We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alex Seaside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The foyer is very nice, eclectic but nice. Managers very helpful and friendly. Our car broke down and had to be towed so we spent a lot of time in the unit here. Tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. My only suggestion would be to have an ice machine somewhere on the premises. Great views and you can access the rooftop on this building for the best views around. All up a really pleasant place to stay. We normally stayed elsewhere at Alexandra Headland but this resort beats it hands down. I don't know if I would say it's five star but we had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor and if you can stretch the budget go for the deluxe apartment even though the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and intend to return one day - thats always music to our ears! Actually we are not a 5 star Resort but we do try & offer good service & provide clean & beautifully refurbished apartments to our guests & our many repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review - it is much appreciated. See you next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Alex Seaside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a great time here in early May 2013 stayed for 13 nights and our apartment was neat we were on the third floor and had a view out of both our bedroom and lounge windows across the road to the sea, beautiful sunrises. Our apartment was spotlessly clean and well appointed Tom & and Diana were lovely hosts and advised us on lots of places to visit and things to do. We cannot recommend this place too highly it is great a nice 15 minute walk to Maloolaba and about 20minutes to the heart of Maroochydore

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyholsinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you very much for your fabulous review - delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We do have a great spot here at Alex - close to everything & so relaxing with our beautiful ocean views. We are always happy to get positive feed back from our guests so thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday at Alex Seaside Resort. Hope you are not finding it too cold back in Timaru! Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The units a clean and spacious. It is in walking distance to both cottontree and Mooloolaba.
The sea views are terrrific especially for those from the western side of the range. As the units are self contained we can eat out or cook for ouselves. I look forward to enjoyed my spa bath every year.
I would recommend a saty at the Alex seaside resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KezzaG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us! It is very satisfying to know that our guests are always happy to come back here to ASR when they decide to holiday on the Sunshine Coast. Yes, our ocean views are pretty spectacular and because all our apartments face the water they all get that fabulous view. We look forward to seeing you again soon & thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have to say that this place is everything they say it is - but nothing more. I was generally happy and comfortable there. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very large. If you're looking for fancy decor or a lot of "creature comforts" you won't find them here. Its not that anything was wrong, its just that it was minimal. The decor and colors were dated but the furniture was nice and newer. The kitchen was equipped amply but, here again, things like the frying pan were in very bad condition with the cheap teflon finish coming off on your food. There were lots of glasses and dishes of all sorts but cooking utensils and things to store food in were lacking. The owners could have a tremendous thing here but they just skimp where you wouldn't expect to see skimping. The towels are adequate but not luxurious in any way..in fact, a little lightweight. You get TWO towels and if you want more towels, you have to pay (rent) $2 per towel. Needless to say, it was quite humid and our towels never dried from one day to the next so we would put them in the dryer (which was unbelievably noisy and in poor repair). There were two toilets in the place each with a full roll of very cheap, flimsy toilet paper. If you ran out, you had to pay $1 each for a roll - - and you had to call up someone to come and bring you more. Over 9 days, we did use up all our toilet paper as we had to use it to blow our noses, too as there was no facial tissue provided. The kitchen came with a tiny bit of dishwashing detergent and ONE (yes, one) automatic dishwasher detergent packet. I would think that they could prorate their supplies a little better to accommodate those staying longer. A person staying for one day gets the same supplies as someone staying 9 days. Makes no sense. There were no wash cloths at all. ..none in the bathroom and no washcloth for the dishes. So you get no washcloth and only one detergent pack for dishes. All you get is a scrubbie sponge. Even fastidious people like me would have a hard time keeping the place neat and tidy with this miserly approach. We went and bought some wash cloths so I could have something with which to wash my face at night at the sink and something with which to wash my body in the morning in the shower.

The TV in the bedroom was, I think, a 13" TV placed inside the closet. The closet was hardly usable for anything other than hanging about 10 items up. No dresser or chest of drawers of any kind, either, so you live out of your suitcase sitting on the floor while you're there. How hard would it be to provide one of those sling-type suitcase holders so guests wouldn't have to crawl on the floor morning and night?

I had recalled reading before booking that wifi was available. In this day and age, I assumed this meant free wifi but I was wrong. The wifi was not only not free, it was quite expensive and had to be purchased per device. It was very very inconvenient and the subscription service was cumbersome and not always reliable. For two people traveling on business who needed consistent, reliable internet on 4 different devices (two computers and two phones), it was completely unacceptable and would be the one reason for which I would not be able to choose this place again.

The view from the balcony was beautiful. Just about 500 feet between you and the ocean. Nice breeze all the time, sunrises are nice, too....but, no sunsets (wrong side of island...LOL)

The parking under the building was gated and secure and accessed via a key card. The place was completely and totally quiet. It was not until the last day we were there that we actually saw another guest walking in the stairhall. Until then, it was like we were the only ones staying there - - and we very well could have been.

There are several restaurants in the immediate area as well as grocery stores, liquor stores, convenient/variety stores, etc. The beautiful beaches of Mooloolaba and its trendy and hopping boardwalk are only a 3 minute drive down the coast.

If you are not a business traveler and you don't need frills, this will be a great place for you.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view of the ocean but you may hear the road noise more.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronniekayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you Rhonda for your comprehensive review. It is disappointing to us as well that you were not entirely happy with your 8 night stay with us. We offer "self contained" accommodation here at Alex Seaside Resort and as such the items you mentioned eg toilet paper,dish washing liquid etc are in your unit as a starter pack. When finished all these items can be purchased from reception at any time. We have taken on board all your comments. The frypan was overlooked and has been replaced and the luggage racks are an excellent idea. Thank you again for taking the time to write - we are always looking for ways to improve our popular Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Having read all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we expected big things. This is a refurbished, older-style apartment hotel, 3-4 star, not 5 star. Most of the facilities are comfortable but are also showing their age. Cleanliness was high and the location is great. However, we were quite taken aback by the officious, sometimes passive-aggressive signs placed around the hotel and room. "Parents watch your kids in the elevator: $250 charge if the elevator breaks down", "$50 charge out fee if management has to respond to noise complaints", "Make sure you wash all your dishes and stack neatly by the sink, otherwise a charge will apply". While none of these applied to us, it was still somewhat of a disappointment to see this attitude used towards guests. We were sure these things could be better communicated to make a more welcoming environment.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach get a lot of noise from the skate park opposite, late at night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC-Elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on experiences staying here with us at Alex Seaside Resort. We are always open to suggestion and read with interest all our guests comments. Our Resort has been around a while like a lot of Resorts in the area. As Managers we take pride in presenting the apartments in the best way possible - and judging by the number of repeat guests we get it works! In regard to the notices displayed in the lift etc unfortunately it is necessary to have these notices around and the ones you mentioned have been on display a lot longer than we have been here! For the Resort to run smoothly occasionally people need reminding of these things - it is not our intention to upset our guests.Once again thank you for your comments - pleased you enjoyed our fabulous beachfront location and we will pass on your praises to our cleaners on a good job done!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better Easter Holiday than to stay at Alex Seaside Resort. We chose a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom plus spa. We arrived for a late check-in and was greeted by the lovely manager Diana, who was so welcoming and friendly. The unit was immaculate! Clean, Modern, Spacious, with wonderful water views and the beach straight across the road. Brilliant lagoon and parkland at the rear of the complex. Central location and short walking distances to clubs, shops, restaurants, shopping centres. Sooo! Sooo! Good! we didn't want to leave and Diana accomodated us for a late check out. Thank you! We have no hesitation in coming back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have great water views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 408ChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you Rod & Chris for a fabulous review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your Easter holiday with us. Our beachfront location is certainly special. Your positive comments were greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The deluxe 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable - wonderful views over the water and very quiet. We could walk to Mooloolaba and Maroochydore within 15-20 mins but there was a good choice of takeaways and the surf club within 1-2 blocks for quick eating. The management was welcoming. Overall, excellent value for money.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.3 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
8.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Seaside Resort

Address: 146 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: £67 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alex Seaside Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Seaside Resort is the perfect holiday spot on the Sunshine Coast! Situated between Mooloolaba & Maroochydore you will find the picturesque Alexandra Headland with it's beautiful white sandy beach. Alex Seaside Resort has plenty on offer from Studios for a couple wanting a quiet weekend break to Deluxe 2brm x 2bthrm apartments great for a family looking for top quality accommodation close to all amenities. As we are beachfront all the apartments have beautiful ocean views, stylish decor and excellent facilities. Conveniently located opposite Alex Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alex Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Seaside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing