We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Staffler(Niederau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Wastlhof(Niederau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Auhof(Niederau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Kellerwirt(Oberau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Austria(Niederau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
98
22
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
22
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdessert buffetnursery slopesski schoolexcellent hotelmusical entertainmentsouptable tennis tablesmall poolboiled eggspacked lunchsteam roomvillage locationlarge spar supermarketminor problemgreat view from the balconythemed eveningsjust returned from a week
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Whilst we were not guests staying in the hotel, this was our third meal at the Tirolerhof in Oberau and it didn’t disappoint. Apart from being family (and seniors) orientated, the quality, price and choice of local food could not be faulted.

The kids had first priority in receiving their meals which were on the table almost before they were able to start using the drawing/colouring materials provided by the friendly staff!

For real carnivores, I guess the biggest tip about this place is the ‘Bauernbuffet’ (farmers buffet) held each Wednesday night in addition to the regular a la carte offerings. This was the reason for our second and third occasion visits to the Tirolerhof restaurant. For around 14 Euros, you can have unlimited portions of top quality freshly carved in front of you roasted or grilled meats (veal leg, pork belly, lamb cutlets etc. on the evenings that we were there). There is also a wide range of local side dishes like cheese spaetzle, fried potatoes, sauerkraut and various fresh salads that make up the buffet. For around 2 Euros more, you can have the total package with soup and dessert included with the buffet but we skipped it this time because there were not enough notches in my belt to untighten :-)

The Wildschoenau region is not a huge area (say compared to Kitzbuehel) but a wonderful low key place in summer and winter for families and seniors in particular. We have now been here during both seasons and really enjoy the genuine Austrian hospitality shown. Ski lift ticket prices are very reasonable but snow conditions can be variable due to being a low-mid altitude resort area. In summer, with an official visitor’s card you can use the cable cars and swimming pool for free as well as receive many other discounts.

Particularly if you are staying in a holiday apartment or non ‘all inclusive/full pension’ accommodation in the region and want to treat yourselves without breaking the budget, don’t miss a meal at the Tirolerhof – especially the Wednesday dinner for meat lovers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OzFFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can only agree with previous reviews. This hotel is superb. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English! The food is delicious - I can't forget the barbecue evening, the farmers' evening and the dessert buffet evening. The rooms were very good. I think ours was one of the smaller rooms, but it was quite big enough and had a balcony with lovely views. The indoor swimming pool was also very good, with water jets to ease your aches and pains after a long day on the alps. Can't recommend this hotel and the surrounding area highly enough. just go and have a great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Heartily endorse the comments from the previous reviewer. We were on the same trip, and chose this hotel after reading reviews on tripadvisor. Beautiful, comfortable hotel in stunning scenery, welcoming staff, good food, including free packed lunch. Large room with balcony overlooking the views. Free safe and fridge. Four villages in the valley, all clean, organised, friendly and welcoming. Plenty of walks from easy (for beginners) to the more challenging, direct from the hotel, and good advice from Liz, the Inghams' rep. Have already recommended this place to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Hotel Tirolerohof ( Ingham's ) and can highly recommend both the hotel and the location. Martin ( Erharter ) and his family & staff provided a friendly & efficient service as well as good food and musical entertainment ( Martin is great on the guitar! ). Our room was very clean & pleasant with a sunny balcony which overlooked the small garden. The hotel is ideally situated for walking in beautiful Wildschonau and my husband and myself made the most of the "Wildschonau card" which provides free use of the cablecars as well as many other benefits. I also did a couple of the free guided walks which are bookable through the local tourist board. One in particular to the summit of the Gratlspitz was very demanding but well worthwhile doing if you have a reasonable level of fitness. Meanwhile my husband tackled all the high tops in the area however whilst the "Bummelbahn" is promoted by Liz, the Ingham's rep, and is fun to use, we would advise that you purchase a week's pass for the local bus instead ( 5 euros cheaper ) if you are a serious walker who wants to get away to the hills early and possibly back later as the times which the "Bummelbahn" runs are much more restrictive. We used both but the bus was definately the most convenient service.
Our flight with Flybe from Edinburgh to Innsbruck was delayed for three hours due to technical problems and then when we finally made it to Innsbruck we couldn't land for about 35 mins due to a very bad thunder storm over the airport so had to circle overhead until it passed over therefore it was about 11p.m. when we finally arrived at the hotel. Despite this we were all served a hot three course meal in the restaurant and made to feel as though we were valued guests. Needless to say we were very thankful and also very impressed! We would happily recommend this hotel and hope to return

Room Tip: Rooms over the front entrance and facing up the Valley towards Auffach are lovely and sunny in the evening which is mostly when we would sit out however if you are around the hotel during the day then the opposite side would be best. Best to be at the end furthest from the pool and play area though if you prefer it to be quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bovaglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Second visit in 12 months booked through Inghams. Travelled from Manchester to Salzburg, transfer about 2 hours.

Met on arrival by Martin the owner and given our room keys. Filedl in personal details for the local card which gives you free use of the 2 lifts, swimming pool, outdoor tennis courts and farmers museum

Room 107. First floor at front of hotel. No view but double balcony with parasol, 2 chairs and a table. Typical Austrian twin with lots of storage and hanging space. More than enough sockets, small LCD TV. All very clean and tidy.

Bathroom. Modern clean fully tiled bathroom with large corner shower unit, W.C, wash hand basin with mirror over, hairdryer. Towels changed if you request by leaving on the floor.

Food. Excellent choice and standard for breakfast and evening meals. (see my review for last year). Drinks were reasonably priced, large beer or radler euro 3.30 and wine started at euro 2.00 per glass or euro 4 for a ¼ carafe.

All the staff are extremely polite and helpful. A smile and a hello goes a long way. Reception staff nearly always remember your room number.

Good sauna and spar area. Swimming pool small but very welcome after a warm days walking.

Excellent walking from the hotel door.

Oberau is a very small quiet village with few shops but does have a bakery, spar, banks, sports shop, cafe and deli along with a few restaurants and hotels. It's not like Mayrhofen or Kitzbuhel but then that's it's unique selling point to me. (Although i am fond of both Mayrhofen and Kitzbuhel!)

Would return and would recommend.

Thank you family Erharter and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank georgedoorsscores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews