We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Z Pad Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Z Pad Residences
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Property and furniture in good shape.
It is secure.
It seems to be converted from a small apartment complex.
A little out of the center of Tacloban but transport is available and cheap.
Jolliebee just a 1 minute walk away, with some small stores and food places.
Friendly Staff.
No real w3indoes in the rooms, but this is not atypical of budget rooms in Asia.

Room Tip: Queen size room OK. Choose the larger rooms if you havefamily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandsoft_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    45
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
28
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

I booked in this hotel coz all the hotels downtown were fully booked during that time. It is quite far from establishments like restaurants, groceries, coffee shops etc but it is near a hospital and jollibee so thats were i ate all the time given no choice. I didn't appreciate how i had to pay extra 500 for early check in even if i booked in advance. Well if i had to pay extra at least they could have helped me with my bags which they did not offer plus i didnt know where my room was which they didn't offer to show. I later figured there were 3 rooms sharing the living area and sort off a kitchen.. Supposedly a kitchen.. I say so coz it has no refrigerator or even kitchen utensils. I say its a waste of space coz nonevof us used it anyways. I still prefered if they used the space to make the rooms bigger. The rooms even got smaller coz you had to go through a small hallway after entering the common living area entering your room. Anyways, if the hotels dowtown are not booked i would still prefer to stay there than in zpad

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siberianhuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. In relation to your concerns, I would like to discuss it further, regarding the Php. 500.00 for the early check-in, we do have fees for this even you booked in advance since the standard check-in time is by 2PM, also, with the luggage assistance we apologize for this matter, nonetheless, we are currently conducting more training for us to render quality service and exceed the expectation of all of our guests. And with regards to the 3 bedrooms sharing in one room, basically, this is the concept of Z Pad Residences which is a "pad-type", however all of our guests has the option whether they want to get the whole Suite or one bedroom only with the common living area and kitchenette; this matter has been stated in most of our websites for reference and information. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed at Z-pad whilst working in Tacloban. I haven't stayed at other places in Tacloban so I can't compare with them, but the location away from the city might be a problem for some travellers.

Pros: Very comfortable bed, good wifi signal, clean, good air-con, on-site secure parking, quiet area.
Cons: Single rooms are tiny with barely space to use the desk provided, the location is not in the ciy centre so without your own transport you have to use tricylcles or jeepneys (of which there are plenty), no food available on site despite a menu in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puzzlemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. To discuss further your concern regarding the location of the property, we are just 5 minute away from the downtown area and there is enough means of transportation within the vicinity, we also provide shuttle service on site if in any case you'll be needing one. And lastly, regarding your food concern, though we serve breakfast and all day snacks, we are still improving our menu for guest's comfort. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Zpad Residences was not we expected it to be. Just in their soft opening, we ended up wanting to check out minutes after checking in. There was no mobile signal in our room, no wifi signal, we couldn't order food because they don't have any and the list just goes on and on. The only thing that kept us from checking out was their hotel manager who was really apologetic and faced us. We moved to a better room now with mobile and wifi signals. The food situation though we had to stick out. So if you are looking for your usual hotel, this is not it.

Room Tip: Make sure your rooms have mobile phone signals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. However, upon checking your reviews of the property, there are some concerns that are merely beyond our control, especially with regards to the signal of any mobile company. To discuss further, in relation to your concern regarding our food, we offer choices of plated breakfasts and snacks and the lists is placed inside the room which I personally mentioned. Also specifically, during your stay we are encountering a system maintenance with our service provider and for that we apologized but then again, it is beyond our control. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Very happy with our stay at Zpad Residences. Clean, well appointed rooms. Good location. Short walk to local transportation. Close to airport. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent value. Will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhiteKnight0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This place is ideal for travellers on a budget who require comfortable modern accommodation and a comfortable night's sleep. The rooms are very small with no view, just a small window onto a darkish vent for the air conditioning units to get rid of hot air. They all have ensuite bathrooms which are tiny (but nicely done), consisting of a shower/sink and toilet. The hotel rooms are arranged so there are about 3 rooms that share a kitchen/living area. So you may end up sharing the kitchen/living room with strangers unless you book a whole suite. The kitchen consists of a granite worktop and cupboards but had nothing else in them. However, if you call room service they will provided you a kettle, cutlery and crockery. The air conditioning units are quite noisy but effective. The beds are memory foam and really comfortable. There are lots of sari-sari stores a local bakery to buy coffee and bread for breakfast. There are also some local eateries and a Jollibee within a 2 minute walk. It is out of the centre of Tacloban but a 30 peso tricycle ride (or 100 peso if you look like a rich foreigner) will get you there. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is kept very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My room was for a single person for 950 per night, and I must say it was worth it. I love their bed. Best sleep ever,actually I just transferred from leyte park hotel to this new one, because leyte park hotel sucks big time. I'm so glad I found this zpad residence! The front desk was so helpful and greet you with a big smile, and the car service was good. And the breakfast was affordable. It says on their slogan that this place is the new hippest hotel in tacloban? Yes its true! Give it a try! You won't regret. And what I love the most that its electronic key card, less hassle than old moldy key I had on leyte park hotel. Thumbs up zpad residence!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjela07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerick Jao F, General Manager at Z Pad Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the hippest hotel in Tacloban City!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Z Pad Residences. We are always delighted to read the positive experiences of our guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of the team and rest assured that all key points of comments and suggestions will be given a high regards.

We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.
On behalf of the management, we are looking forward in welcoming you again!

Thank you, once again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Jerick M. Florano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
2.2 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#8 of 20 in Tacloban
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 20 in Tacloban
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#9 of 20 in Tacloban
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosvenil Pensione
Rosvenil Pensione
#13 of 20 in Tacloban
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estrella
Hotel Estrella
#4 of 20 in Tacloban
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Pad Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Pad Residences

Property: Z Pad Residences
Address: Dadison St, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tacloban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Z Pad Residences 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zpad Residences Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines, where all the things you need to relax, enjoy, and take pleasure in come at budget-friendly rates. Our newly opened hotel in Tacloban presents travelers with a great place to stay, offering superb features and various services that ensure a hassle-free vacation. All guestrooms boast a soothing ambience and are designed in such a way that they evoke a sense of inviting warmth - perfect after a day of touring around the city. Each space is equipped with fittings and amenities that provide comfort and convenience every time. Aside from all these, our hotel's location is very much accessible to restaurants, shops, and other establishments, while the Tacloban City Airport is just a few minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Z Pad Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z Pad Residences Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing