We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tiskita Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$661
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$641
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
US$370
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Purruja Lodge(Golfito)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
110
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestssan josehowler monkeyscosta ricashort walkjungle lodgerainforest experienceocean viewa special placeowners and stafftropical paradisenight walklove wildlifeboogie boardingfront porchplenty of spacehorseback rides
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to visit Tiskita Jungle Lodge, in Costa Rica. Getting there was half the fun as we flew into Tiskita’s private air strip on a Cessna six-seater airplane.

The lodge is situated just up the hill from the Punto Banco beach, in the middle of a rainforest teeming with spectacular colourful birds, and monkeys who are always glad to put on a show. The 17 spotlessly clean cabins are all privately nestled amid the lush greenery, have spectacular views of the ocean, and feature very comfortable rooms, private bathrooms and private deck. You can choose to relax in your hammock on your private deck, walk the several trails through the rainforest, snorkel in the tide pools or relax on the beach. One of our favourite activities was the horseback ride through the jungle, up to the ridge and along the beach, led by our wonderful guide Pablo.
The lodge is run by the Aspinall family. They are involved in every aspect of the running of their business. Transportation to the lodge from San Jose was efficiently organized by Alanna. Clyde leads most of the guided walks and is most knowledgeable and very passionate about all things involving the animals, birds, vegetation and lands surrounding Tiskita. Liz Beth oversees everything from the kitchen staff to leading bird watching walks in the early morning.
Tiskita Jungle Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature at its finest. We can heartily recommend it to anyone who would like to experience the rainforest and beaches of Costa Rica in a friendly, family-run resort.
Thank you Aspinall family for making our stay in Tiskita enjoyable and memorable.

Bob and Carm Gray

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Marina and I left DC behind, Grant NYC, and Bekah, the mid-East. We stepped into a renewing jungle after a small aircraft flight from San Jose that landed on the horse's pasture. "Take the jeep up to the lodge?" No way, and so we walked up to the lodge catching site of amazing hummingbirds , Macaws, and the white faced monkey.... and that was the first 10 minutes.

Just add the cabins with individual outside showers and bathrooms, breezes from the ocean, a family led yoga session on the platform overlooking the ocean at sunset, multiple hikes in the jungle, good food, and a 3 hour beach (and yes we let them run) and ridgeline horse ride provided the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: The fitness center was walking the paths in the jungle, boogey boarding the waves, or opening a coconut using local ways. No need to look for machines. We liked having 3 cabins on one platform as we were a family. Others may like the individual cabins if not related.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We loved our time at this remote lodge where our cabin nestled in the jungle with no other building in sight. On walks between cabin & lodge we met other animals strolling the paths such as agoutis, coatis, iguanas. We never tired of hiking the trails, the beach or swimming in the ocean. A beautiful horseback ride was another highlight. The ingenious and creative Aspinall family was always welcoming and ready to identify creatures we saw, from birds to spiders. Son Clyde has encyclopedic knowledge of the family, and daughter Alana organized our somewhat complicated travel arrangements to perfection. Mother Lisbeth is still excited to watch birds with visitors. Their constant efforts to enhance the lodge and cabins, make the guests comfortable, as well as to preserve the environment in Costa Rica are an inspiration.
Julie and Jerry

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A very special place. You're made to feel part of the Aspinall family as soon as you arrive. The cabin was very spacious and the huge balcony overlooking the jungle and ocean gave lots of opportunity for watching the birds and monkeys. Within five minutes of arriving at our cabin, we had a welcome committe of 4 scarlet macaws and a monkey falling on our roof! We were often accompanied to the dining room by iguanas and halloween crabs. The food was excellent and we loved the big table where we were able to chat with other guests and often the family as we all ate together.
The trails were extremely well marked so you can walk them yourself, but walks with Clyde and Lizbeth were amazing- in the fruit orchard, the rainforest and the night 'frog walk'. Their vast knowledge and love of their environment was amazing and we saw and learnt so much.
Three nights were definitely not enough and we hope one day to return.
Thank you Peter, Lizbeth, Clyde and Alana for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: If possible, a room overlooking the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy and Denni... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Amazing pacific views from each cabina, delicious food, hundreds of monkeys, lot of bird species, relly nice services, lot of trails and the main thing...the family that cares about the place, engaged in the nature conservation, almost 40 years of reforestation adn fauna atractions!!! Great people, great place....surelly I will come back...

Room Tip: All apartments have ocean view and are isolated!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PauloChaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews