We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Schick”
Review of Hotel Schick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schick
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Walchsee
1 review
“Indian Schick”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Seven of us tried the Indian Schick menu. I had the "Pork Vindaloo" which was offered with pasta so opted for a plain rice. On the whole the main courses were cooked reasonably well. There was a painfully long wait for the food and some quite surly service. My conclusion and that of the groups was a interesting idea but not really thought through. Please can anyone explain why poppadums alway cost a fortune and are never cooked properly in continental Europe compared with a typical Indian restaurant in G Britain.
Nashingteeth

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pixel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
35
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It has been a nice stay in this hotel. The room was big, well conditioned, well furnished and full of charm. The personnel were fantastic in every single aspect, always looking to help you. The half-pension is fully recommended and the breakfast is really good. The surroundings are plenty of things to do specially in the near mountains. To run along the lake is nice.
The swimming-pool and the sauna are very relaxing. As I was traveling with the family I did not try the Ayurveda part but it seems a good option too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We needed a place to stop half way between Germany and Italy and found this hotel on booking.com. We were totally impressed as soon as we arrived by the gorgeous scenery and facade of the hotel. Once inside we were greeted by friendly smiling staff with a strength for customer service. Our rooms were lovely and had a beautiful alpine village feel. The staff were second to none, in particular Peter our bartender and Carolin our hostess. We went with our two young children and both nights they were really tired and the staff accommodated us by allowing us to take the food up to our room, otherwise we wouldn't have eaten. The pool/health facilities were good too and very clean. The food itself was very tasty and had something to cater for all tastes. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had everything and anything you could think of. I personally couldn't fault this hotel and the staff went above and beyond for us. I would recommend this hotel to a couple, family or even a single.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin_Louise_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My partner and I stayed in Hotel Schick for a week in August 2012. We were on a walking holiday. Wonderful warm staff, nothing was an issue. We had no Austrian (bar our trusty translation book), had lots of questions about the area, walking, activities, arrived in each day with muddy/dusty boots .. nothing fazed them. The room was lovely, nice and big, big balcony, 2 bathrooms, cleaned each morning. I think all the rooms have a balcony. Breakfast ... never missed it .. amazing! Dinner in the restaurant was excellent (very good for veggies). There are other restaurants in the town also. Did the Yoga class in Austrian! Was very good. Full spa/massage treatment area. Pretty garden. Fab area (if you're into walking, cycling etc etc). They say the Irish are inviting, friendly, warm, effusive ... Hotel Schick is right up there. Hope to be back again.

Room Tip: Front rooms face onto the street, I expect they could be noisy but sunny. Rooms facing the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCK421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just returned from a repeat stay at this lovely hotel. Maybe I shouldn't be reviewing it, as the location and the area are so stunning that it might attract other people! The whole valley from Kufstein to Kossen and beyond is stunning - the Kaiserwinkl area. If you like the Lake District, this is far better! We go to the Lake District at least 3 weeks a year and we are beginning to think it is nothing compared to the Kaiserwinkl.

We travel all over the world and rarely go back to places a second time. We are intending to return to the Hotel Schick at Walchsee for a 3rd visit next year. The staff are just wonderful (Carolin, Natalie, Silke, Werner etc, thank you for your English translations!). They will do anything for you. The rooms are gorgeous. The food is amazing - and they will cook almost anything for you, if you don't like or don't eat what is on the menu. The pool, saunas etc are lovely - although a steam room would be a welcome addition. There is a free internet terminal, but maybe a second one would be a good idea?

The location of the hotel is fantastic - but that means you are near a road - as most small villages are in Austria and Germany. Book rooms at the back, or you will get road noise. There are no lake views, but from almost every room you can see the stunning mountains and surroundings.

The hotel has its own free bicycles for lending out. This is a huge bonus in this area, which has masses of way-marked walking and cycling routes. Why can't the UK have equally good walking markers and off-road cycling? We cycled over 40 Km one day and were only on an actual road for less than 1 minute.

There are a couple of problems. There was nowhere in the room to dry any wet clothes, as the bathroom heating was a radiator, and the heating was not on. There was no heat source or drying rack in the room. However, they did dry our shoes in their laundry room, at no cost.

The other problem is the lack of any English language TV. Austria has gone digital and the hotel has 9 channels - all in German. Fortunately for us, one was Eurosport, showing the US Open tennis! But, if the hotel is going to get more English-speaking clients, this needs sorting out. I understand that there is a technical problem with it.

Would we go back? Like a shot! We would live there, if we could! We really didn't want to leave - and this is my benchmark for giving any hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, or a room facing inwards on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kas647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just returned after a delightful 3 night stay at this hotel with my wife and 9 year old son. It is so refreshing when the person who checks you in is warm & welcoming and introduces themselves & their colleagues who you will meet during your stay. All through our stay the staff were wonderful in all areas.

We stayed half board and the food on the 5 course evening menu was absolutely lovely. Although my 9 year old was offered the choice of nuggets etc. ... once he had tasted our food he ordered the same each evening ... we were very impressed. The breakfast buffet was also very ample and the fresh breads were especially lovely. The lady serving even asked if we would like to take a little food for our son for later on our trips. I would certainly suggest staying half board as it represents very good value from what we saw. Drinks were not expensive either.

Our room had a spectacular view of the mountains and each morning I would draw back the curtains a little, get back into bed and just watch out of them for a while. Everything worked as it should (hairdryer), the beds were comfortable, there were even gowns to use for the pool & sauna areas. I think the only thing I would have liked is tea & coffee facilities in the room ... but did not see that in any of the 3 hotels we stayed in. No English TV channels either .. just one news channel would have been good.

The free use of bikes from the hotel was great and we certainly made use of them. Several needed a little maintenance though. Cycling was so easy band there are tracks to take nearby. There were also board games for the children available from reception which was a nice idea too.

The hotel is situated on the main road through Walchsee and can't be missed. It has it's own underground car park that is free to use for guests. It is about an hour and a half from Munich, probably less than an hour from Salzburg and probably would be just under 3 hours from Memmingen where we flew in from (stopped for a night in Munich). The roads are good in the region and it is an easy drive. Invest in a Sat Nav with Europe maps built in ... so useful.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor or above and facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny_the_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walchsee
0.8 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#1 of 7 in Walchsee
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#6 of 7 in Walchsee
21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riedl
Hotel Riedl
#3 of 6 in Kossen
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#2 of 6 in Kossen
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bernhard am See
Hotel Bernhard am See
#7 of 38 in Walchsee
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Brunner
Seehotel Brunner
#1 of 15 in Walchsee
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schick

Property: Hotel Schick
Address: Johannesstrasse 1, Walchsee 6344, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Walchsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Walchsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schick 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SCHICK is located at the centre of the idyllic resort of Walchsee in northern Tyrol (Austria), surrounded by a glorious mountain and lake landscape, yet only one hour by car from Munich, Salzburg and Innsbruck. Your host families, the Fischbachers and the Jaehners are now in their third generation here taking care of their guests personally and providing a distinctive service. Due to the wonderful location you can start nearly every holiday activity directly from the hotel (hiking, swimming, golfing, walking) Our SCHICK life SPA offers authentically Ayurveda treatments beside beauty treatments and all kind of massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing