We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but would not stay there again on principal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alex Seaside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alex Seaside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK, but would not stay there again on principal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just spent a week at Alex Seaside Resort with my family. We had the deluxe 2-bedroom/2 bath apartment. The place was immaculately clean, nicely furnished, fully stocked kitchen. The view of the sunrise over the beach was spectacular. The hotel is not actually on the beach - there's a busy highway between all the Alex Headland properties and the beach. Has a decent pool and hot tub. The location is okay if you want to walk down to Mooloolaba (about a 15 minute walk) or take the bus north to Sunshine Plaza or south to Mooloolaba. Not too much in the immediate area altho the Alex Surf Club across the street was nice. There was a skate park across the street so you heard the clunk of skateboards from about 6:00am til 8:00pm, but quiet after that. My primary complaint is their petty charges. We paid over $2,200 for the week. We received 1 bath towel per person and 1 hand towel for each bathroom; no face cloths. If you wanted another towel, they cost $2 each. We received 4 rolls of toilet paper for 4 adults for 7 days. Extra rolls of toilet paper were $1 each. Seriously???? We paid $2,200 and you want to charge us a $1 for a roll of toilet paper? Also had to pay $5 each for a beach towel. These charges really annoyed me. They only service the units every 7 days, so our place was never cleaned while we were there.

Room Tip: For a good view you probably want to be on at least the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sweetque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experiences at Alex Seaside Resort. We are always happy to hear about our guests likes & dislikes so we can constantly improve.
We were very surprised at the amount you said you paid for 7 nights in a Deluxe 2brm x 2bthrm as is almost double the normal rate.
Alex Seaside Resort is classified as a "self contained" Resort which means we provide complimentary starter packs of tea,coffee, sugar etc plus toilet rolls in all the units after that the guest buys their own usually from the local supermarket. All guests who stay for more then 7 nights get a service clean with new linen etc half way through their visit. All the apartments have a washing machine & dryer to freshen up your towels if required. This is common practice at all Self Contained Resorts.
We noted that although you were not happy with some parts of your holiday you did like your apartment & the beautiful location here at Alexandra Headland. The sun rising out of the sea in the morning is certainly spectacular! We thank you again for your comments & hope you may change your mind & return in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    58
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
83
83
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Sad to have to leave this wonderful place. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and will certainly stay here again, it's clean, quiet, the staff are friendly and the rooms provide everything we could need to enjoy out holiday. Not to meantion the great value for the accommodation and all the facilities in the park! Very child friendly and fun :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kshaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We were delighted to read your wonderful positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. So pleased you had such a great time. The lake & park behind us is certainly a bonus for families to enjoy & great for walks for all ages! Thank you the perfect score & look forward to seeing you for a 3rd time very soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A relaxing and enjoyable winter break.Friendly staff, clean and comfortable.Handy to most ameneties but quite difficult to find from the main drag ( Alexandra Drive) Look for the 10 pin bowling sign and take that turn.

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantastic views but do not have a spa bath. Very large and sunny living , 2nd bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycamper77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you "Happy Camper" for your comments in regards to your recent holiday at ASR. So glad you had a relaxing & pleasant stay away from the cold down South. Yes all our apartments do have amazing ocean views especially the ones on the 6th floor - the views there are superb. Hope you will return in the not too distant future & just to let you know if you are wanting a Spa next time all the apartments do have a Spa Bath except the one you were in! Thanks again for taking the time to write such a positive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great location, nice room, friendly staff, perfect weather. The headland is such a great spot between Maroochydore and Maloolaba and we just love going back there to relax and enjoy the tranquillity that only the beach can bring. Our young daughter just loved the feel of the sand in her feet and the water coming in from the tide. Thank you Alex Seaside Resort for helping us enjoy a week of family bonding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boey_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Very pleased you enjoyed your recent family holiday with us at ASR. It is certainly a great spot especially for families - close to everything and of course the beach! It is always so nice to have such positive comments from our guests about their stay - look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

It is easy to relax and enjoy all the close by attractions of this area, when you have warm and friendly managers who care for their guests, but still have a hint of professionalism about them. We had a problem with the dryer, but it was replaced within 24 hours. Everything was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revelation780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you - it is always a pleasure & very satisfying to have "warm & friendly" guests stay here as well! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your family holiday with us and thanks for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the Alex for six nights during the NZ July school holidays. It was a great winter escape! The weather was much warmer than Auckland and our North-facing apartment captured every ray of that Sunshine Coast sun all day long. We had a balcony at the front and back, so we could really make the most of it.

Our apartment was clean, bright, spacious, tastefully-decorated and had everything we needed and comfortable beds. We loved our room!

The pool is warm enough to swim in even in mid-winter and my kids had a lot of fun in there. The spa pool is nice too.

One of my main goals of the trip was to do some surfing and I ended-up getting a surf every day. Not great surf, but fun and there were good waves if you were in the right spot at the right time. Being able to check the surf from the balcony made it easy to pick the best times to go out.

Diana was very helpful with choosing the best room for our needs and also arranging transfers, zoo tickets, zoo bus etc.

The Alex is perfectly situated with the beach across the road and a park out the back. It's close to shops, takeaways and restaurants and an easy walk or bus ride to Mooloolaba or Maroochydore. Alexandra Headlands itself is much quieter and more relaxing than it's neighbours. Perfect for a family holiday!

Room Tip: At this time of year, I would definitely recommend rooms on the North-facing corner of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you Rex for your wonderful review of your recent holiday with us. Must say it was a pleasure to have you & your family stay here - it is very satisfying to have happy cheerful guests who are obviously enjoying themselves & this lovely spot that we have here at Alex. Glad to hear that you will return one day. Look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Fantastic spot to stop for a few days with family. Great location so close to Mooloolaba and with Alex Heads surf club across the road.
Very friendly staff on site. Great view out of the unit across to the ocean and very little traffic noice at nigt despite being right on the road - you could hear the waves all night!

Room Tip: Anything from 3rd floor up on the eastern side gives you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onehunga, Manager at Alex Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us - it is a great location for a family holiday situated between Mooloolaba & Maroochydore and of course having the Surf Club and the beach conveniently across from the Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.2 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
9.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.9 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Seaside Resort

Property: Alex Seaside Resort
Address: 146 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alex Seaside Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Seaside Resort is the perfect holiday spot on the Sunshine Coast! Situated between Mooloolaba & Maroochydore you will find the picturesque Alexandra Headland with it's beautiful white sandy beach. Alex Seaside Resort has plenty on offer from Studios for a couple wanting a quiet weekend break to Deluxe 2brm x 2bthrm apartments great for a family looking for top quality accommodation close to all amenities. As we are beachfront all the apartments have beautiful ocean views, stylish decor and excellent facilities. Conveniently located opposite Alex Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alex Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Seaside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing