We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the location says it all”
Review of Asia Stars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asia Stars Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Reviewed 28 March 2012

i have stayed here for 3 nights. it has the best location among all hotels in tacloban city. it is within reach to anything you possibly need. facilities are just fine - the normal provincial 3 star hotel. they have free wifi in the lobby. their restaurant however is over priced by about 200-300% compared to what you can get in restaurants outside.

Room Tip: my room was at the second floor right after the elevator. it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nik_rielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

good location. it is at the heart of the city. you can go anywhere from this location. they have lots of tricycle around. tricycles can go routes.

the room is ok. small. with aircon, tv & T&B. but, no ref. one time. the elevator is broken. me and my wife have no choice. but, to use stairs to go up. :(

a little bit noisy at night. the tricycle have an illegal terminal (only at night) just across the street. since, it's at the heart of the city. well, can't complain on that. I already knew it. just want to share it with tripadvisor readers. I've stayed here for 5 times already.

the staffs are ok. not great. just ok.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kerwin225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my wife and we cant recommend this place.
Location is ok and staff is nice, BUT room is overpriced, small, old and some rooms dont have wifi. Next time i will go some other hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tyomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

for a week stay it was ok. When we arrived the room was very small, there is some security thing with the lights and the showe smelled like urine. We went out bought bathroom clearner and did a good cleaning ourselves. Everything is basic in the room. A tiny desk with a broke chair, big old tv right snugged up again the front door. really didnt fit on a table. Really no walking room in the room closet size to be exact. We were just a couple but still was small. Water worked fine. The air conditioner is right at ur face near the bed could just reach other and turn it off so we would get cold quickly.

You can request laundry but it take maybe 2 days. so get it in early. Its done by hand and it was not bad when we got it back.

Didnt trust the hotel pretty much so we took all our valueable with us when we went out. Busy downtown area. 3 Theaters only in the Robinson mall. Food places are yes and noes...to your choice. Just a quick stay for us until we headed back to manila to go home. We were just there to visit family in Biliran.

One other thing is the picture on this add is not the hotel u will stay it. So that is a false statement right there. Dont be fooled. It is smack dead in the middle fo Tacloban city downtown and no trees around, just small shops small mall near by with is not bad and tiny sidewalks with alot of people.

Room Tip: Maybe you want to request them to give you a Big room. When we booked it was pretty much a last min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miguel863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

whenever I get to tacloban, I choose to stay at Asia stars hotel but the last time I stayed there, they had no towel... they just offered me top sheets, :( and no rug so the floor gets stinky easily.... very slow service... u still have to wait for an hour to get ur order on hand... and the receptionists not that accommodating..... they look like they have problems...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 407Eun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Everything in the are just simple and basic, but the location is in the center of the city. Shopping, eating, malling are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are quite noisy for light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Just a simple basic downtown hotel, no frills. Very basic room, no refrigerator. Clean rooms, little water pressure, small very thin towels.
Were able to give little information about surrounding area. Was able to contact taxi/driver for touring.
Even thought downtown location, rooms away from street are quiet. Some minor renovations going on during stay, painting rooms.
Very basic coffee shop and will deliver room service.
Downtown location, close to other restaurant and a mall.
Sometimes get wi-fi in room, if not, then good access in hotel lobby or coffee shop.
Only place to make reservation is by phone, no website access.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milehigh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
0.8 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#10 of 21 in Tacloban
146 reviews
3 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tacloban
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estrella
Hotel Estrella
#4 of 21 in Tacloban
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Stars Hotel

Address: P. Zamora Street, Tacloban, Leyte Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Price Range: £22 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asia Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Asia Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Stars Hotel Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing