We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Arc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A friend and I had dinner there after reading that a special Thai menu was being put out for the week (the ad appeared in the local newsletter). However, the waiting staff did not seem to be aware of this special menu, vehemently insisting that it was available. Only a call to the chef for clarification produced an A4 sheet with the specials printed out on it. Not an auspicious start.

We ordered both a starter and a main, and a prawn dish was one of our starters. Seafood is tricky to prepare at the best of times, and on this evidence, the chef failed badly. The prawns came out looking like kitten sphincters they were so overcooked. Rubbing salt into the wound was that the prawns were overseasoned, as was everything else we had ordered. Despite my asking for my steak to be medium done and plain, it came out well done (well here referring to how overcooked it was as opposed to a measure of its excellence) and slathered in a brown sauce of questionable origin and taste. The saving grace for this rather lacklustre and uninspiring plate of food was the seasonal vegetables which were fresh and crisp.

My friend's plate of food was significantly less than a dog's dinner since even her dogs refused to eat her steak leftovers. So I don't think I need to go into any further detail.

On the plus side of this 'dining' experience: the staff are attentive and courteous (although some slightly more ripe-smelling than others due to an underwhelming response to personal deodorising). The location is stunning, although our view of the mountain was completely obstructed by a marquis planted squarely in front of the restaurant. The plastic chairs in the restaurant area are a jarring reminder of the fact that This Is Tanzania, where the Empire of The Plastic Chair is headquartered. It seriously detracts from the general genteel tone of the establishment.

We had a look at one of the single rooms, and for the price, they seem a pretty good bargain.

Overall, there are some positives to be had but the food is not one of them.

Room Tip: If you can get a room not on the ground/first floor, you will have a better view of the mountains, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor_Madziva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
"Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and will take it into consideration."
This is our formal response to your extensive work on the review as agreed by our operational management and Board.
But I would like to add my own personal observations to the review:
I admire your boldness you so eloquently expresses. How come that you give the Arc five 'stars' when the service and food, you and your friend had, was so mediocre?
But reading your comments, I noticed that you actually had some very positive comments about our staff: they were all "attentive and polite." Additionally, you quoted the amazing view of the Uluguru Mountains (although a marquis blocked your view of the mountains).
Your comments on plastic chairs, I find absolutely correct. My back simply cannot tolerate these chairs. Therefore I ask a 'normal' chair from the indoor restaurant be brought to our outdoor table when I visit the outdoor restaurant.
Overall: Your review caused an extensive exchange of emails between our directors and operational management. We really want to offer our guests the best of the best in Morogoro. Your review was therefore very useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    38
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
13
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitale, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Located at the foot of Uluguru Mountains with good reception and hospitality of a kind, the beautiful gardens and serene environment, not to mention spectacular rooms and great fresh food. This hotel is the place to go when you need relax, go hiking, meet beautiful people, sample good wines and a family even corporate experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks for this most appreciated review! We hope to see you again soon!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What makes this place set apart from the rest is that it actually looks and feels like a hotel. We went to 4 other hotels in Morogoro that night and could not bring ourselves to stay in them. Finding Arc was a light in our dark tunnel.

Clean rooms, good showers - the basics are met. What impressed me is that the rooms were clean even when not expecting guests, no musty smells or such.

Quick check in. We were going to stay just the one night and leave early so it'd have helped if they had just a Bed rate and not a BnB rate...which is what we paid thought we didn't have any meal there. Rate includes wifi though so that was a plus.

Easy to find with GPS. Secure parking. Simple and good value. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njorogekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. Your comments are most appreciated.
Regarding your proposal to offer a room rate without breakfast: this would be difficult.
We do offer our breakfast buffet to guests who do not stay overnight, but it costs 15000TZs (about US$ 10) cf the comprehensive menu posted on our web site.
Since most guests who stay overnight, do take the breakfast, it includes dishes that meet our guests' wishes as far as possible, whether they are Tanzanians or Non-residents.
But if you leave earlier than about 6h30, when our restaurant opens for breakfast, then we will always be able to offer you a box breakfast to bring along, if you order it the evening before.
In any case, we hope to see you with us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morogoro, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arch Hotel is an impressing and unforgettable place for its good environment and hospitality offered by the workers.Stayed and participated in a meeting for three days but felt much home.The facility and foods meet all standards.

I call upon all business peoples,families and academicians to utilize the home at the foot of Mount Uluguru.
Adam Ole Mwarabu

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam Ole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for this review. It is highly appreciated. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed there one night in May. It is a simple hotel, but clean and good value considering the price. Great view if the weather is clear.
Staff was helpful and pleasant.
Air conditioning, mosquito nets and comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beth604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for this review. It is brief and to the point. Yes, the hotel is simple - for example, we do not (at least so far), offer a swimming pool. But we do offer a secure place to stay. We do our best to offer free internet access - this is a must, because the large majority of our guests are business people. But we welcome all type of guests (including tourists ... ). We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff, and that you found your room comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent two nights at the hotel in May, after I was forced off Mbuyuni Lodge by the excessive rains. At TSh 700,000 per night, this is excellent value for money. The beds have mosquito nets and are comfortable, the shower is good, the view from the balcony breathtaking and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We appreciate your review. Our staff deserves your compliment and we will let them know about it.
Permit me one comment: you included an extra zero in the price for a single room per night.
Our current rate for a single room, including breakfast, is 70.000 TZs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at Arc for two nights on a working trip. The room was very spacious, clean with air-conditioning. My balcony view of the Uluguru Mountains was spectacular. The staff were friendly. The front office manager Zawadi Yesaya went the extra mile to arrange for a taxi pick-up from the Morogoro airstrip. The food was also fresh. The only downer for me was the lack of internet access/Wi-fi within the rooms. Wi-fi was only available at the hotel lobby. I recommend the place and look forward staying at Arc in the near future

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best view of the Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David_Onyango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Your review is most appreciated. We are especially happy about the mentioning of your using the newly opened domestic airline connection between Dar es Salaam and Morogoro. In this context it is a matter of course that we ensure pick up of our guests at the Morogoro airport.
About the negative issue you mention: We agree with you that the lack of internet access in all rooms is a problem. However, as an intermediate solution, it is possible to extend the wi-fi access to other areas than the hotel lobby. We regret that this is not explained to our guests when they check in. We will correct this immediately.
But the best solution to the problem of internet access is in the process of being implemented: Tanzania Telecommunications Company Limited (TTCL) is in the process of completing an optical fiber cable whereby the Arc Hotel will become connected to the East African Submarine Backbone network. This will replace the current mobile based internet connection, and we will then be able to offer full internet access coverage in all rooms and public areas. TTCL promises that this work will be completed during the first week of June of this year. Therefore, when you come back to stay with us in the near future, we expect to be able to offer fast internet access in all rooms and public areas of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
3.4 mi away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#3 of 6 in Morogoro
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#2 of 6 in Morogoro
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Acropol Hotel
New Acropol Hotel
#1 of 6 in Morogoro
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 6 in Morogoro
11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 7 in Morogoro
38 reviews
4.1 mi away
Simbamwenni Tented Lodge
Simbamwenni Tented Lodge
#2 of 16 in Morogoro
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Hotel

Property: Arc Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 3112 | Old Dar es Salaam Road, Morogoro, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arc Hotel opened in August 2009. It is a modern international level hotel. It is located at the outskirts of the city of Morogoro, approximately 2 km from the city centre, close to the main road to Dar es Salaam, Dodoma or Zambia. Arc Hotel offers comfortable double or single rooms/suites to meet the needs of both professionals and vacationers. All rooms on the upper floor have access to a private balcony looking out on the Eastern Arc (Uluguru) Mountains. The Arc Hotel 'Mikumi' restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes and indoor as well as open air services for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu includes local, as well as Indian, Chinese and international specialties. The open air service area also comprises the bar. Families with children are always welcome. An outdoor playground is available. Our staff will be happy to connect you with local tour operators for transport to the local attractions. The hotel is conveniently located close to Mikumi National Park, Udzungwa Mountains National Park, Uluguru Mountains and Selous Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing