We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's MY hotel when in Tacloban”
Review of Hotel Alejandro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tacloban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Alejandro
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Hotel Alejandro is a smoke-free, 4-story, 3-star hotel within walking distance of the city centre, located on a quiet side-street. The u-shaped main hotel envelopes an elegant old wooden Filipino house which contains a small shop and meeting rooms. The house was used as the WW-II US military headquarters during the famous "return" of General MacArthur. In fact the whole hotel is adorned with genuine and original framed war-time photos. You can spend hours roaming in what is essentially a free museum!

The ground floor of the main building (at the base of the "U" shape) hosts the reception area, which includes various tables and chairs where you may enjoy drinks and snacks while reading a complimentary newspaper or accessing Wi-Fi (not available in the bedrooms). A small but nicely appointed coffee shop, with an adjoining over-flow or meeting room, sits beside reception and offers all meals along with a good selection of delectable sweets. There is limited parking for cars and motorcycles with adequate overflow parking directly across the street. Tacloban is a very peaceful and safe city; but there is armed 24*7 security at the entrance anyway.

The reception staff seem just friendly / just helpful enough; but the reservation "system" (a stack of handwritten chits hopefully filed by date) and email booking are dodgy. Book by phone and ask for the reference number of the chit they will hopefully be writing-up as your booking. The staff in the restaurant seem slightly past their sell-by date, showing toothless smiles and slow and forgetful service.

The upper floors can be accessed by the single lift or the lovely curved staircase. The second floor has bedrooms and a multi-function space suitable for a smallish wedding or conference or for several smaller meetings. Third and fourth floors are bedrooms and there is a rooftop space I have never had occassion to visit.

I prefer the cheaper Standard Room, with double or twin beds, because these are located along the arms of the "U"; with rooms along one side and an open-air passage allowing good light and fresh air. The rooms are basic with dressing table & mirror, closet, small cable TV, hot & cold shower, toilet and hand basin. The De Luxe rooms have an additional single bed and sitting area. The rooms and linen are tired, but generally clean. Check everything is working to your satisfaction upon arrival at your room and ask to see another room if you are not satisfied.

A two block walk, turning right from the hotel entrance, will take you to the main road out of the city centre; where Suzuki multi-cabs and traditonal Jeepneys ply their routes to Robinsons shopping centre, the airport and the new central bus & van terminal. Turn left for one block and get on the main tricycle route to everywhere else in town. Ask for directions from the friendly commuters you will encounter.

In many ways Tacloban is more advanced (civilised?) than the average Philippines provincial capitol. There is a very workable one-way system for the in-city transport (mentioned above) which keeps the motorised tricycles off the main roads and the buses out of the city centre completely. But be careful, if you are caught jay-walking by one of the many orange-shirted traffic enforcers, you will be fined on-the-spot. Use the well-marked and generally respected cross-walks on every corner.

The city center has two locations of the famously provincial Guaisano department store, where it's an extreme case of "pile-em high and sell-em cheap"; surrounded by many small "taiwanese" shops selling everthing under the sun - all of which are of  dubious quality and origin. There are plenty of the usual chain restaurants and a few very good local restaurants (genuine Italian, Chinese, Mexican, seafood and Filipino) and a variety of live entertainment bars and kareokes.

I have had many overnight stays in Tacloban over the past five years, on my way to the excellent scuba diving sites in S. Leyte (that's another story), and I have settled on Hotel Alejandro as "my hotel". Maybe you will too. But book ahead, as it fills-up fast!

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room for good light and fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank SaranganiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

Guys, you are going to Tacloban. So adjust your expectations. Don't think you will find Shangri-La levels of comfort and service in the back-of-beyond. For Tacloban, and for a one night stay, I found this hotel to be more than adequate. My room, my bathroom, and my bedsheets were clean, if worn. No roaches scuttling along the floor or bugs flying through the air. The aircon worked. Noise at night was kept to a reasonable level. The breakfast was quite tasty and varied. This is all I could wish for in this small Filipino city - this is no "resort" hotel, but if you have to stay in Tacloban, then it should be on your - very short - shortlist.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frédéric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

we stay in hotel alejandro 4days for a short vacatoin in tacloban leyte with my family its a nice hotel service is good the food is excellent cleana and the people working there are friendly we are satisfied our stay thereeven its a short vacation we love it and its affordable.and we injoy the turest places in tcloban..if we have a time togo back n tacloban we still choice to stay in hotel alejandro again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerryo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

For the Philippines, this is a good hotel. Hot water. Nice location. Attentive staff. The best part is the City, so different from Manila. Quieter, kinder, cleaner, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZAXIBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The TV sucked!.....BUZZZZZ .... but otherwise everything was great! Good attentive service, happy waiters and waitresses, great food and close to just about anything you wanted in the downtown area. Good facilities for meetings and special events on 2nd floor and rooftop! WiFi was only in the lobby but it was solid signal - good enough for Skype to anywhere! Go to Lions Den for snacks or lunch and drinks. Go to Leyte Park for Linda! but stay at the Alejandro for good food and sleeping! They are at the top of MY list for places to stay on my next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry_Leizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stayed here 3 days before Xmas 2009 as a stop over from manila while heading up to Leyte to spend time with wifes Family .. Found the Hotel to be ok for short visits... wouldnt make a long stay out of it.. At the time we stayed the lift wasnt working from ground level, so to get your bags to room a bellboy had to walk the stairs to the first floor and then bring it down to ground floor.. didnt worry us to much the excercise we got walking up the stairs to our room on the second floor probably did us some good anyway..Found the staff very polite and helpfull, Rooms were ok a little more attention in house cleaning wouldnt have gone amiss but still in all clean and livable.. Resturant was quaint.. did find that the time from order to having the plate on table took a bit of time, but nothing to get to fussed about.. all in all a very nice and comfortable place to stay.. would recommend to any one who is useing Tacloban as a stop over to somewhere else.. as we will again Feb 2011

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Des_Josie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The positive: The restaurant serves good food and has good service. Rooms were spacious and floors were clean.
the negatives: stinky rooms and bed sheets and pillow case.Check the bathrooms..before unpacking...the bathroom of my first room smelled like urine and had my room changed. The over-all room smells moldy. The bedsheets and pillow cases were stinky! My showerhead was colour black from the molds. I didn't have hot water.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towardstheflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
0.7 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#9 of 21 in Tacloban
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tacloban Plaza Hotel
Tacloban Plaza Hotel
#14 of 21 in Tacloban
38 reviews
2.9 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alejandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alejandro

Address: Paterno Street, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Alejandro Hotel Tacloban
Hotel Alejandro Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing