We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low price hotel good location”
Review of Asia Stars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asia Stars Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
Denton tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Low price hotel good location”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is a lovely hotel with Medium size rooms. In suite bath rooms with its own hot water heater. The service in this hotel was amazing, almost along the lines of the bigger hotels in Manila. Staff always ready to assist you in close to anyway possible.

Cons: second floor interior rooms over look car port. very noisy and dripping sounds from the a/c above might keep you awake if light sleeper. Water build up from a/c units mentioned above will attract mosquito.(they feasted on me one night)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulA851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
12
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

The service is bad since they made me just go to my room w/o assistance and the room lights were busted when i got there. I had to call several times before they finally fixed it! I also plugged in my ipod in a socket and it blew up! I complained to the staff they just cleaned it up! I pitty the next hotel guest who plugs in their gadget!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siberianhuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tacloban hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel is not the best Tacloban has to offer, but it is budget friendly and is right smack in the middle of the town proper. The hotel provides basic toilettries (soap as small as a matchbox and shampoo that wouuld make your hair super stiff and dry that we had to buy at the grocery across and have these reimbursed from our company) I'd suggest that travelers should not expect much from the hotel since this is a budget type/motel like place. It would be best to just B-Y-O stuff.

In July 2006 the hotel was right across Shakeys pizza place and an internet cafe. It was a great experience, slow paced simple life in the province of Taclobanons.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the corridors since this room is like a motel, expats sometimes frequent the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anythingoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

i have stayed here for 3 nights. it has the best location among all hotels in tacloban city. it is within reach to anything you possibly need. facilities are just fine - the normal provincial 3 star hotel. they have free wifi in the lobby. their restaurant however is over priced by about 200-300% compared to what you can get in restaurants outside.

Room Tip: my room was at the second floor right after the elevator. it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nik_rielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

good location. it is at the heart of the city. you can go anywhere from this location. they have lots of tricycle around. tricycles can go routes.

the room is ok. small. with aircon, tv & T&B. but, no ref. one time. the elevator is broken. me and my wife have no choice. but, to use stairs to go up. :(

a little bit noisy at night. the tricycle have an illegal terminal (only at night) just across the street. since, it's at the heart of the city. well, can't complain on that. I already knew it. just want to share it with tripadvisor readers. I've stayed here for 5 times already.

the staffs are ok. not great. just ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerwin225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eura, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my wife and we cant recommend this place.
Location is ok and staff is nice, BUT room is overpriced, small, old and some rooms dont have wifi. Next time i will go some other hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tyomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

for a week stay it was ok. When we arrived the room was very small, there is some security thing with the lights and the showe smelled like urine. We went out bought bathroom clearner and did a good cleaning ourselves. Everything is basic in the room. A tiny desk with a broke chair, big old tv right snugged up again the front door. really didnt fit on a table. Really no walking room in the room closet size to be exact. We were just a couple but still was small. Water worked fine. The air conditioner is right at ur face near the bed could just reach other and turn it off so we would get cold quickly.

You can request laundry but it take maybe 2 days. so get it in early. Its done by hand and it was not bad when we got it back.

Didnt trust the hotel pretty much so we took all our valueable with us when we went out. Busy downtown area. 3 Theaters only in the Robinson mall. Food places are yes and noes...to your choice. Just a quick stay for us until we headed back to manila to go home. We were just there to visit family in Biliran.

One other thing is the picture on this add is not the hotel u will stay it. So that is a false statement right there. Dont be fooled. It is smack dead in the middle fo Tacloban city downtown and no trees around, just small shops small mall near by with is not bad and tiny sidewalks with alot of people.

Room Tip: Maybe you want to request them to give you a Big room. When we booked it was pretty much a last min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
1.0 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 20 in Tacloban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#8 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 20 in Tacloban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#9 of 20 in Tacloban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosvenil Pensione
Rosvenil Pensione
#10 of 20 in Tacloban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Stars Hotel

Property: Asia Stars Hotel
Address: P. Zamora Street, Tacloban, Leyte Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asia Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asia Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Stars Hotel Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing