We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A racist restaurant!!! please don't support!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mata Rosada

La Mata Rosada
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Spring Lake, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A racist restaurant!!! please don't support!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I usually don't write reviews because I always forget.. lol. but this time I had to. I cann't talk about their food because I didn't have a chance to try it. First of all, the waiter was rushing my family to order but everytime we ordered a dish he would say they were out of it.. I began to get upset because I didn't understand why the waiter was so rude. I got up to the bathroom and while I was walking back to my table, I overheard the Manager- who was from European decent- pointing to my family and saying to the waiter, "I don't want black people in my restaurant and you need to get rid of them." I really felt bad and I was in shocked. Im dominican but I live in the USA and I have never experience that kind of discrimination.- it caught me of guard- I told my family that wanted to leave without telling them what I just heard, they agree and later that day I told them. They wanted to report to the Samana authorities but it was too late we were already on the way to Santo Domingo.. This incident made me realize that their are still a lot of hate in people's heart and that I wish like Martin luther king, Jr. said, "that one day people will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character."

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dayaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samana83, Propietario at La Mata Rosada, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Google Translation
Sr. Dayaxxx:
Queremos dar respuesta a su comentario el cual nos ha sorprendido muchísimo, ya que el contenido del mismo nos parece muy grave.
Deben ustedes saber que el restaurante La Mata Rosada permanece abierto en la misma ubicación desde hace más de 20 años y que tenemos clientes de todas las razas y clases sociales, y no hacemos distinciones en ningún caso. Estamos en un país turístico y multirracial, y no tendría sentido de otra forma tener un negocio abierto al público, si no fuese tratando a todo el mundo por igual que es lo que hemos hecho siempre. Incluso les mencionaremos que anteriormente vivíamos en África en donde también teníamos restaurante. Nadie más alejado del racismo que nosotros. Hasta el personal de nuestro negocio (de origen dominicano) se sorprendió muchísimo al conocer esta crítica ya que ellos saben perfectamente con quien trabajan y nunca lo harían para ese tipo de personas.
Quizás ustedes estuvieron en otro restaurante o se han confundido de lugar, porque nunca hemos vivido una situación como la que usted menciona.
No entendemos tampoco la fecha de su opinión, el 8 de diciembre, si su visita fue, según aparece reflejado, en el mes de marzo.
Lamentamos que en algún lugar hayan tenido este tipo de inconveniente y le invitamos a conocer nuestro restaurante La Mata Rosada si regresa por Samana.
Saludos cordiales,
RESTAURANTE LA MATA ROSADA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“By far the best in Samana!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have been going to Samana for the last 8 years and never even knew this place existed. Four of us had dinner there and everyone enjoyed their meals and could not wait to go back. We had the churrasco with a mushroom sauce and potatoes which was excellent. The meat was well seasoned, very tender, and cooked perfectly. We also had filet with peppercorn sauce and another with mushroom sauce. Both of the filet were tender and tasted very good. The restaurant is quaint and friendly. The service was excellent. There is a small area with local items for sale such as gourmet coffee, chocolate, mirrors, wall decorations, etc. We went back a few days later with some friends and all 8 of us enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire_S_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The best Mahi Mahi I have ever had was at La Mata Rosada! The Red Snapper in the banana leaf was also very good! The restaurant is right across from the water and very convenient. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Slewis1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara de Samana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best restaurants in beautiful seaside Samana Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Great location overlooking the Malecon and the Bay of Samana.
The ambiance is warm and cosy, great decor.
We have eaten here several times and enjoyed every minute of it.
Great ceviche de pescado and seafood, dorado fish filet with chutney mango sauce in salsa de coco, great list of wines and desert to die for.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. NOT TO BE MISSED.

Helpful?
4 Thank jon-velas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mata Rosada also viewed

Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 

Been to La Mata Rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing