We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My family and I just spent a 4 night stay here and overall we were very impressed for our first stay on the Sunshine Coast.

We have 2 boys aged 7 & 5 and it was a fantastic stay for them; from the pools & playground on site, to the wonderful park opposite and beach just a short walk as well as bowling next door. We loved the location; Alex was just right for us. We did have a car during our stay though.

Whilst not on a high floor, our apartment was truly superb; so spacious, clean and wonderfully presented upon arrival (very cool towel presentation!).

Our only issue was the master bedroom being quite chilly in the evenings. Unable to find the manual for the possible reverse cycle heating/cooling unit in the room, we enquired at reception multiple times the first two mornings as to the functioning of the unit and got conflicting responses as to whether the unit actually had reverse cycle capabilities. With warmer weather by our final night it wasnt as bad but did disappoint initially, even for people from Melbourne who are certainly used to much colder temperatures in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzie6438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
So pleased you liked the swan towels and thanks for posting a photograph - one of our beautiful Thai housekeepers has a talent for towels and loves to surprise us! We do appreciate your taking the time to post a comment for us as it is a great tool for prospective guests to get a varied view of what we offer. I would like to apologise about the mix up with your bedroom air conditioner, as managers of 10 months at The Mirage we were unaware one of our apartments had a non reverse cycle system - this is being rectified now and all our other systems are reverse cycle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    76
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
167
74
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Set off the main beach road, but still with a view of the water, The Mirage is nice and quiet but still close enough for a short walk to the beach and shops. We had a two night stay and were impressed by the cleanliness of the apartment which was well equipped and furnished. It was very pleasant to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the sea views and breeze.
The secure undercover parking works well and the friendly staff were right on the mark with their recommendations for the best fish and chips, and best coffee spots.
There was an occasional bit of noise from kids on holidays playing on the lifts, but hey, thats what kids do.
All in all, a recommended spot to stay on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Mirage, we love how quiet it is here also yet still so close to everything you need. As managers we make it our duty to eat out frequently, just so we can recommend great places to our guests of course! We are in a real foodie hub here with so much fresh local produce, the fish is amazing and we attract great chefs in every level of dining. We are located on the Sunshine Coast - a couple of hours north of the Gold Coast - local airport is Maroochydore. Look forward to sharing our little piece of paradise with you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Nice location just one street back from the beach but overlooking a park so not obstructed by other buildings. If you can get an apartment higher up you also get pretty good sea views.
Staff are very nice and friendly and worth talking to for recommendations on restaurants etc as they put us on to some great places to eat.
Definitely worth looking at.

Room Tip: Higher floors have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay. What a great job we have, making sure we eat out regularly so we can recommend the best food and coffee. So pleased to hear you enjoyed some of our fantastic local restaurants as well as our beautiful property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is my 5 yr old sons favourite place to stay on the Sunshine Coast, it definitely has something to do with the amazing pools (theres 3 of them), tennis and basketball courts and the close proximity to the skate park and beach. The onsite managers are friendly and the interior is nice and neat. Only drama is the air conditioning and bed in the apartment we always choose to stay in, does not work well if it's very hot and the bed is a little hard. In saying that the location, facilities and view more then make up for it. Tip pay the extra and get the rooftop BBQ area it's worth it!!

Room Tip: Top floors have the best view and are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolangatta_Gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
We love our pools – and who better to recommend but children – they spend their whole holiday in the pool!! Right now they are looking amazing, we heat them all year to 26 degrees, the spa to 34 degrees. Last month we had the spa and rock areas re surfaced and upgraded all the gardens. Love the photos you have added so other trip advisor members can see your perspective. We know it takes time to write us a review so thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Just off the main road which is a lot quieter but still with views of water and park . Beautiful and modern. Big balcony. Undercover secure parking. 2 mins walk to beach. Definitely would stay here again. Great value. Very clean. Highly recommended. .

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
A great place to stay is what we are all looking for when we go on holiday or business – but what does that really mean? Your concise review really covers so much of what we want to offer our guests. By day a beautiful peaceful experience close to everything and by night a peaceful sleep in a secure environment! Thank you for putting fingers to phone and taking the time to write this review, it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This holiday has exceeded our expectations, our 3 br apartment was beautifully appointed and spacious. We had 3 generations in one apartment and didn't get under each others feet. The managers are SO helpful and friendly and will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable....nothing is too much trouble! We will be back! This resort is highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sueevansnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Well, what can I say but thank you for your enthusiastic review of your stay at The Mirage. Your mention of having three generations under the one roof was a great - those times in life are so valuable. We love the space in our apartments here as six adults can holiday together with ease. It is not unusual for families to book several apartments and return year after year...... you may like to become one of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My family of five came to stay for a week and were so frustrated with the noise that comes from apartments above. No one was paryting too hard...the problem being that unless the floor above you has carpet... not tiles! .. you can hear everything! People walking, closing doors, having showers etc...and that's no fun when it's 5:38 in the morning! We did request a change of apartment and they obliged and were very pleasant about it but we suspect this must happen quite frequently. Think carefully before committing to a relaxing stay at the Mirage.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
We appreciate your feedback even though it is always disappointing for us to realise we have not met your expectations. I guess one of the surprising aspects of this situation is that in the eight months we have been onsite managers here we have never had this issue of noise being unmanageable from an upstairs apartment. It has alerted us to this though and we will certainly monitor to ensure future guests are not frustrated as you were. Thank you for your reference to our staff being pleasant as customer service is something we are committed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.2 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
9.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mirage Alexandra Headland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Property: The Mirage Alexandra Headland
Address: 6 Mari St, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Mirage Alexandra Headland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mirage Alex Resort on Alexandra Headland, the luxury four and a half star resort on Sunshine Coast. Set just 50 meters from the main road The Mirage offers stunning views without the traffic noise, and is just a short walk away from either Mooloolaba or Maroochydore! Our balconies are all east-facing and have a view of our beautiful pool and gardens, the lagoon, park and/or ocean. Opposite the resort's location is the picturesque Lake Nelson Park, home to many water birds, including our beloved swans. Come at the right time of year and watch the baby cygnets or maybe some ducklings with their parents. We offer spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments with full size kitchens, large living and dining areas, separate laundry and east facing balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mirage Alexandra Headland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Hotel Alexandra Headland
Mirage Hotel Alexandra Headland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing