We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Holiday”
Review of Hotel Babymio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Babymio
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We just spent a week at the Banymio with our 3 children ages 1, 5, and 9. It was one of our favourite holidays ever!
The staff at this hotel are wonderful. Everyone spoke English and since we were there during the UK half term break a large number of other guests were English speaking as well.
The room was a family suite set up with a crib, changing table, toys, etc. There were 2 full bathrooms with heated floors and heated towel bars. The room was spotlessly clean and serviced each day.
The hotel is full board and the quality of food offered was wonderful. There was a hot breakfast buffet, a light lunch, afternoon cake, and a full buffet dinner each night. Also included is a baby food buffet for kids under 2. We thought the food was delicious, the service was excellent and the facilities were very clean and well maintained.
Childcare is offered each day. The staff were excellent and I felt our baby was well cared for.
The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the beginner ski area where our older kids were in ski school. This was a wonderful set up for us. The hotel staff provided info about the ski school and also about where to rent skis etc. The hotel also has a boot room to store equipment. They have high quality strollers, baby backpacks, baby toboggans, and regular toboggans available to borrow.
There is a very nice indoor heated pool area that the whole family enjoyed.
Overall, I give the Babymio my highest recommendation. It is a beautiful family run hotel in a wonderful location, Where everything is of the highest standard. I can see why so many of the guests are repeat customers!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YellowBrickRoad2Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

We are a couple with a 9 month old baby and were desperate to go skiing but couldn’t find anyone else mad enough to go with us. We researched extensively with both family specific and general tour operators, and found that although many offer childcare in the day; very few were set up specifically with babies and their particular requirements in mind. So for example many had long transfer times but no car seat offered.

In the end we chose Babymio because as a family run baby centred hotel run by a qualified midwife, it seemed to offer the best environment for the baby, as well as baby activities such as swimming, massage and walks as an alternative to skiing. It was also seemed to offer very good value for money as its full board including all the activities and childcare.

When we first arrived we found it quite intimidating as the majority of information was in German and we were the only English people staying in the hotel (the clientele being mainly made up of Germans, Dutch and a few Italians). However the staff couldn’t have been more helpful or welcoming and everyone staying there was very friendly. Every aspect of the hotel was well thought through for babies. The room had a changing station, play mat and toys as well as a cot and baby bath. The swimming pool was heated to a warm temperature and had swimming aids.

Eating
Everyone staying there had children under 5 and there were many babies. You get a table assigned to you in the restaurant and you eat with you baby at every meal. There are bibs, cutlery and beakers so you don’t need to bring any of this with you. There is a Nestle baby food buffet and for a small supplement you can also order them to make something fresh. Having said that we found that the general buffet had lots to offer that you could adapt for your baby if, like us, you like to give them finger food. The food was excellent and the hotel went out of their way to ensure my husband (who only eats vegetarian or fish) had something to eat at every meal. There are toys and baby friendly areas in the dining hall and bar so once you’ve eaten the children can play while you socialise with the other guests.

Skiing
The village where the hotel is, only has a nursery slope and one blue run about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel so for proper skiing you need to get a taxi or a free ski bus to Steinplatte or St Johann. The slopes there are great for beginners and intermediates but we did use taxis because the timings didn’t quite match the childcare timings. – This is something the hotel is looking at.

Childcare
The hotel offers a crèche. The issue we had was that on the first day of our stay everyone tried to put their children in, and staff were swamped, so by English standards we didn’t feel there were enough carers to babies. We assumed that the care ratios would be the same as UK but in Austria it the requirements are less strict. That said, the staff were very caring and capable and the environment was very clean and nice and the ratios did improve over the course of the week, as less children attended. Despite this we decided to pay extra for a dedicated child minder provided by the hotel who was excellent.

Overall all three of us had a really good holiday, we got three full days skiing and got to spend a very special time with the baby. There was no perfect option and this seemed to offer the best solution to keep everyone happy. I would say if you are going to skiing with your baby or toddler you need to go with the attitude that you may not be able to ski every day and even with childcare you may get called back. That’s why it’s really good to stay in a baby hotel because everyone else is in the same boat.

Thank you to Mrs Seiwald and your lovely team at Babymio.

-

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This summer we've spent (my husband, my 2 years old son and myself) a wonderful week at Babymio hotel. the services was great, the food excellent, rooms were clean, the pool...is great and the location is very very nice (you may go biking, walking, forest trip, Elmau's park, triassic park..)....ooo...and the owners are very very nice and professionals. we definitely plan to go back and spend another wonderful holiday. Ioana

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ioana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sebastian_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Riss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirchdorf in Tirol hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Gut Kramerhof
Hotel Gut Kramerhof
#6 of 16 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
29 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Seiwald
Hotel Seiwald
#2 of 16 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Sonnleit'n
Pension Sonnleit'n
#3 of 5 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Pension Woergoetter
Pension Woergoetter
#4 of 8 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
#2 of 5 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Privatzimmer Treffer
Privatzimmer Treffer
#2 of 8 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Babymio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babymio

Address: Habach 10, Kirchdorf in Tirol 6382, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchdorf in Tirol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Kirchdorf in Tirol
Price Range: £135 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Babymio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Babymio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing