We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, well presented food and an extensive range of wines”
Review of Harbor House

Harbor House
Reserve with
Harbor House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 133 Restaurants in Almere
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Langbank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting, well presented food and an extensive range of wines”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Harbor House is situated by a marina and has extensive outdoor tables for when the weather is good! Today it was not, however inside is a welcoming place with friendly staff. The menu is not too extensive but there is a good variety and the choices are interesting. The wine menu runs to over 3 pages and there appears to be a wide choice of wines from all round the world.
Scallops was a starter and the chef brought it to the table and explained the ingredients and preparation etc. It was beautifully presented and the flavours were outstanding.
The main courses and deserts were equally well prepared.
The only minor point was that some coleslaw (very tasty) fell onto the table in front of my wife. Two waiters came to the table, cleared glasses, plates, etc and left without doing anything about cleaning it up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    41
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Very tasty food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A sister restaurant of the Boat House - our favourite in Almere so we thought we would try Harbor House. Very goods choice!
The food was VERY good and was ready in reasonable time (freshly made but didn't take hours to wait, what's great if you have a toddler at the table). The waitress could be bit more friendly as even though we were dressed casually we are still paying the bill... The waiter was very friendly and made our little daughter feel special. Even though we didn't order the extra soup for her he brought a small portion for her as well. :) We will be definitely coming back! Great place for the summer evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad client service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We made reservations for dinner for Valentine's Day and when arrived at the restaurant the only place available was "squeezing" between two couples. As we like our privacy (I assume everybody does) we've asked for some other place that we could sit without people listening to our conversation, however this seemed absurd at the eyes of the recepcionist that didnt bother to offer us something better. The restaurant was not even that full , but she seemed to have the "take it or leave it " attitude...Althoug the reservation was made, we end up sitting in very uncorfortable high sits . The food was OK but nothing so special to be worth the price and the treatment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank girassol54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Harbor House is a member of Harbor Horeca, which also includes the Boat House in Noorderplassen, Almere.
The atmosphere is casual but warm and welcoming. The food is very good quality and beautifully presented. The staff are very friendly and polite.
If you are lucky enough to visit in the week before the menu changes, you will get your meal for half-price!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHS1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbor House also viewed

Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 
Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 
Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing