We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection! Book this immediately!”
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach
Morning coffee on the deck View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach
Morning coffee on the deck
View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Relaxing in the hanging chair on your bedroom deck
Your location - Fofoa Island, Vava'u Islands, Kingdom of Tonga
Large airy SuperKing bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms
Bamboo clad bathroom
Outside dining
your beach
Your boat Lavinuella
Rent out the boat for fishing
Kid friendly/family fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Fofoa, Vava'u Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

marinapsy...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfection! Book this immediately!”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

It is impossible to know where to start this review. This place is SO magical it defies description. From the moment we were collected by Boris from the wharf at Neiafu (after a lobster pasta at a local cafe) I knew that this was going to be spectacular. But I didn't know it was going to be this spectacular! The house and the island, at first sight, are breathtaking. Before I had even got off the boat I know I wasn't going to want to leave. We were greeted by Karyn and the boys, wading out to meet us in the kind of water you really only see in advertisements for South Pacific paradise locations, and felt like we were old friends. We had booked directly with Karyn which was an effortless preocess and involved getting to know her in a short series of emails.
The house is amazing. It really is pointless to try to describe it in words, and photos don't do it justice. It is exquisitely located, with everything you could possibly want: fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds, great showers with lovely views, and a beach to die for down your own flight of stairs. The balcony is the total highlight, complete with views to local islands across the lagoon, and a hammock to lie in and contemplate a place this beautiful.
We cooked for ourselves for the first few days. Karyn had sent us a list of groceries that were readily available, and purchased and stored them for us. We had also ordered a couple of pre cooked dinners which were in the freezer and they were home-made and delicious.
After a couple of days we moved on to the fully catered option. I can't rate this highly enough. We didn't really know what to expect but were stunned by the quality of the food. We had three courses for dinner, served to us on the balcony. An example a main course was garlic lobster pasta followed by home made mango and basil gelato. It was restaurant quality and relied heavily on all the wonderful things that the family grows in their garden or which local fishermen can find in the ocean. We couldn't have asked for more.
We went whale watching twice, a superlative experience which is pointless to try to describe in a review. Suffice to say it is a mind blowing experience, organised expertly by Karyn and Boris. We followed whales throughout the day, entering the water a number of times to swim with them. We managed to get quite close to a mother and calf and watch them frolic above and below the water for a couple of hours. It is understandable why some people find this an addictive experience and return to do it every year. It is really indescribable but will fill you with awe. Equally, the snorkelling is unbeatable.
We also visited the local island in Hunga and attended a church service there. I would recommend this so you can see how the local people live.
When we came to leave, we just couldn't. We had originally planned to stay for five days, and eventually decided on seven when we booked, but we actually extended our trip to nine days as we knew we had found something very special here and really wanted to maximise our time here as much as possible.
If you love beautiful, natural environments, nature at its best, all your creature comforts, great food, fantastic hosts and feeling that you have washed up in a tropical paradise where the problems of the world don't exist, then do yourself a favour and book in to the Beach House at Fofoa. Life will never quite be the same again, in the best way possible!

Date of stay: October 2016
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We soooo enjoyed having you all to stay and extend your stay so we could spend more time together. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOONSTRUC...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“THE MOST INCREDIBLE PLACE ON EARTH”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wow. Where do i even start. This place really is heaven on earth! After visiting many beautiful places I can safely say this was the most beautiful place I have ever seen. We can't wait to go back! Karyn and her whole family were so friendly and accomodating to my sister and I and ensured we had everything we needed at all times. The food that was prepared for us was out of this world and a special thanks to Karyn for going to the trouble of finding me a dairy free milk alternative! This is a bucket list location and if you are thinking of going you must!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks Sarah. Always happy to accommodate different diets - just need enough pre-warning to ensure we can find alternatives. Hoping to see you both out here again in 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F
1 review
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a glorious holiday. every day better than the last as the magic setting, natural style and island peace worked its magic. The beach house gives an amazing feeling of belonging mixed with a true sense of tropical island hideaway. Karen + Boris and the boys are really cool hosts and really generous with their time and going the extra mile to look after us...and a delight to explore the lagoon and surrounds with for our 10 - 14 year old children. the whale swimming days were superb - i can see why people just keep coming back. Bliss

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks Andy - our aim is to give each guest a personal, tailored holiday that reflects their interests and needs. I'm glad we were able to do this for you and your family. Hope to see you back out here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossybar...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime trip amazing stay great house”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family and I stayed in the beach house for two nights in August 2016. We had issues with flights and Karen and Bob worked around these and took us out to swim with the whales as soon as we arrived knowing we had limited time! As soon as we got out the bay there were countless whales, as well as dolphins and we even saw false killer whales!

Karen and bob were respectful of the whales and we all got in multiple times with close up swim bys from the whales and the most magical experience hearing the whales and dolphins communicating underwater as they checked us out! The next day we swam with a mother and her inquisitive calf which came right up to us, and used the hydrophone to hear the whales singing. Karen had great knowledge and stories to share with me and is a lovely, friendly, down to earth and insightful host! We also had an amazing snorkel and dive in swallows cave which was beautiful full of bait fish with gorgeous light shining through the entrance, Karen and Bob went out of their way to take us back to the cave for extra snorkelling and photography!

The beach house is in the most beautiful location - right out of a magazine. All environmentally friendly which was important to our family and highly valued, but not scrimping on high quality housing and pretty decorations, furniture and balconies, and our own beach to watch the amazing sunsets from!

Food was delicious and Karen and her family and the team invited us to their home for food and drinks on the first night which was lovely with great company.

As the beach house only had availability for two nights Karen and bob recommended another resort for our next few nights which was a great recommendation, and sorted out an incredible boat transfer with snorkelling and lunch.

Overall an amazing experience and the beach house comes highly recommended from me and my whole family, we are already dreaming of coming back!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Thanks Flossy for your great review - although it was only 2 days with us we did manage to pack in a lot of action! We hope we do see you and you family out here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirttdog
Millicent, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Beach house for a week and were fully catered for.

We had a really lovely time. Everyone there was really lovely to us and we felt very included in this small community.

Whale swimming was just great and went out twice. Got quite close to a number of them including mum and calf. I got some lovely photos, but my small sealife camera isn't good for distance underwater, but another chap had a go pro which worked well.

The Beach House was lovely to stay in with lots of room for 2 people, beautiful views from the house.

We really enjoyed the food it was yummy, and the service was just lovely.

Pack some light warm clothes just in case for the evening you might have cooled down a bit from your swim. Pack thongs or flip flops.

I would recommend the markets on the saturday morning as we thought they were really interesting, The local sellers were polite and friendly, not to say helpful. Lots of things to buy on your way home. I would recommend that if you fly out on a Saturday that if you like genuine local markets its worth going a little early to look around and then grab a coffee at one of the many cafes. Have some breakfast there.

I should have booked the fishing trip with Boris, i think that would have been tops, went diving instead which was lovely.

We flew Air Fiji coming in with no problems and met by Michael, met Boris at a cafe with a view and had quite a reasonable coffee and lovely lunch. Staff were really nice.

Flying home with Air Fiji, we only needed to be at the airport an hour before the flight, but i would get there 90 mins. They for some reason put all the tourists on standby, with that you might not get on board the flight due to the aircraft being over booked. No idea why they did that, but we went back and politely enquired what was happening and were given our boarding passes as was everyone else. The flight was half empty, I think its to do with cargo.

Just tell the person when you book in with that you have an a important function that you cant miss. Like a granddaughter's birthday.

Its all fine, you will get home. Just so you don't stress.

The big question is as always, would i go again?. Of course i would!!, in a heart beat, its just lovely. We have been to a number of pacific islands and tonga is a friendly lovely place.

Thanks to everyone

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Whales, views, people etc
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you for choosing the Beach House as your holiday - I'm glad you enjoyed Tonga as a South Pacific destination too. Malo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstiW46
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Day Whale Swimming!”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The guys from the beach house took us out for the day on an expedition to swim with humpback whales and it was fantastic. I was very nervous and a bit sea sick but the guys were incredibly understanding and helped me overcome my fears to have one of the most wonderful experiences of my life. They were super attentive and the lunch was fantastic! I understand that they usually only do trips for guests staying with them but we were lucky enough to book for the day and it's a day I'll never forget! Thanks so much.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Malo lahi - so glad you enjoyed your whalewatching trip with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibbyD349
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Coral Cottage ”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful



We were delighted to be the first guests at The Coral Cottage last week. Our eight night stay was perfect.
The cottage is beautifully presented, with two fales side by side, set amongst the trees above the gorgeous lagoon.
The first fale is a living and kitchen area. I loved curling up on the day bed with a book and enjoying that stunning lagoon views.
The second fale had a spacious bedroom and bathroom. Sitting in bed with my morning cuppa looking out to the jungle one way and across the lagoon the other way was heaven!
Where else can you see whales leaping while standing under the shower!?!
Our favourite spot was sitting above the sparkling blue water on the stairs that dropped into the lagoon. A perfect place for sunset drinks after a day of swimming with whales.
We took the fully catered option and loved the beautiful meals which include lots of fresh seafood and salads.
Boris, Karyn and their team are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make our stay truly special.
Our eight night stay was the perfect length as we were able to have four days of whale swims and three days just to relax, and explore the lagoon and neighboring islands.
This was our second visit to Fofoa and definitely not our last!
Thank you Karyn and Boris.

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thanks Libby - it was such a pleasure having you and Rob here to stay again. We were thrilled you enjoyed the new Coral Cottage and what an amazing time we had with the whales and the dolphins! Looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.