We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soulless hotel, worst bed ever”
Review of Savanbanhao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savanbanhao Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Savannakhet
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We spent 2 nights here in the most expensive room. It was spacious but a little unclean and the bed was way to hard. It felt like sleeping on a table!
The staff was ok, although english was barely spoken.
We wouldn´t recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

so I was there one with my friend Anna was from Cannada we were there for 2 nights it was good view and loccation .it's easy for working out to the town and river side .all the convenien were ok there but there was a thing as I would like to tell to the hotel manager that , the staffs as reception were not helpful and can't English speaking much as the welcomer , so on scond day Anna got information from Mr AMPORN,he was a guide he took us by his car to sault mine forest ,Inghung stupa and so good view at the Bungwa lake with smootly beer lao also look around the town at the old house buiding, Anna was so good with her Guide because AMPORN was so good English speaking for her ,,and back to the hotel over night at Savanbanhao hotel the room were still not clean enough as the hotel , the bed was so hard and noisy ,if you could manage this thing .then you will get more income and be the one in town of Savannakhet

Room Tip: should get the upper price room you will get the large room and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank praon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

When we arrived the staff just could not be bothered and were slumped in reception. Asking to see the rooms was not met with much of a welcome. We chose the 'best' rooms at 95000 kip which means hot water, an old unplugged fridge and tv. Bedding is clean on the upside. But the rooms are old and the bathroom had mold and was not clean. Over the road a karaoke kicks off in the evening so you need earplugs. After that stopped some people were trying to find a room with blaring tv. Couldn't wait to leave, awful. Looked like some other better hotels in town when we walked round.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The bus from Hue pulled up outside this guesthouse and, thinking I'd probably only stay for one night I took one of the cheapest single rooms here. As it was I stayed here for two nights, not really considering moving elsewhere for the second night.

The location is about as good it can be in Savannakhet given the layout of the city, close to bars, shops and cafes and about a 15 minute walk from the riverside. There are quite a few dodgy territory-guarding dogs out in the evenings on some of the other streets but none that were too scary on the streets immediately around the guesthouse. The service was generally good, the staff spoke fairly good English and were helpful in storing my bag at check-out time, although they were not able to order me a tuk-tuk to get to the bus station for the night bus to Vientiane - there aren't many tuk-tuks about here in the evening!

The room, in building '4', was a good size, with decent air-con, and cleanliness was OK for a budget guesthouse; though the bathroom was a bit past its best. The TV worked OK and I watched a Premier League football match on there (albeit with over-dubbed commentary).

Not bad at all.

Room Tip: Leave plenty of time to get a tuk-tuk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IJGrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

They had several different types of rooms and I selected the 2nd class room as the 1st class were all taken and the others they showed me looked a bit scary. I paid 115,000 Kip.

Room was very large. The center of the room was very clean but the seemed to miss the corners and any area they had to reach to access.

TV had CNN and HBO and a few other English stations which was a pleasant surprise.

Bed was hard. Towels were worn beyond their expected use. I stayed 3 days and they never once came in to clean the room or change towels. They also said that the room imcluded breakfast but they only gave me 1 coupon although I paid for 3 days. Not a big concern and the breakfast was not special. Breakfast was coffee or tea, eggs, bread. 7:30-9:00 am only though. Breakfast was served across the street at a building which doubles as a night club at night although while I love night clubs I didn't like this one. Local music, and dark for a reason as I used the light on my phone to see what they were trying to hide in the dark and I discovered that the glass they serves my beer in was waaay beyond filthy to a point that they must have been trying to mess with me I thought and tons of huge roaches all over the place. There were some attractive women there though but they didn't look too interested.

So with all these bad things why might I recommend this place? I found the staff to be incredibly nice and helpful. Each time I went to ask them about something they seemed to go way out of their way to help. One night I was looking for something to do and they even had a staff take me to the disco and wait to take me back. That and other things they did made me have to recommend this place.

And yes, you heard right, there is a disco in town but it's not recommended as fights break our there daily I hear and when we went it was just 5 minutes before a huge fight occurred.



So with all these

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This hotel has 4 standards of room ranging from 65000kip to 95000. Even though we paid the little bit extra im not quite sure what we got for the money. We had a tv which was advertised as having english cannels but unless you like to watch english channels without sound then there was none as they had all been dubbed in various asian languages. The bed was the hardest thing i have ever slept on in my life. The rooms were clean enough but it seemed to be a case of clean the centre of the floor and ignore the edges. There are a couple of niceish restaurants close by. Its ideally located when arriving from Hue but i see very little point in hanging around in this town my advise would be to get over the border or move onto paske or vientaine after a nights sleep. I would advise going for the basic room and saving your money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxemilycxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Out of the 5 Savannakhet hotels I've tried this one stands out a mile. It looks a bit odd from the outside which might put some people off, as it consists of 4 separate buildings built around a concrete yard, but in each building are large, polished wooden floored, fully equipped clean rooms for between $6-$11. For $11 you get a large room with separate lounge area, 2 double beds, huge bathroom (bigger than some entire budget bedrooms), aircon, satellite TV & large fridge. For $6 you get the same standard but a smaller room without the fridge and TV - but still the aircon. Great value - give it a try. 5 minutes walk from the river.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannakhet hotels
44 mi away
Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel
Daosavanh Resort & Spa Hotel
#1 of 8 in Savannakhet
91 reviews
40.3 mi away
Savan Vegas Hotel & Casino
Savan Vegas Hotel & Casino
#4 of 8 in Savannakhet
53 reviews
0 mi away
Sai Ngeun Hotel
Sai Ngeun Hotel
#17 of 41 in Savannakhet
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
Avalon Residence
Avalon Residence
#3 of 41 in Savannakhet
73 reviews
43.7 mi away
Vivanouk
Vivanouk
#2 of 41 in Savannakhet
57 reviews
43.6 mi away
Pilgrim's Kitchen & Inn
Pilgrim's Kitchen & Inn
#1 of 41 in Savannakhet
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savanbanhao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanbanhao Hotel

Address: Senna Road | Khanthabuly District, Savannakhet 1300, Laos
Region: Laos > Savannakhet Province > Savannakhet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Savannakhet
Price Range: £11 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savanbanhao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing