We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alex Seaside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Having read all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we expected big things. This is a refurbished, older-style apartment hotel, 3-4 star, not 5 star. Most of the facilities are comfortable but are also showing their age. Cleanliness was high and the location is great. However, we were quite taken aback by the officious, sometimes passive-aggressive signs placed around the hotel and room. "Parents watch your kids in the elevator: $250 charge if the elevator breaks down", "$50 charge out fee if management has to respond to noise complaints", "Make sure you wash all your dishes and stack neatly by the sink, otherwise a charge will apply". While none of these applied to us, it was still somewhat of a disappointment to see this attitude used towards guests. We were sure these things could be better communicated to make a more welcoming environment.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach get a lot of noise from the skate park opposite, late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC-Elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on experiences staying here with us at Alex Seaside Resort. We are always open to suggestion and read with interest all our guests comments. Our Resort has been around a while like a lot of Resorts in the area. As Managers we take pride in presenting the apartments in the best way possible - and judging by the number of repeat guests we get it works! In regard to the notices displayed in the lift etc unfortunately it is necessary to have these notices around and the ones you mentioned have been on display a lot longer than we have been here! For the Resort to run smoothly occasionally people need reminding of these things - it is not our intention to upset our guests.Once again thank you for your comments - pleased you enjoyed our fabulous beachfront location and we will pass on your praises to our cleaners on a good job done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    60
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
85
84
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better Easter Holiday than to stay at Alex Seaside Resort. We chose a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom plus spa. We arrived for a late check-in and was greeted by the lovely manager Diana, who was so welcoming and friendly. The unit was immaculate! Clean, Modern, Spacious, with wonderful water views and the beach straight across the road. Brilliant lagoon and parkland at the rear of the complex. Central location and short walking distances to clubs, shops, restaurants, shopping centres. Sooo! Sooo! Good! we didn't want to leave and Diana accomodated us for a late check out. Thank you! We have no hesitation in coming back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 408ChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you Rod & Chris for a fabulous review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your Easter holiday with us. Our beachfront location is certainly special. Your positive comments were greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

The deluxe 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable - wonderful views over the water and very quiet. We could walk to Mooloolaba and Maroochydore within 15-20 mins but there was a good choice of takeaways and the surf club within 1-2 blocks for quick eating. The management was welcoming. Overall, excellent value for money.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Isa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I was very impressed with Alex Seaside Resort, we stayed in a 2 room apartment and the rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy with plenty of space. The managers, Diana & Tom, were fantastic to deal with. Loved the view too!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karsza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you Karra for your great review - so pleased that you all enjoyed your holiday with us. I'm sure you enjoyed our fabulous ocean views especially coming from Mt Isa! Water views are so relaxing. It was nice to meet you & your family as well and hope to see you again next time you feel like a long drive to the Sunshine Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dysart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The units are huge! and have every appliance and convenience a holidaying family could need. The units are central to all places; and only a short drive to a number of great shopping centres and other points of interest. We will definately stay with Alex Seaside Resort again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you Debbie for taking the time to write such a wonderful review - it was greatly appreciated. We do have a fantastic little spot here at Alex Seaside Resort - so close to everything plus fabulous ocean views. We are pleased you had a good time and will be back! That's music to our ears!! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

My partner and I had a great time and will return there again in the future.manager most helpful and polite. Rooms excellent clean view fantastic privacy very good would recommend to friends.l enjoyed my stay great place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimbo055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
That was a wonderful review - thank you so much. We love getting such positive comments especially from first time guests. You are right - It is a perfect location for a relaxing beach holiday and the ocean views are pretty special. Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Diana was extremely welcoming and attentive to any requests. Our room was airy, clean and fresh. We have stayed a couple of times at Alex Seaside Resort and won't hesitate coming back.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom unit across the front with the three balconies. This was perfect for us. Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you Lenore for your wonderful review - it was nice to have you return for another visit even though it had been a while! So glad you and Darryl enjoyed your stay - the Deluxe apartments are always a good choice. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.3 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
9.7 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.6 mi away
Headland Tropicana Resort
Headland Tropicana Resort
#5 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Seaside Resort

Property: Alex Seaside Resort
Address: 146 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alex Seaside Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Seaside Resort is the perfect holiday spot on the Sunshine Coast! Situated between Mooloolaba & Maroochydore you will find the picturesque Alexandra Headland with it's beautiful white sandy beach. Alex Seaside Resort has plenty on offer from Studios for a couple wanting a quiet weekend break to Deluxe 2brm x 2bthrm apartments great for a family looking for top quality accommodation close to all amenities. As we are beachfront all the apartments have beautiful ocean views, stylish decor and excellent facilities. Conveniently located opposite Alex Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alex Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Seaside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing