We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive queues”

Tsarskoye Selo State Museum Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.00*
and up
Skip-The-Line Private Tours: Tsarkoye Selo and Peterhof from St.Petersburg
More Info
US$170.00*
and up
Private Tour: Tsarskoye Selo and Catherine Palace by Public Transport
More Info
US$378.54*
and up
Private Half Day Tsarskoe Selo Tour from St Petersburg
Ranked #2 of 78 things to do in Pushkin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Massive queues”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I loved my trip to Catherine Palace and thanks to Trip Advisor friends got there easily by public transport however the queue to get in was 1 hour and then once inside there was A LOT of jostling with tour guides etc and very little instruction in English where to pick up the audio guide etc. Saying that once we got passed these hurdles we had a wonderful visit and the palace is a must see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carlynhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    103
    30
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Unbelievably, breathtakingly beautiful. I've seen photographs and documentaries about this palace, but until you've actually been there, you have no sense of the scale of the palace or the grounds and no concept of the beauty inside. The level of opulence is difficult to describe. The Amber Room alone is worth the trip. We were a group of five and had a private guide- definitely worth doing, as we didn't have to wait for hours on line to get tickets or be rushed through with a big group.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth0744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one! The Amber Room is magnificent! (So is the rest of the palace!)”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The beauty of this palace--and the Amber Room in particular--can almost bring one to tears--especially if you are aware of the history of the mystery of the loss of the original and its whereabouts today. Seeing it is a memory that I will keep always. The Amber Room was the personal highlight of my St. Petersburg visit. Pictures cannot describe the intricacy of the amber mosaics and sculptures in this room..(and you can't take pictures inside it!) A tour to this palace with a guide in high season is a must--we were shepherded past a large group of "singles" waiting to enter and guided into a "back" door--ahead of the mob--and had the entire palace relatively to ourselves until we reached the Amber Room where we had to wait--but even then, our group of 13 had the room to ourselves for those few precious minutes allotted to our tour group. (glad I wasn't in the group of 40 who were ahead of us!)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Must visit Day Trip!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Tsarskoye Selo (Pushkin) is a town about an hour from St. Petersburg. The main highlights of this famous town include the Catherine Palace/Gardens and the Pavlovsk Palace/Gardens. We chose a guided tour with our favorite guide Marina S. Wilson (marinaswilson@st-petersburg-visit.com). The tour is the Imperial Residences: tour of Tsarskoe Selo(Pushkin) & Pavlovsk> about a 6 hr. guided tour with pre-booked entries into both palaces/gardens.
The Catherine Palace is amazing with the incredible baroque architecture and design. The famous Amber Room is spectacular, and the rest of the palace is gorgeous.
The Pavlovsk Palace is a definite contrast with its exquisite classical style. Both imperial residences reflect the history and architecture of the tsars' private lives.
Thrilled that we had the opportunity to have Marina as a guide who is so knowledgeable, and who definitely enhanced our visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Letty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Cristianos, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have seen some wonders but the AMBER room in particular is something I will always remember. Again more time if possible as we were on a guided tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tsarskoye Selo State Museum Preserve also viewed

Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Tsarskoye Selo State Museum Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing