We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Upon arrival to Alexandra Beach Resort the staff at reception were very pleasant, friendly and eager to help out. The rooms on the whole were were well equipped for our young family. The only negative was that the fold-out bed was a bite dated but comfortable nethertheless. I think the highlight of the resort was the great facilities, particuarly the resort pool and spa. It's just a pity the lagoon pool was being renovated - I'm sure many hours would have been spent it it, it looked fantastic! If we're up that way again we know where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Krystal88,

Thank you for posting your experience regarding your recent stay, it is always pleasing to read that you thought our staff are friendly and eager to help.

Regarding the foldout beds and following your feedback, these have since been replaced with a more comfortable option.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort

P.S. the main pool refurbishments will be completed by the end of June. This is one of the largest resort pools on the Sunshine Coast and is going to be quite spectacular with new lighting, tiles and landscaping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter, booked last minute and this was all we could find. The staff were great and the resort itself, however the rooms were terrible. We had a pool access which was nice however the inside was very small and dark. The kitchenette could not fit more than 1 person at a time but served it's purpose. The furniture was in desperate need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmineo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Jasmineo84

We appreciate receiving your comments and in particular rewarding to see positive posting regarding our staff.

A number of rooms are currently being repainted, including the swim up rooms, which I am confident will address some of the lighting issues.

In the meantime, thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to you returning when next on the Sunshine Coast.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here in one of the three bedroom apartments for the Easter long weekend. The very friendly and helpful staff where great and we were even able to check in earlier than the usual 2pm. The room although dated was clean, tidy and well appointed albeit on the small side for the 6 people it was meant to accommodate. If it sleeps six then it might make sense to be able to seat six also. This was not the case as the only lounge seating available was an 80's circa double fold out bed. Facility's where great and the pool options where endless. Highly recommended for family's with young children.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galladry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear Galladry,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and provide such positive feedback regarding the location, value for money and in particular our customer service.

We are constantly reviewing the facilities on offer and have noted your comments regarding the seating arrangements within the apartment. Please be assured this will be reviewed when replacements are purchased.

Again, thank you for your feedback and your comments will be shared with all staff.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We (3 people) had a problem with our room and when we spoke to the reception staff they were most helpful and pleasant. The next day Simon the Manager having heard of our issues, had us upgraded to a three bedroom unit, which he was under no obligation to do so. We appreciated this thoughtfulness and can say that we had a most enjoyable 7 days away from Christchurch NZ. Thank you Breakfree Staff - you were great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear Ruby,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

While it was our pleasure to assist in any way, we are more than pleased you were able to enjoy your Sunshine Coast Holiday.

We have a large number of return guests, whether they are local, interstate or overseas and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

After reading some of the reviews on here I felt a bit nervous about booking this place but was pleasantly surprised. We had a studio room on the 4th floor that had views of the sea and over the pools. The bed was comfortable and king size. The unit was clean and had everything required for a holiday stay including a washing machine and dryer. The beach was directly across the road as well as a couple of playgrounds. There was also a playground onsite. We can't wait to go back and stay again. The staff were polite and friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenslandRoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear QueenslandRoonie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us and the TripAdvisor community. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to take advantage of all the facilities our Resort and area have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My wife and I stayed during the week when Brisbane was experiencing the floods. It rained rather hard for the first few days, but then fined up. We didnt encounter any of the bad experiences that I have read from other reviewers. We found all the staff to be very pleasant all the time. Our first couple of nights we had our children and grandchildren and the two bedroom apartment with large balcony was rather spacious. After that we had a one bedroom ground floor room for a week. I think the ground floor apartments would be the best with or without kids. We enjoyed the swim up room, and were rather grateful that we were allocated this room.
We found the location to be perfect. We had no reason to travel very far with the beach, surfclub and bottleshop directly across the road. The pizza shop and fish shop located on the premises were quality food for a very reasonable price.
Apart from the weather we had a great time, and were well looked after by friendly staff.

Room Tip: If possible a ground floor apartment would be bes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rico033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear Rico033,

We receive many great comments and are always grateful when our guests take the time to share their experiences with us and other travellers.

We are pleased you were impressed with the proximity of our properties location and facilities. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.


Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed at Alexandra Beach Resort for 5 nights with 3 young kids (1, 3, 5) in a 3 bedroom apartment and had a fantastic family holiday. This was our 2nd stay.
The good - Location is perfect. Across the road from a patrolled beach and the surf club, about 2 minutes walk. The beach is fine for young kids. The resort pool is without rival. It is massive, and even when the weather turned, we could still swim in the 2 warmer (but smaller) pools or the spa. There are several take away/cafe/shops within walking distance. A great little gated playground in the resort, plus a nice playground across the road and another 'big' playground 5 mins walk away. The bbq areas are nice. All amenities were spotless, I really couldn't fault. Staff were friendly, approachable and helpful.
The not-so-good - The apartments are relatively small (although we had no real troubles with 3 kids), the kitchen is small and there is only 1 x 3-seater lounge. We only had 1 analogue tv with Foxtel - no ABC2 (really needed when it rained for 3 days!) but there was a DVD player. And the sound quality was poor - tv had to be turned up high to hear it and the main bedroom was right next to the tv. Apartment was clean, but at best it is 3.5 star - it is dated. We asked for a high chair but that would cost $35 for our stay (hmm, a bit stingy I thought, given 'families' are their target market).
In summary, Alex Beach Resort is a fantastic 'budget' resort whose selling point is its location and pool. It is best for families, however if management focussed a bit more on being 'family friendly' (such as providing complimentary high chairs/cots etc like other hotels do or a few kids activities in peak time) it could only do better.

Room Tip: Main road apts are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexabr, Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear Janelle1971,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.

We receive many great comments and particularly appreciate such glowing reviews regarding the pools and facilities.

In addition, we are constantly reviewing the facilities on offer and have noted your comments. Following this, we are pleased to advised kids activity packs have already been implement which we are offering free of charge to all families staying with us.

In the meantime, thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to you returning when next on the Sunshine Coast.

Regards
Simon Kirch
General Manager
BreakFree Alexandra Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
9.5 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
216 reviews
18.5 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,277 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Address: Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: £61 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just across the road from the beach, BreakFree Alexandra Beach offers a great location for great value in the heart of the Sunshine Coast. With a range of accommodation options for you to choose from including Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, all with air conditioning, balcony or terrace, cable TV, hair dryer and laundry (an extra person rate applies for use of the sofa bed). If pool views are what you are after, then spend a little more and book a 1 or 2 Bedroom Pool View Apartment or even a 3 Bedroom Penthouse. With two heated pools and spas, a waterslide, gymnasium, childrens playground and BBQ facilities, you will always have plenty to do. Alexandra Headland, known by the locals as 'Alex', is a small coastal community complemented by the soothing rolling surf and inviting beaches. This Sunshine Coast town is also fringed by Mooloolaba, Buderim and Maroochydore with a superb coastal sweep to the north and bush setting foothills to the west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Hotel Alexandra Headland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing