We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Krimmlerfalle
Ranked #7 of 12 Krimml B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fading”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A kind and honest family hotel. And by 'honest' I mean adequate.

It has all of the facilities that you want and they were all excellent - once. Perhaps in the early to mid 1990s ? A swimming pool that the children loved and, to paraphrase Basil Fawlty, which the adults could definitely use in an emergency.

Food is all standard Austrian fare. Service, however, is poor and the period in which meals are served ludicrously narrow (dinner from 6 until 7.30). And no chance to choose your own table. The flies get to choose.

All of that said, I enjoyed my stay (just). I was able to immerse myself in a warm bath of 'adequacy'.

I would just like to see the occasional sign of investment in the main public parts of the hotel. Everything seems to have started to fade from exactly the same point in time. Probably so slowly the owners haven't noticed.

In summary, faded but not totally tatty (yet). Adequate, not poor.

Just a few questions:

Homeopathic orange juice - one part orange juice to many parts water ?
Towel or flannel ?
Soup or water ?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We reserved here at the last minute by phone and were shown three different rooms to choose from when we arrived, all of which were pleasant. The receptionist was very friendly and made us feel welcome. The room we choose was attractively and comfortably furnished and we slept well here. We also appreciated the view of the distant water falls from the balcony.
We took half board and the value for money was excellent, although personally, I would rather have paid a bit more for slightly better food. The breakfast buffet food was left uncovered and the staff didn't seem bothered by the fact that there were flies all over it. Generally, the staff seemed to do their best and were pretty friendly, but still seemed a little out of their depth. The range of foods on the buffet were ok although in my experience one usually gets a wider range to choose from in 4 star hotels. The fairly small outdoor swimming pool was adequate and clean, the relaxation room looked and smelt lovely and the sauna was good.
We would come back but might not take half board again.

Room Tip: I'd go for a room on the first floor or above for more privacy and ask for a waterfall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_regnifarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obertraun, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband, four year old grandson and myself have just returned from a short break at the Hotel Krimmlerfalle. I would like to thank everyone there for making our stay so good. From the telephone call to make the reservation to checking out, everything was great.

There is plenty of free parking at the hotel, so no worries about having to pay in one of the other car parks. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the entrance of the waterfalls, so the car wasn't needed at all during our stay.

The room that we had was on the ground floor, with a terrace with a mountain view. We could also see the waterfall from the side of the terrace. The room was immaculately clean. The flooring is a very nice allergy free wooden floor. The bathroom had a bath and shower, with showerscreen.

The breakfast was a buffet, with so much to choose from. The evening meals were very good. All of the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of them spoke some English too, which is helpful when your German isn't great! There is a good sized terrace area, which was a lovely place to sit outside in the evening.

The swimming pool was very clean and the garden area around it was well maintained. From the swimming pool area, you can see the waterfall.

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We were taken to our room as we checked in and given lots of advice about the area.
I will definitly return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddieMercury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We`ve spent a week there and i must say it has been one of the most relaxing vacation we ever had! In few word: good food, very nice atmosphere, good beer, cozy rooms and very good slopes at Zillertal Arena. Many thanks to the Schoppl`s for being such good hosts.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krimml hotels
0.0 mi away
NationalPark Hotel Klockerhaus
0.0 mi away
Panoramahotel Burgeck
Panoramahotel Burgeck
#2 of 3 in Krimml
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Zur Post
Hotel Gasthof Zur Post
#9 of 12 in Krimml
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gastehaus Waltl
Gastehaus Waltl
#1 of 7 in Krimml
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Falkenstein
Gasthof Falkenstein
#2 of 12 in Krimml
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gastehaus Edelweiss
Gastehaus Edelweiss
#5 of 12 in Krimml
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krimmlerfalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krimmlerfalle

Property: Hotel Krimmlerfalle
Address: Wasserfallstrasse 42, Krimml 5743, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Krimml
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Krimml
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krimmlerfalle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Krimmlerfalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing