We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally somewhere you feel is really different than all you've seen before!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Perfect for young children and teenagers! lots of activities, great food, excellent services (very rare in the area)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grajewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

Total relaxation in the most simply luxurious surroundings of our mini compound, with immediate attention from charming staff. The food was a delight, and the weather so comfortable and design of the room so perfect, there was no need for the air conditioning. The only sadnes was that we had no view of the sea, particularly at dawn when the sun rises above the Gulf of Oman. We wish that we had taken more advantage of the spa - just wonderful. Oh, and that the sea was too rough when we booked for a sunset cruise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Six Senses Zighy Bay is a hidden gem... nestled in a cove between mountains and the sea, you forget all about the stress of work and daily chores and enjoy pure relaxation! They even have their own time called Zighy Time (one hour ahead of UAE/Oman). The resort was amazing, the staff were brilliant, the swimming pool in our villa was the best and the sea was a gorgeous clear blue-green playground! You forget what time it is or the fact that you might have to go to work in a few days time! Zighy Time is the best kind of time there is!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Wow. From the moment we stepped off the plane ( literally ) to when we stepped back on we loved it. We managed to completely skip the two or three days it normally takes to wind down, and by the end of the first day we were wonderfully relaxed. It's not budget, but you do feel like it's worth the money.

Don't be put off by the troubles in the Middle East - Oman remains unaffected ( and is likely to continue to be ) - and you're as close to Libya in the Uk as you are in Oman.

All in all a perfect holiday

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnottedTie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Oman's best kept secret Six Senses Zighy Bay.
My wife and I have travelled here 5 times now and we still have found no other place in the world like it.

Although in Oman this destination is closer to Dubai then to the capital of Oman (Muscat). To get here you should travel to Dubai airport and from there the journey time is about 1 and a half hours drive.
Once you get to Dibba you can Boat, Car or Paraglide to the resort. We took the car option! It’s a beautiful drive to the resort as you drive through the mountains where there are amazing view points. You can see the whole resort within the cove in which it lays. and the surrounding mountains. When you arrive the staff are always waiting outside to greet you and no request has ever been too difficult. The staffs main focus is always to make sure your stay is comfortable and it seems that each member of staff has been specially picked from around the world to work here specifically.

You are given your own butler who co-ordinates all your requirements from picking you up in his buggy for your spa treatment to unpacking your suit case for you... Yes you heard right and they will even pack for you before you leave as well.

On our last stay we were kindly upgraded to a beach pool villa where we had our own pool and past that our own part of the white sandy beach. On the left side of the beach there is a little room made from bamboo where you can lay during the day out of the sunshine and where the breeze will hypnotically send you to sleep. All villas’ have an outside area with your own sun beds and table area.

The inside of the villa's are furnished in a rustic style and have all the modern accessories you may need including free wifi, video on demand & international sockets, great amenities and a whole area dedicated to tea, coffee, ice cold fridge and even a wine cooler. The Zighy bottled water is complimentary.

The bedding is truly soft and the beds are big and you are also given a pillow menu for your comfort.

I would recommend the breakfast and make sure you have this included within your rate as the breakfasts are amazing. The selection is vast and so is the room service menu, even more so than many modern city hotels we have stayed at. Furthermore the quality of food is outstanding. They have a great cinema menu with popcorn etc which is great for movie evenings.

The moon rises to the left of the cove and through the evening you see it rise into the sky. At first it seems so close you feel you could reach out and touch it. I have never seen the moon in such a way anywhere through our travels and the shimmer of it on the sea is absolutely magical.

The spa is tranquil and definately not an afterthought. The therapists are well trained, polite and knowledgeable. The treatments aren’t over priced and the treatment rooms well equipped and well air-conditioned.

Time slows down at Zighy Bay however I would recommend a week if possible as it will feel like a month.

We can’t wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tell_It_Like_It_Is_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Amazing! From the first stunning drive through the mountains to the breathtaking view of the The Six Senses Hideaway against the spectacular backdrop of the Gulf of Oman; it promised a lot and it delivered. A little pricey, but then for the very comfortable accomodation, rustic villas with modern facilities inside, a private infinity pool, private spa , kayaking, a long private beach and personal butler it was well worth the outlay.

Our stay was complimented by great services from the staff. We were warmly welcomed by Anjali Gonsalves who made sure we were well looked after right through our stay in spite of her hectic schedule. We were pleased to learn from her about how ecofriendly the place was.

The personal care by Lahiru our butler, the cleanliness of our villas by the housekeeping staff led by Dilip Patel, the library and the cheerful faces of all the staff we came across added to our comfort. Breakfast was a treat especially when accompanied by our friendly waiter Atif and the waitresses. The kids club provided our kids with various supervised activities and the safe beach made it family friendly . Our kids loved the Zighy goats they were given as gifts.

From just lazing in our private pool to para gliding, scubadiving, cycling, kayaking, trekking, microlights - there was something for everyone. I was a little concerned my asthma would recur flying on a microlight. But was thrilled that I had no trouble at all probably because of the clean air. The pilot made it a ride to remember. The view from the top was absolutely spectacular.

A perfectly lazy, invigorating holiday and definitely on our 'must do again' list.

Marisa Lobo Biddappa

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curi0us08_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I must say that I was disappointed. We have stayed 4 other Six Senses (or Evason) and many other private island or pool villa destinations earlier. Villa was booked via Six Senses own web pages (not by travel agent) three months before our stay and it cost 1424 USD a day (incl taxes and service charge). We stayed there four nights, that made 5696 USD for a room only, our total bill was 9608 USD. You expect what you pay for, we expected a lot. We did not get it.

First miss was reservation for a transportation. We got a form soon after our booking was made where it was asked how we want to arrive to the hotel (three options: by car, by boat and by paraglide). Naturally, since the resort is over 100 miles from Dubai, you'll need a car anyway. I wrote that we are coming from Armani Hotel Dubai, and need a transportation. I never got any confirmation or other email from the hotel. One day before our departure flight to Dubai I sent an email just to make sure everything was okay. It appeared that they had got my email, but they had not done anything to it. We had no transportation arranged! Paraglide which we asked for was arranged. Well, we got a transportation after some negotiation, for 250 USD one way. If I had not asked, I'm sure we would have been wondering in front of Armani Hotel whether our car will ever come, and it would have not. Inferior service! Inferior service for any hotel, apart of one charging over 1400 USD a day for a room.

Well, our problems did not end there. Our driver missed paragliding jump stand. First we were surprising why, of course nobody knew nothing in the reception. After 30 minutes of waiting we drove back on top of the mountain. Paraglide jump was excellent though, I may recommend it for anybody not hysterical of high altitude. Both my wife and I had it and enjoyed a lot. Ask for extra adrenalin, if you want some!

Our villa was in the second raw and it had extremely poor sea view. They sell Beach Front Pool Villa separately, so be prepared for not having a sea view even paying over 1400 USD a day. This was not a problem, I did expect it. The biggest problem was a terrible noise from the roof on the villa at night time, like someone was walking there and throwing stones on it. It appeared that it is a combination of wind and heating-cooling expansion-compression of the roof materials. Noise was that extensive that we did not sleep for first two nights. Of course we booked that villa for a holiday to relax, unfortunately it was impossible at a night time.

Running totally out of water in the middle of the shower is another thing not to be expected in five star resort, but surely it happened. I had to wait for an hour for it to be fixed. No apologies were presented at any time. I understand that repair man do not speak much english, but butler for a villa, or preferably a member of a management team, should have apologized for this poor service, perhaps offer something for compensation. Nothing was said or offered.

There were a number of other smaller problems such as wifi in the villa not working properly (using iPad and two iPhones), it had to rebooted every ten minutes. Bikes provided for each villa were total crap, all carnage, totally useless. In the form they sent after a booking they asked what kind of music we want to have in our villa. There were no music at all in our villa but the stupid online music library used via tv set - fortunately there were an iPod stand. JBL speakers were tiny and bad. Villa was nice, bed good and pool okay (water was quite comfortable temperature).

They flag for slow life but service in restaurants was TRULY slow at most times. Dining on the cliff restaurant (On the Edge) was pretty disasterous due to the cold windy weather even when jackets and Pashminas was offered. For some reason they did not offer anybody to seat inside. Of seven courses six were cold (not due to the weather but intentionally not a warm dish). This is not a gourmet restaurant, although you could expect so from the bill.

There is no proper central pool area (all villas have a small pool). There is a pool there, but it's practically only for children's use. There were actually quite many families with children at the time we were there (Feb 18th to Feb 22nd). If you travel with children, it's great. If you are not, you may consider other resorts.

This is not a bad place to be. I would say this is a good four star quality resort worth perhaps 250 USD a day. For premium five star they are presenting and what their brand would expect for it's catastrophic. My conclusion of our stay is that the management team of this hotel is totally incompetent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dr_aaltonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zighy Bay
2.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
#1 of 1 in Dibba Al Bay Ah
242 reviews
9.9 mi away
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
306 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#2 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
1,594 reviews
9 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
#3 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range: £503 - £1,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing