112 | Old Dar es Salaam Road, Morogoro, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morogoro
Price Range: £47 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arc Hotel opened in August 2009. It is a modern international level hotel. It is located at the outskirts of the city of Morogoro, approximately 2 km from the city centre, close to the main road to Dar es Salaam, Dodoma or Zambia. Arc Hotel offers comfortable double or single rooms/suites to meet the needs of both professionals and vacationers. All rooms on the upper floor have access to a private balcony looking out on the Eastern Arc (Uluguru) Mountains. The Arc Hotel 'Mikumi' restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes and indoor as well as open air services for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu includes local, as well as Indian, Chinese and international specialties. The open air service area also comprises the bar. Families with children are always welcome. An outdoor playground is available. Our staff will be happy to connect you with local tour operators for transport to the local attractions. The hotel is conveniently located close to Mikumi National Park, Udzungwa Mountains National Park, Uluguru Mountains and Selous Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing