We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Almere
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Almere
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient but nothing special”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rooms basic but clean. Window didn't open as it was broken. Staff were friendly and the food was good. Location is covenient for travellers enroute but not pretty at all, okay for a stop over.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weilandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    55
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
15
41
12
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I had a business meeting in Almere so staying in the area the night before was a convenience. This hotel is rather out of the way; it's a 20 Euro taxi ride from the rail station situated between a commercial estate and a main road. Definitely not within walking distance of public transport or amenities.
Reception staff were helpful & friendly, entrance to hotel was clean & functional. The hotel is a typical of the region & the era in which it was built. the corridor walls are painted cement blocks and the doors are metal, both giving a rather cold feel despite the odd art work & plant. The room was rather cramped and a lot smaller than most Travelodges I have stayed in (unfortunately the prices aren't comparable!). There were twin beds and a desk (but not much room between the two). the television was flatscreen but mounted quite high up the wall with no tilt facility so watching tv was a strain on the neck. Wireless internet was free. Room was clean and shower was good and hot - complimentary toiletries were a little miserly.
Bar & restaurant were a bit clinical but clean & tidy. restaurant staff were also the reception staff but this did not impact the service. Service was good and the food was excellent with a main course about 20 Euros.
All in all and adequate hotel with friendly staff & good food but these days I expect a much higher level of comfort for this sort of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizard_of_odds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marktbreit, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stayed one night at the Bastion Hotel in March 2011. The guy at the reception was friendly when I checked in. He upgraded me to a better room category, which I thought would be a nice thing. When I opened my room on the 7th floor, I was a little surprised, because it had two single beds, instead of one double bed. This seemed to me a little strange for an upgrade room… It was situated towards the front of the hotel, but it seemed to be well isolated, as no noise could be heard. The room was sufficiently big, but if this was really an upgraded room, the standard rooms must be rather small. The decoration and furniture was everything else than stylish and seemed to be a little outdated. It was equipped with a small TV and a mini-bar. The wireless internet connection was available for free and was fast and working well.
The bathroom was well sized, but a little outdated, too. Just the shower curtain seemed to be pretty new. The bathroom itself was very clean, as was the room.
I went down at 9 AM to take breakfast, but there were just a few things left. The selection isn’t really impressive, though. I didn’t use the bar or the restaurant, but it didn’t look very inviting anyway.
Hotel parking is free, but not secured.
The hotel is located in an industrial area, very near to the A6 highway leading to Amsterdam. Almere city centre is 2-3 km away, Amsterdam city centre about 30 km, Schiphol airport about 40 km.
Since the customer I had to visit was located very near to the hotel, it was a good choice for me. For other reasons than this, I wouldn’t really recommend it. I paid 88,50 € per night incl. breakfast, which I though was a little too much for an hotel of this quality in an industrial area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schackel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We spent 3 days at this hotel as it was close to friends who live in Almere. I asked for non alergic pillows as the room came with feathers. They couldn't help. They sellotaped the pillowcase shut. As an asthma sufferer, I had an awful 3 nights, wheezing uncontrollably.
The room wasn't cleaned in the 3 days that we stayed there. When I enquired about this, they claimed that I had placed a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door. There was no such sign in the room to use. After my stay, I wrote regularly to various e mails addresses that I could find. I did not receive the courtesy of a reply. Undoubtedly the WORST hotel experience that I have ever had. I travel frequently for leisure and business.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omaressack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Almere hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

There are not many hotels in Almere, so this hotel was a monopolist for years. That shows!!...bad service, terrible food, and very high prices. The rooms are ok though and internet is free. Location is trerrible also. Isolated on ab industrial estate. I stayed here many times because of business but i gave up and found something better.
Almere is a rappidly growing town near Amsterdam and I simply don't understand why there are no decent hotels there?? If you have a car stay somewhere else, if you don't have a car stay in Amsterdam near a trainstation. It;s only 20 minutes by train from Amsterdam to Almere Central Station

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NobRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This hotel is ok to stay one or two nights, especially if you have a car and visting businesses in the area. Without it, you're stuck. The area where the hotel is, is a light industrial one. and there is nothing around, no ATM, no restaurants, shops, nothing. The only place to eat is the hotel restaurant which serves decent basic food. The breakfast was good.
The room is very small, and the bathroom even smaller. There is no closet to keep clothes, only an open small shelf and a place to hang a few items. The safe in the room is small so it can only take a max 15" laptop, and it's not even bolted down so if someone wants to carry it away it's easy enough! The bathroom is small and has only a small shelf to keep toothbrush and toiletries. No hairdryer. There is a kettle in the room but it was not in a very good shape. The telephone and clock radio are placed on the desk so they are not close to the bed. Admittedly good if you really want to wake up but not very convenient. The rooms are not noice proof at all and many guests came in late at night banging doors. There also seemed to be an issue with the door in the room, had to pull hard to get it closed. No safety chain.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamme, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2006

This hotel offers a nice room with extra's such as free coffee/tea, minibar, safe and hotspot voor your laptop.
The hotel is situated in an industrial zone and you need a car to get arround. If you want to go to Amsterdam, you can take a train from the station "Almere Muziekwijk", which is only 5' bij car from the hotel.
The hotel is a good alternative for those who are travelling by car and need a save parking.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almere
2.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Almere City Centre
3.2 mi away
NH Naarden
NH Naarden
#1 of 2 in Naarden
354 reviews
3.3 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Almere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
#1 of 2 in Bussum
40 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum
4.1 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Almere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Almere

Property: Bastion Hotel Almere
Address: Audioweg 1, 1322 AT Almere, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Flevoland Province > Almere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Almere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Almere 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Almere offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, airconditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge. There is also free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby is a computer available where guests can use the internet for free. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Almere is near the A6 and is ideal for a visit to the city centre of Almere or Amsterdam. The capital is approximately fifteen minute by car. Are you an enthusiast of modern architecture? Almere is the place to be! Rooms The hotel has 114 deluxe rooms and 40 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Domestic animals are not allowed. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and on weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bastion Hotel Almere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing