We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost in nature.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de Chabanettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de Chabanettes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Lost in nature.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We came by motorbike through some really great roads, full of bends, through the mountains, till we found this wonderful b&b. The owners are spectacularly friendly and we spent a nice evening dining and chatting with them! We strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillTurci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    33
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
71
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked a one night stay on route to Provence, and what a delightful experience all round. Shirley and Simon could not have been better hosts, room was lovely, food great, and the location was was a perfect peacefull haven. Will be returning for a longer stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warlockUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salado, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife, 11 month old daughter, and I stayed only one night at the Auberge de Chabanettes but left wishing we could have stayed longer. Everything about our stay was fantastic. It all started when we were slightly lost within a couple of km of the guest house. We called and Shirley answered the phone with a warm and welcoming tone, making us feel like lost friends, not customers. Once there we immediately felt welcome and comfortable by hosts Shirley and Simon, as they showed us around the inn and we sat and chatted by their fire with beers in hand. We were the only guests for the evening and thus enjoyed Shirley and Simon's warmth and hospitality all to ourselves. Besides us, they certainly paid special attention to our little Hannah. Since we were a bit off the beaten path we had made arrangements at the time of the reservation to have dinner at their table... the food was fantastic, and certainly worth the very modest 19 euro charge each. (A couple nights later in Sarlat we paid 160 euro for a dinner at one of the towns top restaurants, that paled in comparison.) After dinner and putting our daughter to bed, we stayed up chatting with Shirley and Simon about all sorts of topics until midnight. A restful night's sleep in a super large room, followed by a great breakfast the next morning. We lingered as long as we could before needing to head on to our final destination, and were sad to finally have to depart. Simon and Shirley's Auberge de Chabanettes is a must stay if you're anywhere remotely close, you will not be disappointed. The highest compliment we can offer is that we left feeling like were were actually leaving friends and hoping that we will have the opportunity to see them both again one day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austin4707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barsinghausen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Initially we wanted to stay just for one night and ended up staying for 3 nights. We just could not refuse! This 'auberge' has nice rooms, offers a very charming environment, and the food was overwhelming. Simon and Shirley are lovely landlords and we seriously enjoyed staying there. Whenever one of us will be in this area again we will come back - for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We received a very warm welcome from the English owners. Relaxing on the terrace by the riverside with a cold drink was just what we needed after a long drive and we were pleasantly surprised by how many locals seemed to stop by for a drink on their way home at the end of the day.
Our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, dinner and breakfast were very good, well worth the short diversion off the A75 and we will stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Lovely area of France. Very scenic with some nice walking routes. The Auberge owners were very welcoming and made the stay here very pleasent. The rooms where comfortable, clean and spacious. Very nice continental breakfasts. Really lovely evening dinners can be booked in advance and great value. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Can't say that we actually stayed at the Hotel, however we did have some drinks in the terraced area in a temperature in the high 30's.
Manager ensured that we were well covered by the umbrellas as we purchased some ice cold beers/soft drinks in a lovely setting.
Would go again!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auzelles
21.4 mi away
Chateau De Codignat
Chateau De Codignat
#1 of 1 in Bort-l'Etang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Princesse Flore
12.9 mi away
Logis Le Pariou - Restaurant Le Jardin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Le Clos St Eloi
Le Clos St Eloi
#1 of 5 in Thiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
24.6 mi away
Mercure Saint Nectaire Spa & Bien-etre Hotel
20.2 mi away
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Saturnin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Chabanettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Chabanettes

Property: Auberge de Chabanettes
Address: Cotes de Chabanettes, 63590 Auzelles, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Auzelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special hotel in a very special location. Auberge de Chabanettes is a true family-owned business run by Multi Award-winning UK hotelier, Tim Bell and his French Partner Ingrid Boyer. Set in the tranquil heart of the Livradois-Forez in the Puy-de-Dome department of the Auvergne, yet easily accessible from Clermont Ferrand, Issoir and Ambert, this historic and famous Auberge now offers you an even better experience. 5 Newly refurbished bedrooms, all with ultra-comfortable beds, high quality linen, towels & toiletries, Free fast Wi-Fi, bluetooth speakers/USB charging alarm clocks and new digital LCD TVs. 2 En-suite Double Bedrooms, 2 very spacious En-Suite Family Bedrooms (up to 5 pax) plus our brand new "Superior" Family Room with Luxurious Bathroom and can sleep up to 6 guests. The Auberge offers a cosy restaurant with our daily "Menu du Jour" celebrating French & International Specialities, and a selection of wines from small, award-winning artisan producers, all in the cozy surroundings of our real fire. Our "Whisky Bar" is stocked with a large selection of high quality beers, spirits and an impressive selection of Single Malt Whisky. The Auberge is ideal for family holidays, romantic breaks, a convenient stop-over en-route through France, or as great a base to explore this area which is a Mecca for Walkers, Motorbikers, Cyclists and outdoor enthusiasts. The Auberge can also be available for exclusive use groups for up to 21 people. Auberge de Chabanettes is committed to Green Tourism and uses local suppliers, recycles everything it can, and supports local environmental initiatives. Open all year round except January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge de Chabanettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Chabanettes Auzelles, France - Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing