We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real Dominican experience”
other travellers have booked this property
The beach is at the bottom of the steps
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is at the bottom of the steps
Keepers/servant house in background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The beach is at the bottom of the steps
Keepers/servant house in background
Terrace w. bbq.
taken from the balcony
view from balcony
Lookng across Samana bay from the balcony
View from balcony
In the shade, under the satch roof.
Gazebo w. BBQ
View from tiki hut
61 steps with handrail to the beach
The beach (beach can change, depending on sea conditions)
Looking up the coast.
Fishing boat---just put the gas.
Master bed room w. a/c & ceiling fan, and bath
2nd small bedroom w, priv. bath, A.C. ceil fan
3d small bedroom w 2 sngl. beds, priv. bath, A.C.
Kitchen and adjoining dinning room
upstaires family room w. sat tv. & wi/fi
downstaires sitting room, adjoining to terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Chad H
Dillon, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Location, Nice view. Nature lovers paradise!”
Reviewed 13 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010
3
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a four day trip to Samana and stayed in the beach house. The house was adequate for our group of four. The view was fantastic and the property was beautiful. However, That being said we chose this property because of the "free fishing-boat, kayaks, sailboat and swimming pool" had been used as a clever and effective advertising gimmick. The swimming pool has obviously been in disrepair for sometime and held about six inches of green swamp water. Every time we attempted to arrange the use of the "fishing boat" we received one excuse after another and were directed to hire a local boat. On our final day, we attempted to confirm our plans from the day before for a sailboat cruise as offered by the owner and were told it was to late to arrange it with the harbor master (11:00 am). We tried to plan all these activities well in advance for each day. The other small glitch was that three or four hungry dogs live on the property and we had an issue with them squeezing through the metal security doors and raiding the garbage can in the kitchen, leaving a mess behind. Other than that, we did enjoy our stay. If you choose to stay here I would confirm in advance that the amenities promised including the pool will be available or repaired.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2010
These were some strange folks. They lyed about everything in their review, except the swimming pool, which truely was not functioning. I explained and apologized,that this is because of the natural phenomena, Hurricane Tomas, as I had the pool only 3/4 repainted, when the rains came continuosly for one week, and stoped just the day before they arrived (how lucky for them).Although they were never at the house long enough to use it anyway, as they went on excursions every day, Non the less, they have a legitimate beef on that issue.
The kayaks were not only available, but I even told them, that there are some secluded coves with lovely white sand beaches,just 20 minutes paddling down the coast. They responded,that they were not into paddling.
On their first full day here, at 12:30 PM, they mentioned to me, that they wanted to go to, Los Haitises national park, with my fishing boat. I advised them, that with the relatively slow fishing boat, it would not be possible, to get to the park, tour the area, and get back before dark. I suggested that, they go with the fast excursion boat, at a cost of 23 USD each, they agreed, and the boat picked them up, right at my pier, 20 minutes later.
On their 2nd day, it was raining, and they elected to take a ground (car) excursion to Las Terrenas.
My 46ft sailboat is nowhere indicated or included with this property rental, however I offered to take them sailing on their 3rd and last day here. Happened that they never got out of the house before noon, and a permite to leave the harbor must be obtained before noon. So, I offered to take them out on the fishing boat, they said, that first they are going to town, to try to find an American style breakfast, they did not get back till near sunset.
Next, had they mentioned to me, that the puppy squeesed through the bars of the security gate,I would have put wire across the bottom (which I now have done) To preclude this from happening. But I was unaware of this, untill I read their review. (Strange Folks)
Now, as for their suggestion, that future guests, should insist on a guarantee that all amenities exist and function. I go along with that, from now on,

If any future guest, finds an advertised amenitie, non existent, or not functional, I will, by their choice, either return all their money, to let them get another place, or refund 50% of the total rent, in compensation for the missing/faulty amenitie.

These lying eh- folks, even lyed to me, in all their pre-rental e-mails & reservations, claiming that only 2 persons (Roberto, and his friend Erica) are coming (to avoid the extra pers. fee), however, when they arrived, it was 4 (Roberto, his roomie, Chad the traveler, Erica, and Ericas husband). They never mentioned paying the extra pers. fee, and so I did not ask for it either, just to be nice, since they all seemed so very nice and super friendly.(They never complained about a thing here, this all comes as a big surprise).

So, this pure B.S. review, and , making "Me" look like a lying swindler, is the gratitude they give.Surely they do this for kicks, every where they stay.

Straaaange Folks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Reviewed 8 November 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria
Reviewed 14 October 2010 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fl.
Reviewed 11 October 2010 for a stay in November 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed 6 October 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis
Reviewed 4 October 2010 for a stay in November 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofía H
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Los mosquitos no son en Nubes aqui, pero algunos paresen, Como es el Tropico. Todos los dormitorios tienen. aire y escreen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing