We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Service and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Value, Service and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Been to Kirchdorf in Tirol four times now but this was the first time to stay in Neuwirt from 22 - 29 Jan 2011. For a week devoted to skiing, the hotel fully met our expectations and we would have no hesitation to return or recommend to others. While staying there, it catered to couples and families with small children.

We took one of the junior suites on the third floor which included bedroom, lounge, bathroom with shower and seperate WC. The lounge led out onto a balcony looking up the valley. The hotel has had a complete makeover a few years ago. Rooms were clean and tidy, centrally heated, beds were very comfortable, ensuring good night's sleep.

We opted for the "half-board" option which included traditional Austrian breakfast buffet of cereals, cold cuts, cheese, eggs etc. Choice of two 3-course menus for dinner are selected at breakfast time and were wholesome with decent sized portions.

There is a village ski bus that picks skiers up around 09.00 and drops them a mile down the road on the main Ski Express bus routes and connects efficiently upon their return to drop you back at the Neuwirt in the evening.

If you are looking for nightlife, Kirchdorf itself is not the place to stay unless you are willing to pay a Euro 20 return taxi fare for the 15 minute ride into St Johann in Tirol where there is more apres ski activity for the younger age group.

Our only quibbles were that the junior suite did bot have a bath (but then we did not specify when booking) and the internet connection in the hotel lobby was broken the entire time we were there (but then you go on holiday to get away from work anyway).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    10
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
taunton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Just returned from 4 night ski break.

This was an very good value Hotel although in a quiet location. The room was spotless and had a lovely view to St Johann down the valley. Large balcony.

Food was really good, would be limited to some especially if you are not willing to give local dishes a try but we like to try the local cuisine so it was great. You get two three course options for dinner each day. Limited for children.

Breakfast was fine with all the usual continental options.

The Hotel was very quiet in a quiet village and you really need to go to St Johann for any entertainment. 10 euro taxi ride away.

Overall the hotel was very good but somewhat spoilt by a rude member of service staff who i'd say is the manager. Owners very nice and the young Austrian girl who speaks very good English was brilliant and only too happy to help.

The same could not be said of the manger who was rude when we asked if we could get a bit of breakfast 10 mins before the bus came to pick us up.

No breakfast provided to us and he was really rude when we asked if we could have a simple bread roll to take with us.

Funny thing was that German guests were sat at the bar having breakfast before they left on a bus at the same time. He was like that the whole time really and was having a go at the young waitress in front of guests when she was first class in evrything she did. He needs to take a look at himself and a lesson in guest service from her. The hotel should allow guests to get some breakfast when leaving at 7.25am when it opens at 7.30!!!!!

Went with Crystal holidays which could have certainly given better info on ski bus service etc.

Overall a good stay but would probably not stay there again due to poor attitude of one member of satff right at the end which was a shame. Otherwise certaily 4 star grade.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webster5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Although we'd been to this area in the summer and loved it, this was our first skiing trip so didn't know quite what to expect. We chose Kirchdorf as it was rated highly for beginners and booked the beginners skiing package. The whole skiing experience was great. The Kirchdorf slopes are perfect for beginners and the instructors were brilliant.

The hotel was about 15 mins walk from the slopes but there was a free bus although we never used it, preferring instead to walk (especially on the way back, as we somehow always ended up at the friendly local hostelry for a Gluhwein and beer or two!).
The food at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was unlimited and offered cereals, yogurt, delicious fresh breads/rolls, cold meats, cheeses, boiled, fried or scrambled eggs and much more. Great before a day's skiing! We found we didn't need lunch after filling up on breakfast. Dinner again was plentiful and good quality - always a soup, fantastic salad buffet and dessert, plus a choice of main course. Service was good and friendly (thanks, Robert!). And the views from the restaurant are amazing.

The room was basic and fairly small but immaculately clean. We (and some other guests) found the rooms too warm but an open window soon sorted that out. We had a bathroom with shower (no bath) and a lovely balcony. Great for what we needed but not really comfortable if you wanted to sit in and relax in the evening. But there are some (but not many) bars only 5 mins walk away.

Bearing in mind this is a 3 star hotel, we were very pleased with the accommodation generally. The location was very quiet and, if you don't mind a short walk, good for the village (and two well stocked Spar supermarkets) and the views beautiful. The only real gripe we had about the hotel was the lack of reception service. Whenever we passed by reception it was unstaffed. So when we needed help with bus times or other information, it was hard to come by. Also, both in the hotel and in the bars, we suffered from inhaling unpleasant cigarette smoke. The Austrians do not seem to have embraced the smoking ban as yet!

Other than that, we couldn't really fault the resort, the hotel and its staff, would go again and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed at Hotel Neuwirt for 1 week, as we came into the hotel the reception was very small and we couldn't fit our suitcases properly through the door and were cramed in to a small space to check in. We then were cramed in to this tiny lift that wasn't properly programmed to the hotel and there were unessary numbers there, it looked like they just bought it off any randomer. The room was very basic. It had very low slung beds that felt they were about to collapse and they were also very squeeky so I couldn't get to sleep very well. The toilet was right next to the beds which was offputting. There was only a bath in our room which ran a mucky brown water colour, in the end i had to use the sauna shower because i couldn't stand the sight of the mucky water. On a morning the breakfast was reasonable, the breads and the cereals were nice but they served cold meat and there was only one breakfast juice and that was diluted orange juice!! It was horrible and too sour. And on the first morning of breakfast we were told that we had to choose out of two meals options, two of my family members were vegetarian and the served them what they cooked the night before, also the waiter were unpleasent and terrible, he threw down our deserts and you could even see the desert move out of place!! The only reasonable thing was the sauna although it was cramped if you had more than 4 people. The night before, we were set to leave the hotel we asked the waiter if we could have breakfast early because our transport was picking us up 15 mins before the opening time for breakfast the man said we could only have ten minutes to eat brakfast! The man couldn't accomodate our needs and that was very dissapointing. Overall i wouold say this is a very poor hotel it expect some comforts and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djihfisuhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

On arrival we initially had to search for someone to check us in, however this is because the hotel is family run and there just aren't that many staff.

The room was pretty basic but nipping clean - only a shower room mind no bath. The view was lovely though especially when it snowed.

We were half board - breakfast was great - cereals - hams & cheese - bread rolls - omlette - boiled & fried eggs and fruit salad, it kept us going. You picked your evening meal at breakfast time. There were two choices and a childrens menu. Usually soup to start, followed by meat and a "filler" say rice or pasta etc and then a dessert. They also provide an amazing selection of buffet salads and bread rolls.

The hotel is on the Ski bus route - the mini bus takes you to the bottom of the run in Kirchdorf itself then you can catch another bus to St Johann or Steinplatte. Beware the buses only run on a morning and afternoon, and if you miss the bus its a 15 - 20 minute walk back to the hotel, which in ski boots carrying ski's is horrible. The skiing was great though - we were very lucky it snowed every night so we had fresh powder every day.

Runs at Kirchdorf great for biginners - but not much there. If you can ski or board already- then head to St Johann, Steinplatte or Feeburunne.

Now if you want apres ski - this is not going to be for you. The hotel doesn't really have a bar area, just more seats and table with the rest of the village being just as dead.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

nicely located although 15 mins walk to slopes. pleasant walk. rooms clean and spacious good views. food fair no choice for children. satff very unhelpful appeared put out if asked for anything. hotel much too hot not allowed to open a window in the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blobbydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K-town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We are a big family and Hotel Neuwirt roomed and fed us at a great price with 5-star food. The staff is very friendly and hard working. We arrived after 2200 and they stayed up to feed us. Santa came over Christmas Eve to the Restaurant and brought a bag of candy for each of our 6 kids! They have a heated rack to dry your ski boots. This is run by a very nice man ad his wife. They have a beautiful baby. While this hotel is not on the ski slopes it is incredible easy to get to the free parking (about a 3 minute drive). There are free buses that run from the free parking to the other ski slopes as well. Please invest your time here, you will be very happy.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirchdorf in Tirol
1.6 mi away
Vital-Hotel Berghof
Vital-Hotel Berghof
#2 of 3 in Erpfendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.6 mi away
Der Laerchenhof
Der Laerchenhof
#1 of 3 in Erpfendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Waidringer Hof - 1. Tiroler Gluckshotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pension Sonnleit'n
Pension Sonnleit'n
#3 of 6 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sportpension Mountain High
Sportpension Mountain High
#4 of 6 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt

Property: Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
Address: Wengerstrasse 10 | 6382 Kirchdorf in Tirol, Kirchdorf in Tirol 6382, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchdorf in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kirchdorf in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing