We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude service - unacceptable !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forellenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forellenhof Hotel
Ranked #28 of 59 Flachau B&B and Inns
Bratislava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude service - unacceptable !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Ordered large pint of beer at noon time. In the afternoon I was told I cannot be given large beer. Rude waiter told me it is decision of the owner I should go and arrange. The waiter said he can serve only 0,2 and or 0,3 beer - again I insisted I had over noon time large beer. I went to the owner and was told that large beer is served only during lunch and or dinner. Finally as I instisted I got my large beer.
The attitude I was treated is not of a 4* hotel. Definitely not ! I highly do not recommend this hotel as a 4* hotel. Not talking about the fact that this was my 6th stay and the owners are aware of this fact ! I feel very dissapointed ! I am a loyal client but the owners will not appreciate that !

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Thommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordsburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were two families i.e. two sets of parents and 5 young people (aged between 16 and 23), not children (9 people in total). We booked the hotel some 11 months in advance because we wanted to holiday at New Year in Flachau and wanted to be sure of good accommodation.

Having booked, we were somewhat concerned about some of the previous reviews we read on TripAdvisor that the hotel was not 4 Star. We have stayed in numerous 4 star hotels in Austria and found the hotel to be of a comparative standard to any others we had stayed in.

Breakfasts were excellent and there were no tastes not catered for - from healthy options to fried eggs and bacon. Every morning a menu was placed on our breakfast table to select our evening meal choices. We later learned that we should have ticked all courses because we found that if we didn't tick a course, we didn't get it. A translation of this requirement into English would have helped We had assumed that only courses that offered a choice needed to be selected.

The food was excellent and we had no complaints.

We had some small problems with the dining room staff who couldn't seem to understand that one carafe of water was insufficient for 9 people who had been skiing all day. They seemed a bit surprised when we asked for two carafes and even more surprised when they disappeared and we asked for more. Each person could easily have drunk a full one each. However that is a small complaint.

Our rooms were excellent as were all the other facilities and I don't really know what other reviewers expected. Our rooms were all clean, comfortable, large and similar to any 4 Star hotel we have ever been in before. In each room was a basket provided for our visits to the Wellness centre - towels, gowns and slippers. The whole basket could be taken to the Wellness with any other personal requirements. The Wellness center itself had full facilities, pool, sauna, steam relaxing chairs etc.

Other good points about the hotel:
Spacious wide corridors
Comfortable bar
Location: A short walk into the village centre and the ski bus stopped right outside the door.
Ski and boot room. Room, clean and comfortable (not smelly as so many other are).
Boot warmers that were always on.
Nearby Church bells every morning at 7 am acted as our alarm clock (Is this a good thing or not?)

All in all we had a good week and we had considered returning next year. The barman "Elvis" was excellent and some of the other staff could take a leaf out of his book as far as customer care and personality are concerned. Yes, his name really was "Elvis" and he continually told us that he was "in the building". A real character.

However, our week was soured when we came to pay our bill on the last evening. We were asked to pay a charge of €92 per person for wine, champagne, music and extra food at midnight on New Year's Eve. This resulted in a long, embarrassing and sometimes heated discussion with the management as to why we should pay this. We pointed out that this special package was mentioned in our booking communications but as far as we were concerned it was an optional extra which we did not book. We pointed out that we did not order this extra package and that in fact after dinner we left the hotel to celebrate the New Year elsewhere. We also pointed out that of the 9 people in our party, five were very young people who would never drink wine or champagne and certainly not in such quantities or wish to pay €92 a person for it. We argued that the statement on our booking communications simply offered the package as an extra but did not indicate that it would be part of our bill. The wording used was as follows (I'll let the reader make up their own mind as to how they would interpret this).

Please mention also our “Sylvester-Zuschlag” of € 92,00 for one person. This extra fee for Sylvester includes:
 1 small bottle of wine of your choice for the gala dinner
 1 small bottle of champagne for Sylvester
 a buffet at midnight and a lot of music

We certainly read this as being an optional extra. At €92 a head we considered this extravagant and made no indication to order it for our party.

Despite our view that this was an optional extra which we chose not to have, the management insisted for some time that we must pay it. Only when we said we would NOT pay the bill until the charge was removed did they eventually capitulate and after another 30 minutes our bill was once again produced (without the charge), whereupon we paid.

All week we had been saying to each other how good we thought the hotel was and were very much considering booking for next year again. However this experience which lasted over an hour on our final evening left us with a bad feeling about the hotel and we now feel we do not wish to return.

A great week's holiday in Flachau, a great stay in a hotel with good facilities and food. Pity about their poor communications about the extra option but the thing that spoiled it for us was how they handled the whole situation on our last evening. It took some 90 minutes to sort it out denying us of some relaxation on our last evening before travelling home. We were exhausted after it, went to bed and left early the next morning for a long journey home. The hotel knew we were leaving very early and didn't offer a snack breakfast or coffee facilities. A poor show.

The rating is based on the hotel facilities. If it was based on our overall experience it would be the lowest rating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fredcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlad, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is ok.The rooms are clean ,the spa is good but the food is poor.The food is that the cafeteria food,there is nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIRON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We spent a few days in hotel last week.
Hotel is far away from 4 stars hotel. Rooms is comfortable but not for 4 stars hotel.
Diners were not good, not tasted.
Wellnes is very poor. A pool is small with very smal place for rest, whirpool is old and with brown water, i do not know why, but I did not go inside.
Sauna is so small that you do not have an opportunaty for any personalyty.
Steam room, oh I did not see something like that, just steam and plastic seats.
Rest room is nice, but there is less tan 10 beds for the hotel with 100 guests.
But the owner of the hotel and her hospitallty is something that we did not see before.
She even did not look at you when you want to talk with her.
My brother had to cancel and go out of the hotel one day before because her wife had an accident and could not walk and sky any more. She charged the whole amount of halfboard, minus the price for diner and breakfest that she calculeted 10 EUR how? She could not explain us.
I really not reccomended this hotel to anyone.
I saw a lot of hotels, anyway I have a licence for categorization for the hotels, so you can believe me.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We planned our first family skiing holiday through D&G Travel. We explained to Gillian that we needed some easy skiing to get us in to it but also wanted a nice hotel. If my wife was only going to spend half of her time skiing then she needed a nice hotel to lounge around in and read!
We arrived at the Forellenhof after less than an hour private transfer from Salzburg and were greeted by the owners daughter who spoke very good english. We were early for our rooms so had lunch in the bar restaurant - served by none other than Elvis (that's his real name!).
We were showed to our room which was nice, not a classic 4* but for a ski resort was good and very clean and well decorated. They sorted out ski passes and we had individual ski lessons organised for the following day. The weather was amazing throughout the holiday.
The hotel has a small pool and spa with sauna and jacuzzi which was good to use after a day on the slopes.
The restaurant was a real highlight. We were half board and would usualy still eat out on a few of the nights however each morning we were given a menu of a few options, always meat, fish and veggie, usually 4 or 5 courses. If there was no menu in the morning then it was a buffet which was one of the best buffets we have had. In short, the restaurant was so good we never ate out. Micheala our waitress all week was also very nice...
It was 5 mins walk from the slopes or the bus stops right outside pretty much every 15 mins - we walked.
The only thing I'd add is that there weren't any other english people in the hotel which could be a good or bad thing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonathanHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flachau hotels
0.5 mi away
Funsport-, Bike- & Skihotelanlage Tauernhof
0.1 mi away
Familienresort Reslwirt
Familienresort Reslwirt
#14 of 30 in Flachau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Flachau
Hotel Alpenhof Flachau
#4 of 30 in Flachau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flachauerhof
Flachauerhof
#6 of 30 in Flachau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montanara
Montanara
#2 of 30 in Flachau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Winterbauer
Hotel Winterbauer
#1 of 30 in Flachau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forellenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forellenhof Hotel

Property: Forellenhof Hotel
Address: Am Hammerrain 188, Flachau 5542, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Flachau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Flachau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Forellenhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Forellenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing