We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting place!”

Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Tacloban
Attraction details
Malolos, Bulacan, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“interesting place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The museum has entrance fee's I think my mom paid Php 200 for 3 persons it also includes your payment for the tour guide and there's a fee if you bring camera with you.

when we arrived in here, I didn't really know what I am going to see inside.
Looking from the outside, you'll think that, the place is just small. but upon entering and touring inside it, i think it took us an hour to wander around the museum.

what you'll see inside it was the memorabilia's of the Marcos' family. Lot's of things/stuffs in there! Antique piano, portraits, very big rooms, etc. The grand ballroom hall amused me a lot! the room was huge! and felt like I went back to year 1900's..

Some of the antique things we're already ruined. poor things..

try to visit this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nizareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    24
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
laguna, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“treasure!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

entrance is at Php200 for first 3 persons which includes a knowledgeable tour guide, Php50 for extra persons; camera fee of Php30. You first enter a chapel that has an ivory Sto. Nino and a brass tabernacle in banig design; the walls are also in banig design. there are 8 bedrooms with various motif and a diorama of Imelda marcos' life. The Malang paintings I enjoyed very much http://www.geringerart.com/bios/santos.html! There were also alot of Chinese jars. The firefly room I enjoyed very much and the ceilings- I dont know how Mrs Marcos was able to think of these designs and motifs in the 80s?! The murals were of Italian marble and local artists to depict Jesus and Mary. Beautiful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Imelda 's Place”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Today I visited what is called Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum. The shrine part plays a back seat to the excesses of Imelda. Incredible that it was never even slept in. It has over 20 guest rooms on the ground floor. Family quarters that were never used are upstairs around the ballroom. The guide said there is no estimate as to its cost. Lots of interesting furniture and pieces from other countries. Worth an hour or less of your time since there are not many sights to see in the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ptyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“The Excesses of the Marcos Years defined!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The old shrine that capped the excess of Mrs. Marcos is now free for us to see! I just hope the government who manages it won't let it rot. It's a cultural heritage that we need to preserve and let the next generation know the history of the Marcos Dictatorship!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crispypata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affluence at its best...”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Was amazed with the idea on how they managed to preserve such treasures...going around the place was quite entertaining and fascinating though sometimes spooky....worth it...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martika1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum also viewed

Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 
Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 

Been to Sto. Nino Shrine and Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing