We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Day Whale Swimming!”
Morning coffee on the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morning coffee on the deck
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Morning coffee on the deck
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach
View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Your location - Fofoa Island, Vava'u Islands, Kingdom of Tonga
Natural beauty in the details
Bamboo clad bathroom
fully equipped kitchen
Outside dining
Your boat Lavinuella
view from the deck
Join us swimming with humpback whales
your beach
Kid friendly/family fun
Fruit basket from the organic garden
View from your deck
The view from the master bedroom
village of Hunga
Swimming with humpback whale calf
Onsite Massage
Kitesurfing on the lagoon
Fresh fish for dinner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Fofoa, Vava'u Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Kirsti W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Day Whale Swimming!”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The guys from the beach house took us out for the day on an expedition to swim with humpback whales and it was fantastic. I was very nervous and a bit sea sick but the guys were incredibly understanding and helped me overcome my fears to have one of the most wonderful experiences of my life. They were super attentive and the lunch was fantastic! I understand that they usually only do trips for guests staying with them but we were lucky enough to book for the day and it's a day I'll never forget! Thanks so much.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Malo lahi - so glad you enjoyed your whalewatching trip with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby D
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Coral Cottage ”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful



We were delighted to be the first guests at The Coral Cottage last week. Our eight night stay was perfect.
The cottage is beautifully presented, with two fales side by side, set amongst the trees above the gorgeous lagoon.
The first fale is a living and kitchen area. I loved curling up on the day bed with a book and enjoying that stunning lagoon views.
The second fale had a spacious bedroom and bathroom. Sitting in bed with my morning cuppa looking out to the jungle one way and across the lagoon the other way was heaven!
Where else can you see whales leaping while standing under the shower!?!
Our favourite spot was sitting above the sparkling blue water on the stairs that dropped into the lagoon. A perfect place for sunset drinks after a day of swimming with whales.
We took the fully catered option and loved the beautiful meals which include lots of fresh seafood and salads.
Boris, Karyn and their team are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make our stay truly special.
Our eight night stay was the perfect length as we were able to have four days of whale swims and three days just to relax, and explore the lagoon and neighboring islands.
This was our second visit to Fofoa and definitely not our last!
Thank you Karyn and Boris.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thanks Libby - it was such a pleasure having you and Rob here to stay again. We were thrilled you enjoyed the new Coral Cottage and what an amazing time we had with the whales and the dolphins! Looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela L
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Incredible experience in a tropical paradise”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from a week at The Beach House. We were blessed with amazing weather and calm seas. We were extremely fortunate to swim with the two humpback whales and experienced two more breach right beside our boat on the second trip. Karen and Boris are the most generous and wonderful hosts. Emily was our chef for the week and served us up truly lovely meals - she happily catered to our vegan and vegetarian teenagers. The Beach House is a credit to Boris in how it is constructed. We loved every minute of it from relaxing on the deck looking out over the clear water of the lagoon, our trips in search of the magnicificent whales and sharing in the wonderful hospitality. Truly a special place. Thanks for such a great week, we will be back

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review. We really enjoyed having you and all your family here with us on Fofoa to enjoy the whales. I'm glad we were able to satisfy all the family's dietary requirements and do hope we get to see you out here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhb123
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a really wonderful time. The boys played on the beach and learned to snorkel in front of the cottage and Boris & Karen made sure that we had everything . The whales appeared on cue and would be a highlight of any holiday anywhere in the world. Thank you.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11DHB11
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've been to Tonga 3 times with our children and have seen a lot of the country. Staying with Karyn and Boris at Fofoa has been one of the highlights. Perfect location, modern accommodation, wonderful views, beautiful food, charming hospitality - the place has everything you need. Our children had a ball, we left relaxed - we'll be back for sure ! We can't recommend it more highly. A wonderful achievement for Karyn and Boris.
David and Taueva

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar H
Rosh Pina, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect - the real thing.”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to swim with whales, if you want to know life on a remote pacific island, if you want to be hosted by a family who dare to lived their dream, then this is for you. Karyn is an expert whale whispering guide and Captain Boris a true man of the sea. Stay as long as you can and enjoy. The whales are amazing but so are the local reefs and your hosts. (warning stay off the local alchohol and the be aware that the pretty women in the port on the main island are actually men) Tonga is great and there has been no canablism there for over a hundred years!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A group of us just spent 8 days at the beach house and it was the trip of a lifetime. The beach house is amazing. The view each morning is absolutely paradise and Boris and Karyn are fabulous hosts. They catered to our every request and the accommodations were clean, the food was outstanding, and we were out on the water daily. Highly recommend staying at the beach house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Malo au'pito for your kind words - we loved having you all here to share our little piece of paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing