We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undecided”
Review of Big Roy's Resto - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Roy's Resto
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Undecided”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I went here for dinner on recommendations from some locals. This was 10 weeks after typhoon Yolanda hit. so i'm giving it the benefit of the doubt. I was less than impressed with the food; having said that many of the local places were out of stock and struggling to cater for guests. the ambiance of the place was nice and rustic. staff were very friendly. Prices were reasonable. If i'm ever back in the area on a non typhoon related visit; I'll give it another go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamjar136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food but quite pricey”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

they serve us rda steaks and similar quality food but the prices are steep for a small city like ormoc. however, the food is cooked well and the service is acceptable.
for the price however, i would prefer to cook at home :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank openlancelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Big Roy's”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Good food choices. Nice ambience. Great staff. And yes, delicious food. We love the new location. Lami gud. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allcurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutch Harbor, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The wife and I went to Big Roy's just before Christmas last year. The restaurant is clean, everything advertised on the menu was in stock and the food was very good. A little expensive for Ormoc but because the food was good and the place has a pleasant atmosphere I recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orkney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

i tasted steak and chips in this place , my wife had prawns , very busy fresh food , good to see s good eatery in Ormoc

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willieOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Roy's Resto also viewed

Ormoc, Leyte Province
Ormoc, Leyte Province
 
Ormoc, Leyte Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing