We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel, well-run, in a stunning location with excellent meals”
Review of Walisgaden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walisgaden
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Damuls
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, well-run, in a stunning location with excellent meals”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is located 250 meters above Damuels and 1000 meters above the Au-Schoppenau valley, so the air is cool even on warm days . We booked a premium room which had a spectacular view down the valley to the Rote Wand mountain (which turns pink on sunny days in the afternoon). The same views can be enjoyed from the pleasant sun terrace. The hotel is far up winding roads and, as flatlanders, I would not want to reach it at night or in bad weather. The Walisgaden was built in 1998 on the site of an older hotel and some parts of the older hotel are beautifully incorporated into the restaurant in the “Bauernstube”, where we had our meals. The hotel is in excellent condition and run very efficiently by a very accommodating and pleasant staff. We booked with meals which are well worth the additional cost as they are delicious. The breakfast had the usual extensive selection of meats and cereals, though only one cheese which seemed odd since this region is famous for its cheeses. Our room was very nice with a stone and old wood décor, plus fifteen foot wood-beamed ceilings. The bathroom was modern. Parking is adequate. The hotel has poor TV reception and no newspapers or magazines so bring reading material if you expect any free time.
Hiking trails were not well marked near the hotel, and hiking can be strenuous since at this elevation they are mostly up and down. The Bregrenzerwald card gives free access to buses and a few lifts in the region, including Damuels. We used the card for a free bus trip to Bregenz and back. Note that it is convenient to drive to Au and take the bus from there, since from Au the bus travels almost hourly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Go2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Rooms are decent, clean, practical. The best part is that the hotel is located at the top of the village so the view is fantastic from the restaurant where you can enjoy a good breakfast.
Damuls is in the part of Austria which gets the most snow. We were there at the end of July and bingo....it snowed ! But it is a great feeling to stay in a place where it feels surreal. Not only the hotel location, but also the weather, the atmosphere, the colors, the fact that it is so quiet and so ....lost !
A great place to get a good sleep, forget about the pollution, pressure from work and all.
Voralberg is the most typical region in Austria, and Walisgaden is a great place to stay to discover its wonders.

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the same direction as restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Excellent location halfway down the piste, wonderful to start a day skiing on fresh corduroy. Rooms clean and reasonably spacious, pleasnt public spaces. Pleasant friendly staff. Restaurant a major disappointment for the price; breakfast fruit juice cheap, watery coffee. Evening meals little choice on menu, mains less than exciting, most food tasted as if out of a catering pack rather than freshly prepared. A huge irritation was that our group of 4 was expected to take the evening meal at a time to suit the owner. On a couple of evenings we were told to be at the table for 18:00 or 18:30, as there was a large external group coming and she needed all the tables! Particularly galling when other apparently non-residents were accomodated at 20:00. We were given a complementary 'special' meal the last night by way of compensation, but it didn't wholly compensate.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank civjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I have just enjoyed a very pleasant week's skiing staying half board with my family at the Gasthof Walisgaden. It is a modern hotel built in the traditional style perched at 1700m half way up the slopes in the Austrian Vorarlberg resort of Damuls. We had a comfortable two bedroomed apartment within the main hotel which was clean and comfortable although rather sparsely furnished. The views from the windows were spectacular. The hotel has a pleasant spa with sauna and steam room which we didn't use and a masseur who visits twice weekly. The four course evening meal was excellent and the waiting staff attentive.
We were the only English people staying at the hotel last week .We got by as non German speakers but only the owner, Haike, was fluent in English. In fact we hardly heard another English voice in the resort all week which was quite a novelty.
One thing we felt the hotel lacked was a lounge area with soft furnishings to relax in after skiing or dinner. There is a small room with tables pressed into service as an overflow dining area which is not particularly comfortable but nothing else. The bar area is part of the main dining room.
Being whisked up the pistes with our bags on a skidoo to reach the hotel was a big thrill for the kids and for me if I'm honest.
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel but bring a phrase book.
The resort of Damuls itself is a hidden gem, at least for the British.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We have been staying in this family run hotel for years. As we are travelling around in the world quite a lot and alos are hotel owners ourselves we have a lot of expereinces of hotels. This hotel, the staff, the owners are simply great. The hotel is well run, clean and the food and beverage operation is excellent and much better than you can expect for a hotel like this. On top of this the hotel the best possible location for skiers or summer walkers. We are rating the hotel second to none and will most definately come back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porsche2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Damuls hotels
0.8 mi away
Alpinresort Damuls
Alpinresort Damuls
#1 of 7 in Damuls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpenhotel Mittagspitze
1.4 mi away
Berghotel Madlener
Berghotel Madlener
#4 of 7 in Damuls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Brunnenhof
Aparthotel Brunnenhof
#5 of 7 in Damuls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Damuelser Hof
Hotel Damuelser Hof
#3 of 7 in Damuls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenblume
Hotel Alpenblume
#2 of 7 in Damuls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walisgaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walisgaden

Property: Walisgaden
Address: Uga 99, Damuls 6884, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Damuls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Damuls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walisgaden 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walisgaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing