We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice skiing for family”
Review of Hotel Wieseneck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Wieseneck
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Flachau
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in apartment without taking food service from the hotel. You can book a room with half boarding or apartment with optional purchase of breakfast etc. We didn't buy it as apartment have well equipped kitchen and small kids have their own preferences.

Apartment itself was nice, spacious giving enough privacy to each family member (e.g. 2 TVs - take your laptop and cables to connect to TV, one TV supported movies from USB disk directly). Hotel has very good location - you have to cross parking onlyto get to the nearest cabin lift (direction Zauchensee) or you can take local shuttle to get to another cabin lift across highway direction Kleinarl. Both resorts are excellent and we heard from the people that not so crowded like main Flachau resort.
Zauchensee is sportier while Kleinarl is excellent for families with small children. Do not forget to ask for special piece of paper to collect all holes from Kleinarl slopes - it is great fun to search and collect all holes, great motivation for small children! You can relax in Sunshine house - another great spot for families with small children.
There are facilities for teenagers on slopes too, but we didn't try them - maybe few years later.
Great location of the hotel - no need to take car from the garage (included in apartment rent) allow you to take extra downhill ride after part of family goes to the hotel.
Hotel offers ordering of fresh rolls and bread for the breakfast. The only problem is that microwave doesn't allow preparation of pizza ...
And prepare to use some basic words in German, English is not spoken too much there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

the hotel is very beautiful, in a quiet place.
rooms are big with lots of windows (in the corner room), wonderful owners, welcoming, feels like family.
the view is amazing.
The meals were great (all of them).
not far from the good sites

many thanks, we advise everyone to visit there!

Room Tip: choose the corner rooms, lots of sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Location is perfect, just opposite the skilift to Zauchensee. No need for car during the ski holiday.
Hotel is owned and managed by a nice family.
Rooms and appartments are big enough.
Price is fair.
We hade some misunderstanding with the booking and no fixed appartement when arrived but we got an other one which was smaller however still appropriate. Not counting this first impression everything was excellent so we come back next year again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Wieseneck for 4 nights in early Aug and were well pleased overall. It was not as close to Salzburg as we had thought, but still managable for a day trip. We also did a drive to Zell am See, St Gilgen and St Wolfgang, returning to the hotel in time for dinner. The entire staff was helpful and did thier best to make us welcome. This would be an ideal location in the winter for ski season as the lift is almost at the door. There were many families with children of all ages when we were there, but the dining rooms (there were several) made it possible to separate them somewhat. There were also some groups of bicycle riders there, so I assume this is a good location for that as well. The hotel has many extras such as lawn games for the children and an out-door terrace. Parking tended to get crowded but we always managed to find a space. Breakfasts were pentiful and varied and the included dinners were somewhat mixed. Some were good, soups tended to be excellent, while the entrees were not always good. However, the salad bar was always good and so that was an option if one didn't like the main course. We enjoyed our stay there overall and perhaps the next time in the area the weather will be better and we can enjoy the outdoors more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Seven years ago, we discovered Wieseneck by accident and appreciated the comfortable rooms and good food. Since then, our family of 8 have been returning each year during spring holidays, named "Faschingswoche" in German. This "Faschingswoche" is a very busy period during which hotels are all fully booked. Every year, we were looking forward to our skiing trip and family-run Wieseneck was an easy and obvious choice.

This year was our last visit, though, and there are two main reasons for this.
First of all, quality of food has been degrading over these years. While dinner was something to look forward to seven years ago, this is unfortunately not the case anymore: expect rather basic food, a lack of variety, too greasy, too salty and too saucy... If you are looking for culinary delights, this is no place for you (anymore).
Secondly, we have a problem with the manageress' attitude. We agree with the previous reviewer (in German) who states that her friendly tone tends to change quickly into a bossy, unpolite and even rude attitude. Although we reserved our room always a year in advance, we had to accept a different room type a couple of years ago since "the rooms you normally have our now given to Austrians". And this year, when we wanted to book our rooms for next year's "Faschingswoche", she answered us cold-blooded that all rooms have been reserved already "for Austrians".... She couldn't care less about the fact that we have been loyal customers during all these years, arriving with a large box of Belgian chocolates to show them our appreciation.
Well, we were very disappointed at first mostly because we will now have to find a new place for next year... Since our return home yesterday, I started immediately to contact some alternatives and I am happy to see that there is still availability at other guesthouses... so taking into account the degrading quality of food and the half-hearted service, this change is probably not so bad at all !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SafariBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ik heb maar 1 tip: ga hier niet heen om teleurstelling te voorkomen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PvD585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Slecht toegangelijk voor minder validen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S-buis2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flachau hotels
3.4 mi away
Familienresort Reslwirt
Familienresort Reslwirt
#16 of 29 in Flachau
28 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#8 of 29 in Flachau
25 reviews
3.7 mi away
Funsport-, Bike- & Skihotelanlage Tauernhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Winterbauer
Hotel Winterbauer
#3 of 29 in Flachau
40 reviews
4.1 mi away
Montanara
Montanara
#4 of 29 in Flachau
44 reviews
4.7 mi away
Harmls Aparthotel
Harmls Aparthotel
#2 of 61 in Flachau
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wieseneck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wieseneck

Address: Flachauwinklstrasse 218, Flachau 5542, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Flachau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Flachau
Price Range: £70 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wieseneck 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wieseneck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing