We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 er Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge de Chabanettes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Francescas, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 er Mai”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have cross(spend) that one night in the inn of the chabanette on April 30th.
A magnificent welcome, in a very attractive inn and in a restful frame, far from everything.
A very good meal full of taste realized by Shirley.
A night calms down in a very spacious bedroom and a delicious breakfast prepared by Simon.
Very pleasant, simple hosts.
Thank you again for this short but good stay.
HERVÉ and MÉLANIE

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melyanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
77
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived weary after a long trip in a small car with dog from the South, to a wonderful welcome from both Simon and Shirley. we were greeted like long lost friends and taken to a large bedroom with 2 double beds which was simple but immaculate.

A beautiful walk by the nearby river and our energy levels rose again. We walked back to the Auberge to be greeted once again by our hosts who introduced us to a group of people all of whom lived in the nearby village and surrounding area. We joined them for a beer and spent an hour exchanging stories.

Dinner was excellent...all homemade with great care and a delicate hand. Tomato soup , lasagne and salad, local cheeses and a wonderful ginger and lime cheescake and all for 19 euros! The wine was fab and well priced at 16 euros.

A great nights sleep and down to a lovely breakfast prepared and served by the charming Simon!

Thankyou both for your marvellous hospitality and attention to detai, making our brief stay memorable. We will be back!!

Shirley ,Gill and Little Boo!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishka02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Auberge on 17/8/13 on our way down to Perpignan. What a fantastic place. Simon and Shirley are great people that welcome you and make you feel at home. We arrived a bit late due to traffic but our hosts helped us relax with a lovely meal - a home made Lasagne was perfect for our family of 6 !

The ambience was great and our family room slept 6 meaning we had no worries over split rooms ( unlike last year at a horrible Campanile in Thiers which is to be avoided like the plague ! )

The room was very spacious even with 6 people in 2 doubles and 2 singles. The surrounding countryside is breath-taking and Auberge is completely worth the extra 15 minutes off the A75 road.

Auberge is highly recommended and we will be back !

Thank you Simon and Shirley :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaytee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent a couple of days here on a touring trip of France. What a lucky find! Thank you Tripadvisor. Even if you have to go a bit out of your way, don't miss a stay at this wonderful auberge. We were made to feel so welcome, the food was so good, the room excellent, the atmosphere so relaxing, everything you could want on holiday - we wished we'd planned to stay in the Auvergne, not tour around. We can still see that scenery and smell the fresh, clean air. It was a wonderful stay and gave many happy memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a start to our week in France! This wonderful auberge appears in the middle of nowhere, in a lovely forest area in a beautiful part of France. We were welcomed by the owners, Simon and Shirley who immediately made us feel totally relaxed with a welcome cup of tea, swiftly followed by a glass of wine. Within minutes of arriving we felt as though we were on holiday and work was a long way behind us. There are only a few rooms and ours was perfect, fairly basic but had everything we needed, plenty of room, a clean and tidy bathroom with a good shower and most of all, a very comfy bed.
We loved the relaxed feel of Chabanettes, local friends drop in to say hello and share a glass of wine which emphasised the informal feel of the auberge but without taking away the feeling of being looked after by excellent hosts.
There are not many places to eat in the area but I would suggest that anyone staying here take up the chance to have dinner at the auberge. The food that Shirley cooks and Simon serves is as good, actually better than many meals served in expensive restaurants in France.
They both have extensive knowledge of the area and will be happy to suggest places to visit or even a good running route if you feel the need for an early morning run to burn off some of the wonderful meal from the night before!
If you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel, plush rooms with expensive toiletries at 5 star prices then look elsewhere, but if you want a relaxing, comfortable place to stay in beautiful surroundings and great hosts and excellent value for money, then Auberge de Chabanettes is perfect. We will definitely be back. Thank you Simon and Shirley for a great few days.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Our two day stay in September was all too brief. Chabanettes is located in a beautiful, peaceful and heavily forested part of the Auvergne. Shirley and Simon, our English hosts, have in a few short years, made Chabanettes the centre of the community where locals drop by for a drink, chat or meal. They are terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed their company sitting by the fire talking with other guests before dinner, and sharing a glass of french wine. Chabanettes is centrally located to many beautiful parts of the Auvergne. Our one regret is that we couldn't stay longer to enjoy Simon and Shirley's hospitality and to explore more of the Auvergne.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We found this "hidden gem" in the area where we were going to be for a family wedding anniversary. Following Tripadvisor advise, we were not dissapointed! In fact, overly pleased! Simon and Shirley; our very English hosts,( they do speak french too,) made us feel so welcome; I felt like I was in a forested hidden B&B in the center of England! Of course, this being France; they follow customs, with a wonderful array of fresh sliced fruit, yogurt, freshly baked croissants, and bread , wonderful coffee, or tea for breakfast; (all done by Simon , himself!). If you want a dinner,(asked for in advace,) they will prepare a wonderful 4 star meal, which wil not dissapoint! Shirly is a chef par exellance! They have a full bar available; and tea in the eveing if disired. They proposed an evening platter of cheeze and wine too, if we wanted. They have very spaceious rooms most of them are en suite . What was more special is that, we had made our reservation a few weeks in advance, for the holiday weekend All Saints Day..; not realizing that they were closing at the end of October! They still welcomed us with great pleasure!;Us being the only guests, we were really treated like family! We talked by the roaring wood fireplace until midnight!..; But they are like that! Charming; and are super hosts, that will make you feel so welcome you won't want to leave! Their chambres d'ôte is in the beautiful quiet rolling forest hills of the Livredois-Forez area of Auverge. We made new friends and will retuirn again!

Room Tip: alll rooms are excellent; but the ones facing the (very quiet road) have a nice view of the old br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbknopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auzelles
24.3 mi away
Hotel Princesse Flore
12.8 mi away
Chateau De Codignat
Chateau De Codignat
#1 of 1 in Bort-l'Etang
199 reviews
16.2 mi away
Le Clos St Eloi
Le Clos St Eloi
#1 of 5 in Thiers
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Logis Le Pariou - Restaurant Le Jardin
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
#1 of 2 in Perignat-les-Sarlieve
312 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Abbaye
Hotel de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Sauxillanges
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Chabanettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Chabanettes

Property: Auberge de Chabanettes
Address: Cotes de Chabanettes, 63590 Auzelles, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Auzelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special hotel in a very special location. Auberge de Chabanettes is a true family-owned business run by Multi Award-winning UK hotelier, Tim Bell and his French Partner Ingrid Boyer. Set in the tranquil heart of the Livradois-Forez in the Puy-de-Dome department of the Auvergne, yet easily accessible from Clermont Ferrand, Issoir and Ambert, this historic and famous Auberge now offers you an even better experience. 5 Newly refurbished bedrooms, all with ultra-comfortable beds, high quality linen, towels & toiletries, Free fast Wi-Fi, bluetooth speakers/USB charging alarm clocks and new digital LCD TVs. 2 En-suite Double Bedrooms, 2 very spacious En-Suite Family Bedrooms (up to 5 pax) plus our brand new "Superior" Family Room with Luxurious Bathroom and can sleep up to 6 guests. The Auberge offers a cosy restaurant with our daily "Menu du Jour" celebrating French & International Specialities, and a selection of wines from small, award-winning artisan producers, all in the cozy surroundings of our real fire. Our "Whisky Bar" is stocked with a large selection of high quality beers, spirits and an impressive selection of Single Malt Whisky. The Auberge is ideal for family holidays, romantic breaks, a convenient stop-over en-route through France, or as great a base to explore this area which is a Mecca for Walkers, Motorbikers, Cyclists and outdoor enthusiasts. The Auberge can also be available for exclusive use groups for up to 21 people. Auberge de Chabanettes is committed to Green Tourism and uses local suppliers, recycles everything it can, and supports local environmental initiatives. Open all year round except January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Auberge de Chabanettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Chabanettes Auzelles, France - Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing