We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn retreat to the Sunshine coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We really enjoyed a wonderful family holiday at the Resort. The location was central and an easy walk to the beach, Surf Club, shops, supermarket and eateries. The staff were very helpful and happy to book all of our tourist bookings. The pools were fabulous - the kids just loved them. It is a very clean, safe and modern Resort. Would definitely recommend (we have already) and would love to go back again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

I imagine you will have readjusted to chilly Christchurch now but so pleased we managed to turn on a sunny May stay for you at The Mirage! Also glad to hear you asked us to book your tours, so much easier for us to do this for you and we love sharing where are favourite places are to eat and play. Knowing you enjoyed yourselves enough to take the time to write us a review is a great feeling - thank you. Fingers crossed you will be able to come again in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Mirage Alex Headland for 5 nts with my parents and met up with other members of our family who live locally. We had a wonderful time there and were impressed by the resort, its facilities and the excellent service we received throughout our holiday. We had been concerned about the location as we generally stay closer to Mooloolaba but were very happy to discover it is only a 2 minute walk to the beach, about 15 mins walk to Mooloolaba (great for early morning exercise - or try the lap pool) and our apartment had gorgeous views over the park in front to the ocean and was so quiet. It was perfect for us and the apartment itself was in excellent condition with a comfortable bed and very well maintained. It was great to be able to open the windows and have fresh air and not to have to use air conditioning. My brothers' two young children loved the pools and the grassy area next to it and we made good use of the tennis court. I would definitely recommend the Mirage and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Try the top floor (with rooftop BBQ area).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review of your stay at The Mirage it really does help when other guests are trying to make that hard decision of where will best suit their holiday needs! We are a really popular destination for family groups for the very reasons you mentioned. I also notice your tip was to book a rooftop apartment, yes! aren't these spaces great when you have a few of you get together, somehow being up on the roof, wine in hand, taking in the view gives life a new perspective! Look forward to welcoming you back to The Mirage in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Clean, modern, spacious apartments. Fantastic pool area for the kids (aged 3 and 4). Perfectly situated close to shops, places to eat and of course the beach. Will most definitely stay again in the future.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Just having you say that you will most definitely stay at The Mirage again in the future is fantastic. We are lucky to have such an amazing facility to start with but do work hard to ensure our apartments are clean and our pools kept in pristine condition. Thank you for taking the time to tell potential guests of your experience at The Mirage. Look forward to seeing you for your next Sunshine Coast holiday...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We loved the spacious apartment. The kids had a separate bathroom. We liked the fact that the windows can open as we prefer fresh air to air conditioning. There was air con in the living area but we didn't need to use it.
The kids loved the pool. We liked the quieter location yet it was still close to restaurants and attractions.
We cooked some meals at the apartment and there was plenty of equipment.
Staff were extremely helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

So pleased you had such a great stay at The Mirage. While my children are now young adults I remember when we did travel as a young family the relief of finding an apartment where we were not all on top of one another! I hadn't really thought about the fresh air aspect as we take it for granted but yes, just being restricted to air conditioning is not something we like either. Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay, we do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great quiet location & we were lucky enough to be upgraded to an ocean view room, which had a nice outlook over the pool and parkland. A great bonus for us is that management made sure our room was ready when we arrived at 11.30am, as they were aware that we had a 6.00am flight from Tasmania that morning (note that they knew this already, don't lob on the doorstep expecting this, that would be unfair on them).
The unit was decked out well, pools were fantastic & the gym equipment was a bonus. Easy bus ride to both Maroochydore or Mooloolaba if you don't need a car, or a dedicated undercover spot if you hired one. Tested their recommended eating and coffee places & they had that spot on too (particlarly the Good Bean in Mooloolaba). Be delighted to stay here again if I'm on the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Smiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

So pleased you loved your stay with us. Good point about letting us know your arrival time, we will always try to have your room ready early if possible. As managers we aim to provide our guests with a personal experience so we are thrilled when we receive feedback indicating we have hit this mark. As for the eating tips, we love coffee and food so that part is easy!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Situated a block back from the beach this is a quiet location. The room (2 bedroom) was spacious and clean and the staff friendly. Our room had a full kitchen and a laundry with washing machine a dryer.

There is a separate lap pool, spa and general pool and there are also BBQ facilities in the pool area. A morning coffee can be had at the kiosk at the surf club or a 2km pleasant walk into Mooloolaba. There is a small group of shops both north and south or you can head into Mooloolaba or Maroochydore for the standard set of large shops.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank traveller_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Really appreciate your feedback on the location of The Mirage. Until you actually experience staying away from the traffic noise and the centre of town it is difficult to realise the benefits. One of the most common comments we get from guests once here is how central we are to everything yet how relaxed onsite. You truly can just park the car and relax! Look forward to welcoming you back to The Mirage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Actually, I was a bit hash with the title but I wasn't happy. The good points, clean and seem to have nice front desk staff for the few minutes I met with them. The bad, old and tired decor, way to expensive for the price, extremely noisy (woken up the first morning at 7am by the commercial mower under my window which overlooks the caravan park and the second morning at 6am by people scraping chairs along the floor and running for at least half an hour on the floors above).

I asked for an upgrade (just to a higher floor) and was told it was booked out funny thing was there was only one car (mine) parked in the car park the whole time I was there. To turn the lamp light on in the master bedroom you had to stick your hand down and along the back of the bedside table while trying not to fall out of bed. Just plain stupid design! Like most Australian hotels, you had to pay for internet which we didn't bother which is so poor considering nearly every hotel in asia provides it for free. ..the pools were nice though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koalaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

We appreciate genuine feedback and are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Mirage. It is so unusual for us to have a comment about it being noisy at The Mirage and while we can't stop mowing we have certainly investigated the noise from upstairs and discovered the chairs could use some new stoppers, this has already been attended to. I would like to reassure you I have checked both the rate and available apartments during your stay and due to the large local event at the time, all higher floor rooms were fully booked. We also hear your dismay about wifi in Australia! The Mirage is currently having a system put in place where free WiFi will be available, we anticipate this will be within the next couple of months - we can't wait to be able to offer this service to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.2 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
368 reviews
9.7 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mirage Alexandra Headland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Address: 6 Mari St, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range: £90 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Mirage Alexandra Headland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mirage Alex Resort on Alexandra Headland, the luxury four and a half star resort on Sunshine Coast. Set just 50 meters from the main road The Mirage offers stunning views without the traffic noise, and is just a short walk away from either Mooloolaba or Maroochydore! Our balconies are all east-facing and have a view of our beautiful pool and gardens, the lagoon, park and/or ocean. Opposite the resort's location is the picturesque Lake Nelson Park, home to many water birds, including our beloved swans. Come at the right time of year and watch the baby cygnets or maybe some ducklings with their parents. We offer spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments with full size kitchens, large living and dining areas, separate laundry and east facing balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mirage Alexandra Headland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Hotel Alexandra Headland
Mirage Hotel Alexandra Headland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing