We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“there are better and cheaper hotels in Morogoro”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilux Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Morogoro B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“there are better and cheaper hotels in Morogoro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on business. They room was tiny and faced directly onto a busy mainroad. The bathroom was infested with ants and the shower didnt work. One the second night the bar area began playing music at 1.30 in the morning. I was glad to leave. The oasis and Morogoro hoyels are better options.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bazwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Beautiful service! i recommend anybody & everybody to go there! Everybody was so nice & welcoming, just made me love being there! The food is also delicious!! Extremely impressive

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanfleva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed here twice this year - once for work by myself, once with my partner and in-laws. My main reason for coming back was the ingenious mosquito net design. It slides out on inverted rails on a frame above the bed.
Aside from that it's not bad, not great. The kind of place where the bathroom taps seem to have been scavenged from elsewhere and the soapholder in the shower tilts towards you so your toiletries fall out: not thought through. No real problems but a bit careworn and cold use some maintenance/paint. On my visit with five jetlagged inlaws there was some fracas with lost bookings and assigning us random 'leftover' rooms - having said that, it gets busy with conferences and if we'd been so inclined we cold have eavesdropped on both the Ministry of Finance and TANAPA who were having conferences there. Some roosters at the neighbours, but Morogoro is generally chilled out and it's on the quiet Old DSM Road side of town so no noise problems.
I wouldn't go out of my way to dine there but when I did, the roast goat with ugali was excellent and the waiters were nice. It was indeed hard to catch their eye, but that may be because of the poor light in the restaurant/bar's niches where you basically sit in the dark.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We thought we would have a treat here. To start with we asked for onecoca cola and one water.The waitress brought 2 waters and tutted when we reiterated our initial order. I then I ordered grilled talapia and chips and my friend Spaghetti Bolognaise. We waited ages then the chips were STONE COLD-I know Tzs don't get the idea of hot food but this was abysmal. The waitress brought another meal and I ate the chips and started on the fish--It was grilled to a crisp on one side--no flesh left at all..The waitress passed 3 times and eventualy I had to take the plate over to her. Unfortunately she was just starting to eat her evening meal behind the serving area so I caused a bit of inconvenience, A waiter offered me filleted fish but no apology. I then went back to my seat. Someone else came through and said I had eaten half of the fish--I explained it had been over cooked, not eaten. He asked how he expected me to present this dish to the manager and give and explanation. I suggested that I just pay for the chips and sodas and leave. He then offered fish fillet. I accepted, When we left, the atmosphere was decidely cool--most unlike Tanzanian hospitality. We ate at the Coco Beach for the rest of our stay-Most satisfactory..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maturecoupleDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morogoro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
1.7 mi away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#2 of 6 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#3 of 6 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arc Hotel
Arc Hotel
#4 of 6 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 6 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Acropol Hotel
New Acropol Hotel
#1 of 6 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 7 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilux Hotel

Property: Hilux Hotel
Address: Old Dar es Salaam Rd, Morogoro, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Morogoro
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Hilux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing