We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tiskita Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa Bambu Resort(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
110
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestssan josehowler monkeyscosta ricashort walkjungle lodgerainforest experienceocean viewa special placeowners and stafftropical paradisenight walklove wildlifeboogie boardingfront porchplenty of spacehorseback rides
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

This place is simply amazing! If you love wildlife this is THE place to come.

We have spent over a month in Costa Rica on two years of holiday and have stated at some lovely places - including Paloma lodge in Drakes bay, and Gaia lodge in manuel Antonio. But this has been our best experience in Costa Rica.

What makes this place different is that it is much closer to nature. It is a bit of a treck to get to - but the cabins here really are in the middle of the jungle and we saw squirrel monkeys regularly in the tree next to our hut and were woken most mornings by the Howler monkeys! We saw scarlet macaws nesting, owls on branches in the woods - and as well as having superb guided walks, the trails are so extensive that we could walk for 2-3 hours each morning alone, without seeing a soul. The beach just outside the reserve is similarly deserted with lovely warm water we enjoyed swimming in. And the family who run Tiskita are just lovely - and very welcoming.

You'll read in other reviews that Tiskita isn't 'luxury'. It's not, but it's still very nice, with spacious hardwood cabins, very clean, with comfortable beds, warm showers, wifi, a pool, hammocks to sit in outside your cabin, and honesty bar... And virtually mosquito free. There was nothing we felt was missing.

I would recommend Tiskita extremely highly to anyone who wants a relaxing, friendly place to really see Costa Rican wildlife.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

tiskita is a remote lodge not far from the Panama Border but well worth the effort to visit. alana (the daughter of the owner Peter) recommended that we fly a charter from San Jose into their private airstrip ( a grass strip that my boys thought looked like a short par 4). She set it all up for us and it was easy and the right call as the flight was an amazing way to see the countryside. They were waiting for us when we landed and from that moment Clyde (the owners son) took fabulous care of us. Our cabin was rustic nothing fancy but with a great view of the jungle and wildlife and outdoor bathrooms to view monkeys while showering if you are lucky. (it is the jungle and you need to be on the lookout for spiders). The porch also had two hammocks and 3 bats hanging which by day two we thought of as our friends. We cooled off in the fresh water pools, had a great hike with clyde where we saw sloths and a group of howlers including a mother, baby and teenager. We saw lots of toucans and a group of 30 squirril monkeys. The best part is we were seeing all this with no crowds. Just us or one or two other guests. We also did the horseback riding with a finish along the beach and boogy boarding. Some guests did the fishing trip and we all ate the fish they caught that night. We did the night hike with Clyde, which was awesome! He is so knowledgable and made frog and snake spotting fun even for us city slickers. We could have used one one more day to explore the surfing or fishing options out of Pavonnes. The food was good, dont expect gourmet, but very tasty and just the right amount. My only complaint is that there is no netting around the beds so at night you cannot have any light on to read because the bugs come to the light. I would go back, i found it a relaxing remote spot to really experience costa rica at its best.

Room Tip: If i went back i would choose one of the rooms up past the lodge like 6 or 1,2,3
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agfmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Unless you charter a flight, it is a bit time consuming to get to, but it is worth the time and effort. It is truly beautiful with wonderful plants and animals. We had great hikes and got to see many birds, insects, frogs, animals, etc. It has a lovely pool with a resident sloth as well as many visiting reptiles. The food was plentiful and the local produce great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed for 3 days at Tiskita Lodge in November. It is the proper jungle experience the one that we expected in Costa Rica. If you have to drive in it can take up to 2 hours to get there from the main road but it is well worth it. Clyde and Peter gave us a lot of time on guided walks and discussions over meals. The cabins overlook the Pacific Ocean and monkeys and Toucans wake you in the morning. Sloths occupied the tree outside the restaurant/bar. Do not expect luxury but it is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We got back from CR a couple of weeks ago. This is a great lodge with intimate setting. A true jungle location with lots of wildlife (coati, squirrel monkeys, macaws, hummingbirds) and great hikes. The owner's son provided us some great info about the property and lead a great night hike. Food was average and on a tight schedule, so thus the 4 rating, otherwise would have been a 5.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BetterThanIDeserve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews