We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chabanettes Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Budget Issoire(Issoire)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Sud(Issoire)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Issoire(Issoire)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau De Codignat(Bort-l'Etang)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
hotelF1
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eliotel(Thiers)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
163
53
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
53
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightlarge familywarm welcomea wonderful stayper headhis wifestayed longerhome madehidden gemlocal arealarge bathroomoff the beaten trackcomfortable stayen routehot watertwo nightsenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent a couple of days here on a touring trip of France. What a lucky find! Thank you Tripadvisor. Even if you have to go a bit out of your way, don't miss a stay at this wonderful auberge. We were made to feel so welcome, the food was so good, the room excellent, the atmosphere so relaxing, everything you could want on holiday - we wished we'd planned to stay in the Auvergne, not tour around. We can still see that scenery and smell the fresh, clean air. It was a wonderful stay and gave many happy memories.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a start to our week in France! This wonderful auberge appears in the middle of nowhere, in a lovely forest area in a beautiful part of France. We were welcomed by the owners, Simon and Shirley who immediately made us feel totally relaxed with a welcome cup of tea, swiftly followed by a glass of wine. Within minutes of arriving we felt as though we were on holiday and work was a long way behind us. There are only a few rooms and ours was perfect, fairly basic but had everything we needed, plenty of room, a clean and tidy bathroom with a good shower and most of all, a very comfy bed.
We loved the relaxed feel of Chabanettes, local friends drop in to say hello and share a glass of wine which emphasised the informal feel of the auberge but without taking away the feeling of being looked after by excellent hosts.
There are not many places to eat in the area but I would suggest that anyone staying here take up the chance to have dinner at the auberge. The food that Shirley cooks and Simon serves is as good, actually better than many meals served in expensive restaurants in France.
They both have extensive knowledge of the area and will be happy to suggest places to visit or even a good running route if you feel the need for an early morning run to burn off some of the wonderful meal from the night before!
If you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel, plush rooms with expensive toiletries at 5 star prices then look elsewhere, but if you want a relaxing, comfortable place to stay in beautiful surroundings and great hosts and excellent value for money, then Auberge de Chabanettes is perfect. We will definitely be back. Thank you Simon and Shirley for a great few days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Our two day stay in September was all too brief. Chabanettes is located in a beautiful, peaceful and heavily forested part of the Auvergne. Shirley and Simon, our English hosts, have in a few short years, made Chabanettes the centre of the community where locals drop by for a drink, chat or meal. They are terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed their company sitting by the fire talking with other guests before dinner, and sharing a glass of french wine. Chabanettes is centrally located to many beautiful parts of the Auvergne. Our one regret is that we couldn't stay longer to enjoy Simon and Shirley's hospitality and to explore more of the Auvergne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We found this "hidden gem" in the area where we were going to be for a family wedding anniversary. Following Tripadvisor advise, we were not dissapointed! In fact, overly pleased! Simon and Shirley; our very English hosts,( they do speak french too,) made us feel so welcome; I felt like I was in a forested hidden B&B in the center of England! Of course, this being France; they follow customs, with a wonderful array of fresh sliced fruit, yogurt, freshly baked croissants, and bread , wonderful coffee, or tea for breakfast; (all done by Simon , himself!). If you want a dinner,(asked for in advace,) they will prepare a wonderful 4 star meal, which wil not dissapoint! Shirly is a chef par exellance! They have a full bar available; and tea in the eveing if disired. They proposed an evening platter of cheeze and wine too, if we wanted. They have very spaceious rooms most of them are en suite . What was more special is that, we had made our reservation a few weeks in advance, for the holiday weekend All Saints Day..; not realizing that they were closing at the end of October! They still welcomed us with great pleasure!;Us being the only guests, we were really treated like family! We talked by the roaring wood fireplace until midnight!..; But they are like that! Charming; and are super hosts, that will make you feel so welcome you won't want to leave! Their chambres d'ôte is in the beautiful quiet rolling forest hills of the Livredois-Forez area of Auverge. We made new friends and will retuirn again!

Room Tip: alll rooms are excellent; but the ones facing the (very quiet road) have a nice view of the old bridge crossing the river below
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbknopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked into the Auberge de Chabanettes for two nights, but ended up staying for four. Simon and Shirley made us so welcome and Molly, the dog provided the floor show.
The room was super clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. We could not have found a better place to stay.
The drive into Clermont-Ferrand and to places such as the Puy de Dome are panoramic.
Thank you Simon and Shirley, this was the relaxing sojourn we needed

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews