We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little inn hidden in the city”
Review of Rosvenil Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosvenil Pensione
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Charming little inn hidden in the city”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

One can easily overlook this place. I discovered this pensionne on the Web, while looking for a cheap place to stay in Tacloban for a business trip. Yes it's cheap, with a single room less than 1 thousand bucks. The front of the inn is an old house, where the registration counter is. There are also a couple of old rooms there, which I think would be the fan rooms. But looks too confined and dark. Good thing they have a new wing, which has charming wrought-iron(esque) balconies. The room I got was small and cramped, but adequate for my needs. There's TV with enough cable channels to lull you to sleep, and the aircon works well. No breakfast served, but the cool restaurants are a walk or a tricycle ride away. Perfect place for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing, which is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
8
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

I booked into one of the matrimonial rooms,for just under 1000 pes. it's quite OK !
Staff not exvessively friendly but the place seems well run and has a pleasant atmosphere.There's a new wing under construction and a small restaurant next door.
All in all,a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qreghix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

the hotel facilities was ok but only to find out that you have no safety inside. My money was stolen while I was out running. The room boy first asked me if im going to check out, I said no. Then I went and had fun outside. when I came back aorund 11am I realized that my bag was already open and that I lost my cash inside. I then look for my laptop and my jewelris,, goood thing I have kept them out of the burglars sight. I reported the said incident to front desk and unfortunately no one not even the manager talked to me. I couldn't get angyr to the crew as they are not the on the decisions and another bad thing is that they talked in their dialect of which i cannot understand..may you improve the next time around and pay me what I lost

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kkai13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tacloban hotels

Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Comfortable and very cheap. The room was clean with a comfortable bed. The bath had a shower that had just warm, not hot, water. The staff were very polite but with 2 of us staying in the room we were only given 1 towel each day and had to ask for an additional one every day. We stayed for 3 nights then 3 more later the next week....same result on both stays. We always had to ask for a second towel.
The restaurant next door was great with good food and very decent prices. They will even do room service for no extra charge...very nice.
The only real downside is they do not take reservations, it is first come first serve. So we did an advance payment to hold a room on our return and this worked just fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

A group of us were there for 3 days and found it a great choice. Rooms were clean, beds fine, and friendly staff. It's not the Hilton but nor was the price. By the way, the restaurant next door was tops for a great feed at a budget price.

Room Tip: Book early as it was always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freddy4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

my 3 sisters and i stayed in 2 adjacent rooms and we had the same horrible experience. we did not get much sleep when we were attacked by spirits who were obviously pissed off with guests staying at their hotel. but when we discussed this with the hotel staff the next morning, they looked like they did not know anything about it and just shrugged their shoulders about the matter. im telling you, im not open to a third eye or whatever you want to call it...but i did have a bad experience, same with my sisters. and we definitely wont recomment for others to stay there and have the same experience we had.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank duoaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The owner of the Pensione is my wife's cousin. We were given a room on the first floor and the room was a pleasant surpise. A large kingsize bed, airconditioned room, hot water shower. My brothers and sister who live in Tacloban was surprised when they saw our room.
True we got the room for free, but I made discreet inquiry about the price and it was someplace in the $10.00 range.

I would definitely recommend this Pensione. Clean, good service and a closeby eatery not too good but good enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wmgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacloban hotels
0.8 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
108 reviews
3.0 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#8 of 21 in Tacloban
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estrella
Hotel Estrella
#6 of 21 in Tacloban
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosvenil Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosvenil Pensione

Property: Rosvenil Pensione
Address: P. Burgos Street | Tacloban City, Tacloban, Leyte Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Tacloban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosvenil Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosvenil Pensione Tacloban, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing