We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable with Excellent Service ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Samana Spring

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Samana Spring
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable with Excellent Service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This place is great!

The service was outstanding. We met three different staff and all were very friendly and helpful. They helped us find a secure parking spot and brought us extra towels right away when we asked. They provides great info on local beaches.

The rooms were great. Everything was new with nice firm beds, clean and fresh linens, and all basic things needed. The AC worked great.

I absolutely recommend this place and would stay here again! A safe, clean, comfortable, and reasonable place to stay in Samana. Location is great, close to the Bay and city center. By far the best place I've stayed for $30 in the D.R.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CorpTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place if you are looking for a weekend of adventure in Samaná. The rooms are very nice and clean, bathroom also very clean and it has warm water :3 we had a black out for a couple of minutes but the emergecy generator came through in a couple of minutes. The lady on the front is very nice and helpful and the price is very convenient. This is a very nice hotel for travelers that are looking for a confy room to spend the night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Glorily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We found this hotel online and made the necessary reservations well in advance. We had to pay a deposit of $50, and this caused some confusion later, but was resolved easily when we checked in at the hotel.

Samana itself is a small city, the main attraction being the Malecon, (seafront promenade) and the whale watching/pleasure boats on the Marina. From the hotel we could walk to the Malecon in a matter of minutes.

We had a double room which was very spacious with attached bathroom, plus hot water. The room contained the usual amenities and the Wi-Fi connection in the room was quite fast. There was also Cable TV and a large desk for writing. The air conditioner was super efficient too. However, we missed the refrigerator and safety deposit box which was provided in our Santo Domingo hotel room.

There is a big room on the ground floor which looked like a dining room with tables and chairs which we thought was a restaurant, but found out that it was just a room with a water fountain for drinking, and a coffee machine available free of charge for the hotel guests. The reception desk consisted of only one table and chair unlike the usual front desk found in bigger hotels. There were only 16 guest rooms which were mostly empty during the three days we stayed there.

None of the front desk clerks spoke English. However, they were quite friendly and smiled everytime they saw me. The owner Senor Jose Minoso does speak excellent English, but we only saw him a couple of times as he was out of town on business.

The hotel premises are kept clean all the time. Its best feature is the location as it is within walking distance of the city's sightseeing places. The neighborhood is also in a nice section of town.

Overall, at US$35.00 a night this small but comfortable hotel is great value for your money, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who may wish to visit the quaint little city of Samana in the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burmaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were very happy with everything here. Jose is one of the friendliest hotel keepers we have ever met. The rooms have individual air conditioning so you can set your own temperature. The water was always hot and the room always clean. He is one of the few places in Samana that will take travelers checks. He can advise you on the best places to eat and what are the best tours to take. It is also easy to get to the main areas on the waterfront, and can give you some shortcuts to get to various places. He speaks excellent English but can also help you with your Spanish pronunciation. We highly recommend anyone thinking of going to Samana to stay with Jose and staff at Samana Springs. Our trip was a great break from the brutal Wisconsin winter and Jose helped make it so. Lee & Joyce

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huarez
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We found this simple hotel with a/c, cable n hot water ~$37 without a reservation and were very pleased with its cleanliness and location! Within walking distance if the make on, restaurants and bars!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Owner Carlos was really helpful. Related well to the US traveller as he has lived in the US before. Took us in his own car to arrange for bike rentals, recommended restaurants etc. definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbuiwashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Yes, this hotel very simple but the rooms are very clean and, above all, the personnel and José - the owner - are the most charming and helpfull people you'll find on your way to Whale Watching (there's not much else to do there) A definite choice if you want more for less money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikitheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara de Samana
0.9 mi away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#16 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 4 in Santa Barbara de Samana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.9 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,773 reviews
4.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samana Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samana Spring

Property: Hotel Samana Spring
Address: Cristobal Colon No. 94, Santa Barbara de Samana 32000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Santa Barbara de Samana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara de Samana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Samana Spring - Prices start at ONLY $35 per night. Brand NEW Small Hotel in Samana Town Dominican Republic, BEST VALUE IN TOWN. 16 Large Rooms with Queen Size Beds, Air Conditioning, Hot Water, WIFI, Cable Color TV. Centrally located in the Heart of Samana, 3 minutes walk to Malecon, Marina and Bay of Samana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Samana Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samana Spring Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing