We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent place for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gartenhotel Rosenhof in Kitzbuehel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oberndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
“Exellent place for a family vacation”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our extended family (20 people) spent a week in Rossenhof. We had a wonderful week. The place was suitable for all ages with a variety of facilities (pool, bike, play room ect.). Alexa & Anna were available at all times with the best advice. The rooms are very nice and suited all our needs. Breakfast was excellent. To sum up an excellent place for a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms to the forest are more quite, the rooms to the pool are brighter and usually have a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The Gartenhotel Rosenhof is a family-run hotel just outside of the village of Oberndof in Tirol, Austria. Kitzbuhel is a couple of miles (4 km) away. Based on the license plates in the parking lot, the Rosenhof serves a primarily German clientele. We were the only Americans there during our stay, but the hotel staff speaks English, so we had no trouble communicating. We really enjoyed our time here. We stayed in one of the comfortable "loggia" rooms, which was spacious by European standards and about average size by US standards. It had a separate seating area and an beautiful view of the mountains.

The Gartenhotel Rosenhof is a fantastic place for families. The playground, pool, and bikes available for borrowing provide opportunities for outdoor fun. Inside, there is a playroom full of toys where my daughter enjoyed herself thoroughly. Spending time there helped keep her from getting bored with the few toys we had brought along on the trip.There is also a game hall with a piano, foosball, and pool table, and there are board games and cards in the lobby. In all, kids will have something to do regardless of their age or the weather.

The hotel staff do a great job of helping families through their events, recommendations, and overall attentiveness. Guests can opt in to their Monday night barbecues (about 15 Euro per adult, kids pay less), which we were a little sad to miss (we arrived on a Tuesday). Later on in the week, Alexia hosted a bonfire and sausage roast for the school-aged set. Anna and Alexia really know the area and have good suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants. They were super-hospitable throughout our stay. The evening we arrived, Alexia helped organize a restaurant delivery for us and some of the other guests so we wouldn't have to leave the hotel for dinner. When my daughter fell down (nothing serious, she just scared herself), Anna heard it: she came out to see if everything was OK and then came back with a balloon. Gestures like these definitely made us feel welcome and want to return someday.

For families with a car, the Gartenhotel Rosenhof's location is great: you're removed enough to feel like you're getting away from it all, but are within easy driving distance of lots of sights. The location might be a downside for families traveling without a car, though. The nearest train station is a couple of miles away in Kitzbuhel. Although the hotel can arrange pickups, options for getting around may be limited. It's probably about a 15-minute walk from the hotel to the restaurants and supermarket in Oberndorf. Getting to sights may require some coordination and planning. That said, avid hikers may not miss a car because they would be quite content with the nearby trails.

Air conditioning: no, but the weather while we were there in late July was such that we didn't really need it. Our room had 3 windows that opened. When our room was stuffy, it was because 2 of them had closed on their own (the other was a transom that stayed open). Maybe it was just the direction of the winds during our stay, but it would have been nice if there was something in the window mechanism to help it stay open.
Bathroom: shower with detachable head and handle, no tub. Some of the other room types have tubs.
Blow dryer: yes
Breakfast: included with the room. It was a good spread, with bacon, eggs, fruit, breads and jams, yogurt, and granola/muesli. There were also items that aren't associated with breakfast in the US, like cold cuts, cucumbers, and tomatoes. We especially liked the homemade jams! There is a high chair available in the dining room.
Crib: yes, pack'n'play type
Elevator: yes
Internet: free wifi in the lobby from 9 AM to noon and 6 PM to 9 PM. In-room, 24-hour access available for 15 euro/week.
Nearest playground: on the premises
Recommend to friends with young kids: definitely
Recommend to childless friends: yes--they may not use the playroom or playground, but they will appreciate everything else

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddlerTravelsAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have stayed at the Rosenhof for three consecutive summers. Each time we have loved the bright, clean feeling inside the hotel, the warmth and friendliness of the host family and staff, the recreational facilities and the vivid scenery and beautiful forest-purified mountain air. And the breakfasts and weekly barbecue. The children absolutely want to go back again. There is endless interest and fun to find in the region, whatever the weather. Thank you Alexa, Anna and Oma

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seangray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we were 5 families staying for 7 days during may. the apartments where excellent and very modern .the view from all the apartment was excellent. We had 1 penthouse partment for 2 families which was excelent. the host Anna and alexa where very freindly and helpful.
very near to kitzbuhel and other sightseeing location.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chirag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberndorf
0.8 mi away
Kaiserhotel Kitzbuhler Alpen
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzinghof
Hotel Penzinghof
#2 of 5 in Oberndorf
52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
714 reviews
3.7 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
492 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Rosenhof in Kitzbuehel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Rosenhof in Kitzbuehel

Property: Gartenhotel Rosenhof in Kitzbuehel
Address: Kreuzgasse 20 - 23 | 6372 Oberndorf in Tirol, Oberndorf 6372, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Oberndorf
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oberndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Rosenhof in Kitzbuehel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradise at the Edge of Kitzbuehel.Enjoy your holiday in a really outstanding sourrounding with view to the mountains. Inmids a 5000m2 garden with pool you find YOUR favourite accomodation: Panoramarooms - apartments - romantic chalets in the garden. Many hoteloffers are inclusive: pool, sauna, infraredcabon, fitness, bikes, coffee- and teebar, playroom, tabletennis, crosscountry equipment, sledges, WIFI and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gartenhotel Rosenhof in Kitzbuehel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing