We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a magial getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
1 review
“a magial getaway”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Zighy Bqay resort is a one of a kind experience. there is nothing else like it. The setting is spectacular, rooms divine and the staff and amenities exceptional. I cant wait to come back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    226
    81
    18
    20
See reviews for
503
836
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My husband and I were at Zighy Bay in September 2010 for the second stop of a three stop honeymoon. We were in the Maldives for 8 nights then flew to Dubai and were picked up at the airport by Arabian Adventures and driven 2 hours to Zighy Bay, where we stayed for 3 nights before heading back to Dubai for the last 3 days of our honeymoon.

Zighy Bay is an amazing place for an experienced traveler and/or someone who can handle a remote location and appreciate it. It really is in the middle of nowhere and its not the easiest place to get to so if you are looking for an active city trip then this is not the place for you. There are plenty of dessert activities for 4-5 stay max-with a lot of relaxing too, but I would not stay here for an extended period of time...unless you're really into the dessert.

Activites here are super fun! We went paragliding-it was awesome! We did a private boat tour and a 4x4 trip into the mountains, both were so much fun and should definitely not be missed! We signed up for a snorkling trip but cancelled it because the red tide was ending and the water was still a little foggy for snorkling. We also did the dining in the sand experience on top of Zighy and I highly recommend this-you can't leave Zighy without dining from the top of the mountain! Be sure to make your reservation for sunset.
We did not do dinner in the wine celler, but it seems really neat so look into it.

We stayed in a pool villa on the beach (#22, which is featured in most of the photos/postcards) and it was perfect. The room was traditional Omanian style, great air conditioning system-important in the dessert!!, great infinity pool, cool little area next to the pool to lounge and play board games and a fun mini beach house to nap in. My favorite part was the outdoor shower-so refreshing in the heat. There is a lovely indoor shower as well. The rooms are really well laid out and spacious.

The food at Zighy is delicious and the chefs are happy to accomodate requests.

Each villa has its own bulter, our butler was good but not great-have had better. Overall, though the entire staff at Zighy Bay is very helpful, friendly, and accomodating.
They do a really great job at taking care of the environment and education the local villagers on how to take care of their natural resources.

There were not a lot of people while we were there-maybe 5-6 other couples that we saw. We were leaving on a weekend and the resort was starting to get busier-seems like its probably being a new hot spot for weekend getaways from Dubai.

The souks at Zighy have pretty good shopping and if this is your only stop in Oman you'll definitely be able to find some cool things to take home. I actually hit the jackpot and went home with an Omanian bracelett that was display only because its an antique but the shop/gallery was willing to sell it to me-its beautiful and such a special keepsake!

I loved all three stops on our honeymoon but Oman was my favorite because Zighy Bay is truly a unique and special place. Wonderful experience and really amazing honeymoon spot! You will love it and be super relaxed!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AR407145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We were in this hotel two times in December 2009 and in Desenber 2010. Its our home far away from home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lika-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This Six Senses retreat matches the exceptional standards set by the group's other properties mainly in the Far East whilst harmonising perfectly with the Omani location and culture. It's the perfect antedote to the bling of nearby Dubai.It ticks all the boxes that I look for in a relaxing holiday - amazing spa, intuitive discreet service, innovative delicious cuisine ( and room service to rival the restaurants) and a great kids club. The beach is vast and very safe and check out Dining on the Edge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilli_bom_bom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

You can improve the cooking, the prices are too expensive. You can also add a feature of fishing. also no body knows about your hotel you need to inform the public.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I'd heard a lot about Six Senses Zighy Bay before we actually went there. All the PR stuff made it sound amazing, but a few friends who'd been slated it and, particularly, the food. We chose it because we live in Dubai and have small children - it was an easy place to go with little kids as we could just load the car and drive there without the hassle of flying.

I can't express how glad I am that we tried it. The drive from Dubai took just over 90 minutes and, when we arrived there, I felt like we had arrived in the Far East. The service, from the moment we walked through the door, was exemplary - completely different from the usual lacklustre service one tends to get in resorts in this region.

We had a room butler who couldn't do enough for us. HIgh chair not in the room? It was there within one minute of my call. Extra bed for the nanny? No problem. Pool too cold? We'll warm it up. Every tiny query I had was dealt with promptly and politely.

The room was rustic but comfortable and very spacious, the bed perhaps one of the most comfy I've ever slept in in a hotel. The food was good - the breakfasts (a mix of a la carte and buffet) were to die for, and the kids' menu was great - healthy but delicious. The staff couldn't do enough for the children, who had to fill out guest preference forms before arrival (fresh marshmallows, homemade cookies, milk before bed, mini dressing gowns?) - the resort bicycles parked outside the room even included a small one for my daughter.

The Kids' Club kept my five-year-old amused. Instead of having to attend for the whole day, activities are scheduled on the hour and kids can duck in and out for what they fancy. Highlights included feeding the goats, henna tattoos and the pyjama cinema with popcorn.

We stayed three nights but I felt we had been in Thailand for a week or more, it was so relaxing. It's expensive, but we've paid high prices at other hotels in the region only to be disappointed so it seemed good value, especially if you catch one of the 'buy two get one free' offers. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellsDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This place is amazing - from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave there is absolutely nothing to fault. The staff are excellent - can't do enough for you without being in your face in any way.

The resort is in the most beautiful surroundings - it's got the mountains as a backdrop and the clear blue waters of the sea in front of you. The beach is the cleanest i've ever seen.

The villas are well furnished and have everything you need. F&B is excellent - from the breakfast, the room service meals to the mountain top restaurant - it's all good. And it has a great wine selection.

I would highly recommend this resort to people of all ages.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctcharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zighy Bay
9.9 mi away
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
#1 of 1 in Dibba Al Bay Ah
234 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#1 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
15.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
23.8 mi away
Oceanic Khorfakkan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Property: Six Senses Zighy Bay
Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing