We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Headland Tropicana Resort
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good relaxation!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The property was uber cute, it was well priced for the level of accommodation we received a group of my friends just wanted an overnight getaway from Uni and they were so helpful! The place was decent rooms pretty and good walking distance to enough points to have an interesting 2 days oh huh and we ended the nightingale the sauna! And then the spa pool! Just perfect they are worth another trip? :)

Room Tip: Higher looks have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lejade85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
40
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The rooms were a great size for a family of six. The kitchen facilities were stocked with everything you could need to cook any meal. The staff were more than helpful and friendly. The location was great just take care crossing main road to beach. The beach across the road was a perfect family location with rock pools and shelly sand and very secluded. The facilities were all clean and tidy. Will stay here again :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emzel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay. It is well located,very clean and has excellent facilities and the managers were friendly. However we were extremely disappointed on the day of checkout to be told by the young girl at the desk that there was nowhere to store our luggage ( we had been advised on the phone that we could) This is the first time anywhere in the world that this has happened.The resort has many people who are regulars who book out blocks of rooms (the renovated ones)As a result the groups tend to overtake all the facilities eg BBQ area,pool and the lounges. Children claim the lounges with towels don't use them but when adults from their group come out there is always a lounge chair available. Was only able to access a lounge chair on 2days from 1 week stay( 1day when groups went to theme park)Spa pool was very cold. I would like to stay again but will try to pick off peak time. Some noise from kids running around.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated one, however this maybe difficult in holiday time as regulars book out certain r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana274, Manager at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
You are right, our apologies for not providing a more suitable place to store your luggage on the day of your departure. Although the receptionist is new, we understand we should have prepared her better for when our space allocated in the office is full with other guest luggage. We could have offered an alternative lock up area downstairs.

We know how popular the sun lounges are when we are full house in the September School Holidays, but were not aware of any problem until we read your review. We would have happily asked the kids to give up the sun lounges, so that all guests had the opportunity to relax more by the pool... Upon request there is also a roster where guests can book a barbecue for a set time.

The spa is heated only, and designed to be set at 31 degrees. It is not a thermal hot spa.

We are glad to hear you would still return to Headland Tropicana outside the busy family periods, and we are more than happy to see that your holiday is exactly what you expect next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have stayed at here twice now and have loved both times.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and well furnished. I am not sure what the appeal is but we would not stay anywhere else. The location is fantastic with a minimal hill to two iconic beaches.
Managers Doug and Mandy have a natural warmth that welcomes you. If you are wanting simple pleasures and a place where you can unwind in then look no further. If you are wanting up to date rooms then book early and request the renovated rooms. I personally have stayed in the ones they called non-renovated and found them perfectly comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The centralization of the amenities makes for great family get togethers and for families with children to unwind as they watch their young ones interact with other children. Loved it and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana274, Manager at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for the lovely review Karen. It is always a pleasure having you stay at Headland Tropicana... Guests like yourselves make our job a lot more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine_0123
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed the weekend of 6th July 2012. We booked a 3br apartment for 3 nights for 3 of us. Unfortunately we could only get a ground floor unit as it was a late booking. Although we had no ocean view the patio was quite private with a nice garden outlook.

Great position, very close to Mooloolaba strip, restaurants and shops. Ten minute walk (i think?) or a $5 cab fare:)

The rooms were large, clean and nicely furnished. It is an older apartment - bathrooms were dated - but I was after an affordable place not mooloolaba high prices, so we were very very happy with it.

The staff were great, booked us in for Dr appointments as we all ended up with the flu and I pulled a muscle in my back - so we did spend a lot of time in the room!

Really good place for families and it was also good for us barren ones - apart from the early starts with the kids running down the stairs - but holidays are for fun and I should have been outta bed by then anyway!!

We'll be back again:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine_0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bribie island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was a bit disappointed when we arrived and were informed we had a non-renovated apartment considering I booked months ago. We were right at the front and the road noise was so bad we had to have the door shut to hear the tv. Lounge room was then hot as it had no fan or air con even though website says air conditioned apartments - only the main bedroom had air con.
The reason I booked here was for the indoor pool and I must say it is fantastic, perfect temperature. Location is pretty good, walking distance to everything however all uphill on the way back :)
Complex is clean and well looked after but for the price (over $200 per nite) I would choose a highrise next time.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BribieIslandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana274, Manager at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us this time around Julie... As you were a repeat guest we did reluctantly agree to you only booking 3 nights, rather than the 4 night minimum that we have over the Easter weekend. We did explain we could not guarantee where you would be allocated in the complex for this reason. Fortunately we were able to give you your only request, which was to be up a level. We have recommended to the owner of that apartment that they install a ceiling fan in the living room, which the other units do have. Yes, there are 5 apartments directly on the front that enjoy fantastic views, although the down side in staying in one of these does mean a constant flow of traffic as we are conveniently located on the busy tourist strip...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a spacious, comfortable and very clean one bed apartment on the top floor (only 3 floors!), with a sea view. This is a well maintained and run and attractive Resort up the hill on the headland.
An excellent location and there is a bus stop outside the gate if needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here although it would have been handy to have a lift especially when carrying luggage up from the basement car park. We are not as young as we used to be !
The bedroom had a very efficient air conditioning unit but only ceiling fan in the main living room. Good value for money. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra Headland
0.6 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland Tropicana Resort

Property: Headland Tropicana Resort
Address: Tropicana 274 Alexandra Pde, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Headland Tropicana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Headland Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing